We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Lahaina Resort
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna
Level Contributor
96 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Lovely resort”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed in an Ocean View Cottage and loved it. The room was spacious with large bathroom and housekeeping kept everything clean and tip top. We also had our own terrace with table, chairs and lounger and as there was a fridge provided in the room decided to make our own breakfast and enjoy the peace and quiet of the lovely garden and listen to the ocean. The beach is fantastic with very few people and you can walk for miles. You are also in easy walking distance to Black Rock for snorkelling. Limited amount of fish but always encountered turtles which was a fantastic experience. The gardens are beautiful and kept in immaculate condition.
The staff were all friendly and helpful and the food in the poolside restaurant was very good even though limited. Also ate at the Italian restaurant which was excellent. The one thing that I found unusual and was not in agreement with is that you have to pay for parking when you stay in the hotel. This should be automatically included in the price. Although we loved being in the cottage we did think it could do with a facelift.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller1Vienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Aloha. Thank you for the great review. Glad to read that you enjoyed the tropical gardens and the ambiance of one of our oceanfront cottage rooms. With regard to parking, I can advise that all of the resort properties in the Kaanapali Resort charge separately for parking or charge a mandatory resort fee. We have no mandatory resort fee, but do have a $10 per day self parking charge, which potential guests will find to be one of the lowest offered by any Kaanapali Resort hotel. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,958 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,538
    1,435
    522
    268
    195
See reviews for
744
2,083
88
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (975)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed 7 nights during our first ever visit to Hawaii (Maui). Chosen based on TA reviews and we were not disappointed. Very clean, large room (we took an ocean view room and it was worth the extra cost). The sound of the surf was very soothing to which to fall asleep. Everything was perfect with one exception.
WiFi...This is the only negative I can say about this hotel. The only WiFi you can get in your room costs an unacceptable $10 per day! There is free WiFi in the lobby however at times it was slower than dial up. My suggestion to the Royal Lahaina Resort - Include WiFi in the current price of the room.
Other than this one irritant, all was wonderful. It is an easy stroll to Whaler's Village with many shops and restaurants; an easy drive into Lahaina where there are even more amenities (and some nice restaurants). The restaurant/bar in the hotel is very good and looks out over one of the 2 pools and the ocean. Entertainment every night. Sunsets were magnificent from here.
The Luau (on the grounds of the resort) is very good, albeit on the pricey side, but worth the experience especially if this is your first time in Hawaii.
All of the staff throughout the resort were friendly and very accommodating.
If you want a relaxing, safe, on the beach and pampered type vacation this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Upgrade to an ocean view and ask for the highest floor possible. We were on the top floor (12) and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian2082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Aloha Brian, Thank you very much for the 5-Star rating. Happy to read that you were pleased and enjoyed a relaxing vacation on America's #1 Beach (TripAdvisor 2013 Traveler Choice Award). We have just invested in some additional lines which should help with the speed of the wifi service. At this time we are considering various options for in-room internet service, but currently price this separately from the room rate as it is provided by an outside vendor and not all guests wish to pay for this service and have it included in their room rate. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta, ga
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We got a deal on this resort through Costco Travel. A beautiful place to stay and a very good deal. All of the staff were extremely friendly. The breakfast buffet was delicious with a great variety of tasty treats. The beach, of course was terrific. They were going through an extensive renovation, so there was a bit of construction in the lobby and i believe some of the rooms. We had a deluxe ocean view room. The only complaint we really had was that the AC duct blew DIRECTLY onto the bed, which made it icy. However, we slept with the sliding door open, so didnt even need the AC. The only drawback of going in September was the fact that we were too early for whale sightings, which happen Nov to April, right off shore from the hotel.

Room Tip: Ocean view is a great selection....Deluxe Ocean View gets you onto the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoveToTravelRandL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Aloha Rob & Linda. Thank you for the kind review. Glad to read that you loved the location and enjoyed your stay. Our lobby refurbishment has been completed and guests are truly enjoying the new decor. As you mention, Whale Season is one of the very best times of the year to visit with thousands of Humpback Whales present directly off of the Maui coastline. We hope you can make it back out here soon to experience it. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

My Husband and I really enjoyed staying at the Royal Lahaina Resort in July 2013. The hotel has a great late 1960's Hawaii feel, but their rooms have been renovated to feel modern but with a great 1960 Hawaii touch. Loved how secluded it felt while still a short walk away from all of the other Kaanapali beach hotels. Would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Aloha Olivia. Thank you for the positive review of your stay. As Kaanapali's original resort our traditional Hawaiian ambiance is definitely one of the features that appeals to a large number of our guests, so happy to read that this was very pleasing to you and your husband. We hope we can welcome you back soon. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanwood, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Nice clean hotel... But... Just leave your wallet at the front desk. Make sure there's alot of money in it. The whole time we were there I felt like everyone's hand was out wanting a tip. We gave a cash tip every morning for breakfast and then wrote it in that we paid the tip... It was a requirement. They still charged us an extra 5.00 dollars on our debit card. So instead of paying a 5 dollar tip we paid 10 and all they did was serve us coffee. I believe in giving tips but forcing people too is rediculous. Because they don't want to pay there employees a better wage, they leave it up to the tourist. I felt like every time I turned around a hand was out. The hotel is very expensive. Even if you get a paid package deal. I will never return there again. Go to best western they offer the same enmities for a lower cost. Only people that have money should go to this place. It is not for people that are middle class and had to save for months to go on a vacation. Hawaii is over rated. I won't be visiting again anytime soon.

Room Tip: My tip is to go to the Best Western if you don't want to be robbed. They don't have any mic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Aloha Ann. Thank you for the feedback on your stay. We pride ourselves on offering our guests a value oriented resort experience and generally are found to be one of the most affordable resorts on Kaanapali Beach. With regard to tipping, I would like to note that there are no mandatory requirements, all tipping is at the discretion of the guest based upon the service received. I have shared your review with our Food and Beverage Director and he will investigate the double tip that you mention and follow up directly with you regarding this. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This still remains one of our most favorite places to stay on Maui. From the "Welcome Home" to the final aloha on the way out. The managers and staff continue to exceed our expectations. We are counting the days until we return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dentr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Aloha Roger & Susie. It is always a pleasure to welcome you and you family back to Maui! We will look forward to seeing you next year. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

Our second time staying at this resort. Brought my parents for their 20th wedding anniversary. Had a slight issue at check in with our room but had a upgrade by 8:30pm when we got to check in :) well worth the wait!! Beautiful room on the 10th floor!! Had a great time with the 2 ladies that did out ti leaf lei class and the flower lei class. Staff was just amazing, bar area was fun and inviting, food was amazing with a large buffet breakfast. I suggest doing the royal experience package, covers your breakfast and 2 dinners during ur stay. Luau was beautiful and I am a big fan of the daily carpet changes in the elevators!! Super fun!! Can't wait to go back next year!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank MauiLovR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Aloha. Thank you very much for the 5-Star rating. We appreciate you making the Royal Lahaina your home away from home on Maui and are happy to hear that both you and your parents had an amazing time on this return trip. We will look forward to welcoming you back next year. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.5 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
3,987 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.0 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
2,489 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
0.8 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lahaina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lahaina Resort

Property: Royal Lahaina Resort
Address: 2780 Kekaa Drive, Kaanapali Beach, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1992
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Lahaina Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Lahaina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Lahaina Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Resort Maui
Royal Lahaina Maui
Royal Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Hotel Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing