We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Lahaina Resort
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
US$353
US$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$420
US$376
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$581
US$333
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$356
US$318
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$531
US$491
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$308
US$280
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kaanapali Beach Hotel(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
US$264
US$237
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$457
US$434
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$1,093
US$1,053
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort(Lahaina)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (4,299)
Filter reviews
4,299 results
Traveller rating
1,675
1,559
575
283
207
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,675
1,559
575
283
207
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagestower roomgarden cottagepineapple waterroyal scoopocean viewblack rockour honeymoonwhalers villagemain towerbreakfast buffetfree trolleybeach barwelcome homekaanapali beachbeautiful beachmai tais
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,887 - 1,892 of 4,299 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2014

In my last review back in May 2013, we talked about the wi-fi issues, as many other's review also mention. The Hotel management answered to my review and stated that it was been resolved. Well, sadly to say NOT. Same problem exist as our last stay. We went to the front desk and mentioned the matter, they responded is either a hit or miss depending which room, floor or side of the building. Seriously! Unacceptable! When you are traveling and depend on a good wi-fi reception to book your flights, do your stocks trading, answer to important business emails; to be able to conduct business. This problem is not acceptable for the quality of this Resort. It becomes aggravating, and costly. On this trip, we noticed the bottom area of our shower it was not properly clean. That needs attention to as well. When we arrived could not help noticed the long lines at the forint desk area. Two hostess where working only; the flight crew also was waiting on the opposite side of the front counter to get checked in as well for a very long time. These two hostess made sure they took care of all of us first, and left the crew standing there waiting, wow! This crew just had come in from a long flight! It is a lack of attentiveness and courtesy to that crew members. All guest should be treated equally! We had the golf course and a bit of ocean view from our hotel balcony! In the morning you can hear many different birds singing happy and loud. So adorable! Maui is so green! The Resort grounds are kept very nicely. The pool is after the restaurant/bar and has water view. This Resort Hotel is old classic Hawaii, quaint! The happy hour is very good here. The employees and attendants in this hotel are friendly, helpful. Management has a long way to get this wi-fi matter resolved, I'm guessing? We love Maui, and this Hotel is situated in a great area or location. Is short walking distance to The Whalers Village shopping which has an amazing restaurant Maui Fish and Pasta, please see my review on them. This resort has the beach access right there. This beaches are breath taking. The Pacific Ocean is very powerful and majestic. We spotted several time the whales flipping, feeding. Maui is our favorite Island! Please see our pictures or photos.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank MJ778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Aloha. Thank you for returning to the Royal Lahaina and for your review. Very sorry that you had trouble with the wifi signal again. We have been continuously working with our internet provider to perform many upgrades to the system, including a major enhancement two weeks ago greatly increasing the guest network bandwidth. We have noticed significant improvement as a result. We are also planning on changing our internet service in March to provide a free in-room wifi service option for guests. I will contact you to review the internet issues you experienced on your most recent trip as we definitely want to address this and hopefully continue to welcome you back as a guest. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Our 4th trip to the Royal Lahaina holds a special place in our hearts as we brought our family of 10 to share the experience.We were treated so well by all staff at the front desk,restaurant,and housekeeping.Special mention of Chico who was so patient as we made leis for our family pictures,the bar tenders who make the best mai tais ever and Lori who booked us beautiful oceanview rooms close together!Our rooms were spacious,clean and the best beds and pillows ever.We love the Hawaaian decor of this resort and the quiet relaxed feel.We are back to work again in Canada and saving up for another week in paradise.Mahalo!

Room Tip: We love the higher floors closer to the front of the tower.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hardcore310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Aloha. Thank you very much for making the Royal Lahaina your resort of choice on Maui. So happy that you and your family were all able to come out together and that we were able to assist you in having another great trip. I will be sure to share your review with Lori and Chiiko. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 7 days. My only complaint is that I'm not still there! We were in a garden cottage room. I loved it! The grounds are absolutely beautiful and very well taken care of. The entire staff was wonderful. I didn't encounter one person that didn't make me feel welcomed. We will be returning to Maui "hopefully" many times and it will always be at the Royal Lahaina Resort...mahalo for making our vacation seem like a short trip to heaven!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SDNoble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Aloha. Thank you for the positive review. So glad to read that you and your husband were very pleased with your experience and that you plan on returning. We will look forward to welcoming you back. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We spent 5 nights at royal lahaina in Jan 14.
Pro's: - Friendly staff
- Clean spacious rooms. Ocean view room had great view and nice little balcony.
- Restaurant in hotel is very good.

Con's: - Overpriced. $300 per night is too much for this hotel. Not even a complimentary bottle of water provided in rooms.
- Have to pay extra for parking and wifi.
- No public gym only pt sessions available.

Overall we enjoyed our time here but felt a bit ripped off.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Trumble1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Aloha. Thank you for the feedback on your stay. Glad to read that overall you enjoyed your time with us. We do have a variety of room types and rates available at the resort, with our 2014 rates starting at $179 per night. We believe the Royal Lahaina Resort offers some of the most competitive pricing available for an oceanfront hotel located on Kaanapali Beach. Complete details on our rates and available categories can be found on our website. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Went to Maui for our 40th Anniversary. We chose to stay at the Royal Lahaina Resort as we have stayed many times with Their Big Island affiliate the Royal Kona Resort and we love it there. We weren't disappointed we did. Royal Lahaina Resort is a beautiful place, great food, great nightly entertainment, a very nice beach, and very friendly, personable staff. We loved the beach walk as well as the shopping. The Royal Lahaina Resort very generously upgraded our room and left us a wonderful fruit basket for our Anniversary. We still have a lot to see on Maui and when we return we will make our home with the Royal Lahaina Resort again. By the way for those familiar with ZZ Top, Billy Gibbons and his Wife were there too . Yes, I can prove it if I have too.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spark5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Aloha. So happy that you chose to spend your 40th Anniversary with us and that you enjoyed your stay. We will look forward to welcoming you back to Maui! Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews