We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underrated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Lahaina Resort
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Stayed last week and simply put had an awesome experience. Not sure why this hotel is rated so low, but I'm fine with that to keep the prices low :-). Would stay here again next week if I could. Great staff, excellent rooms - really feels Hawaiin. Grounds are very well kept, pool bar is great and makes excellent $6 Mai Tais for happy hour. Pools are small but with the resort being right on a great beach who needs a pool.

Resort located right in the middle between Whalers Village to the south and Dukes Beachhouse to the North. Great dining options in both directions within walking distance. Stayed in room 8021 - loved it. Parking isn't as bad as people say and if you're really concerned than just pay the extra $5 a day for valet. We had a red eye back and they even offered us a hospitality room to use for an hour before we had to leave to take a shower before leaving for the airport.

Absolutely zero complaints. Best value around on Ka' beach.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank bstemm01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review! Very happy to learn that you were pleased with all aspects of your stay and the value offered at our resort. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Aloha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,129 - 2,135 of 4,147 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2013

I booked a room here with my bf and a friend during Halloween. I was really expecting a more upscale experience. I was a little disappointed. First off they charged $20 extra for a third person the stay even though the bungalow we stayed in had 2 beds. Then they charged $10 for the extra car. They weren't that busy so there was no need to worry about parking dilemmas. The room was in a good spot right Near the beach so it was a short few steps to the water. Only problem was we could see the whole pool so when we were on the patio we didn't have privacy. The room also has a real bad musty smell. I believe this was from the ac unit. The room was dated and needed a remodel. Since we didn't pay an absorbant amount I didn't feel that terrible about the whole stay. We weren't there that long so it wasn't a deal breaker. Don't think I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Aloha. Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. Sorry that you we did not meet all of your expectations. Our room rates are based upon two adults sharing a room (children 17 and under stay free with paying adults). On Maui most hotels do have an additional person charge, if more than two adults are staying in a room. We charge $35 per night for additional adults. As you note, we do also have a $10 per car per day parking charge. I will ask that our Engineering Dept. look into the A/C unit that you mention. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Beautiful stretch of calming beach (perfect to read a book)
The rooms are cute and cozy! Everything is nearby and it's convenient to get around, The staff is super helpful and go out of their way to lend a hand. Food is great! The Luau was phenomenal!

The Royal Lahaina is the place to be in Kaanapali :)

Room Tip: Must be with an Ocean view:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soso52682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Mahalo! We hope we can welcome you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013 via mobile

This hotel is great value. The rooms are a great size very comfortable and most importantly very clean. We stayed in the tower on the 3rd floor, which meant that the views were not fantastic but it really didn't matter as we spent all day every day out on the beach with fabulous views! The pool area is quite small and there is very little shade and no umbrellas. You can rent out sun lounges with some cover but really not worth the $35 . The rooms were exceptionally clean and very spacious. The air conditioning was very good. The beds were fine except for the quilt that was put under the sheet on top of the mattress . I prefer my quilt on top of me rather than underneath me, I found it quite uncomfortable .
We were traveling with our 4 children ages 21, 17, 10, and 7 and everybody was comfortable and had a comfortable stay. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bookstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2013

Mahalo! We are happy that you found the Royal Lahaina to offer great value for your vacation. Aloha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

I booked the hotel as part of a vacation package thru American Airlines. We originally booked an ocean view room, but at check in were offered an opportunity to upgrade to an ocean view room at half off the going rate. The front desk staff person was really great to work with and we so enjoyed sitting on our lanai each day with a direct view of Kaanapali Beach and the islands of Lanai and Molokai. The room was comfortable and everything in good working order. Someone mentioned feeling trapped because there were not enough places to eat near by. I would disagree as a quick walk thru the golf course to Whalers Village (maybe 15 minutes) and you had some great restaurants to choose from. And in less than 5 minutes just past the luau area was a great restaurant called the Castaway Cafe. It helps to have a map to know what is around the property...

Room Tip: It's expensive to upgrade to an ocean front room, but I thought it was money well spent adding t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Mahalo for the positive feedback and thank you for your advice to others regarding nearby restaurants and activities. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Aloha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We stayed at the Royal Lahaina in July 2012 for the first few days of our honeymoon. Admittedly, I am not a big resort fan, but decided to stay here as we thought we'd be tired after the wedding and just wanted an easy break!

We stayed in one of the garden cottages, which were much better than a lot of the reviews I read on here! I was disappointed that they knew we were booked in for our Honeymoon, and they put us in the cottage next to where the waste disposal comes every morning at 5am! We requested to move, and they had a free room so they did move us, but they were not overly fussed about it. We did not receive any special treatment for it being our honeymoon, despite what other travellers said!

We did get one cockroach in our room, but to be honest, it is a garden room, and in a place like Hawai'i it is to be expected!

The breakfast was amazing, it is totally worth the money, we were so full we didn't eat until the evening. Also, it is served from very early on, which was great for us due to our jetlag/waste disposal wake up!

The beach was nice, and the hotel rents out equipment for activities which is handy.

A walk down the road is whalers village, which is a nice little shopping/dining area. We spent a lot of time here due to lost luggage and having to re buy everything (and we managed it!)

Do the Royal Lahaina Luau, it was a brilliant end to our stay there.

Room Tip: Request a garden cottage away from the road if you want to sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank francesca_paola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Thank you for your review. On behalf of the hotel I apologize that you were awoken by noise on the first morning of your Honeymoon. I am glad that we were able to help in moving you to a different location on the property. Mahalo for selecting the Royal Lahaina Resort for your Honeymoon. Although a long journey from England, we hope Maui was all that you had dreamed and that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our island paradise. Aloha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Wonderful place for a vacation. We booked an Oceanfront Cottage just a few steps from the beach. We enjoyed snorkeling for hours on Kaanapali Beach,very beautiful coral/rock, many fish and sea turtles. The staff was wonderful and very accommodating, We will return again and request the same Cottage location. Thank you Royal Lahaina Resort for a wonderful 20th anniversary vacation.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

Thank you for your kind review. So glad that we were able to help you enjoy your 20th Anniversary vacation! Please feel free to contact us if we can help you in coordinating plans for your next visit. Aloha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
0.5 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,234 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,617 reviews
21.4 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
4.6 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lahaina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lahaina Resort

Address: 2780 Kekaa Drive, Kaanapali Beach, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1992
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: £157 - £532 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Lahaina Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo, Travelbag, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Lahaina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Lahaina Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Resort Maui
Royal Lahaina Maui
Royal Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Hotel Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing