We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Royal Lahaina Resort
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2014

room was nice. the shower was gross because the water would pool on the one end and stay there until the housekeeper cleaned it . Poor tile job. ( I believe my room number was 5202)

anyway- I was expecting more from the hotel. It didn't seem resorty at all. The pools were small and had more of a Hampton Inn pool feel than a Maui resort should feel. The hot tub that they advertise is actually right next to the tennis courts. So our view from the hot tub was an 8 year old practicing tennis. It was actually funny.

the staff were not pleasant but not bad either. Not overall a poor experience just thought it would have been nicer. Maui was great! If I had to do it over again - I would spend more $$ for a more resort type hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank thetruthCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Aloha. Thank you for the feedback on your recent visit and for having selected the Royal Lahaina. There are, without question, many different resorts and resort experiences that visitors can choose from when planning a Hawaiian vacation here on Maui. Royal Lahaina guests enjoy two oceanfront pools, as well as a third pool and hot tub located at our 11-court professional Tennis Ranch. However, our resort is usually selected by guests more for it's traditional Hawaiian ambiance and world-class setting on the best and most exclusive stretch of Kaanapali Beach, than for our pools. We encourage potential guests to visit our website for the most complete information, photo's and descriptions of our resort facilities and amenities. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,068)
There are newer reviews for Royal Lahaina Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,660 - 1,666 of 4,068 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed a total of three nights at this hotel. Room was ok bathroom very small also a bit noisey at night due to airconditioner unit. Restaurant not that impressive, decided to eat out each night. Our main complaint was that on our last night, two members of our party fell very ill with vomiting & diahorrea. We were so bad we had to seek medical advice , which cost over $480. Upon checking out we were informed by hotel staff that there has been a stomach flu going around the hotel, yet guests were not informed of this. There was no information or any evident precautions taken to prevent the spread of this illness. This incident completey ruined our holiday, not only because of the cost, but we were also bed ridden for 3 days, instead of being able to enjoy the beautiful sun & surf. What was even more frustrating was that we have written to the hotel, but no one is interested in responding to our concerns. Think again before booking this hotel!

Room Tip: Very noisey on higher floors.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carmel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Aloha Carmel. We are sorry that some in your party became ill during your vacation and for this reason were unable to fully enjoy your time in Hawaii. We hope that those members of your party that were ill have gotten well. While we understand your disappointment with this situation, we do not take responsibility as the cause of your illness. The safety and security of guests is our #1 priority and our hotel does in fact have very strict procedures in place and regularly provides training to our staff in the areas of sanitation and the prevention of illness. It is my understanding that our Rooms Director has replied directly via email to the correspondence we received from you this past week. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stayed at this intel last onto. Great position arrived and room was not ready and were upgraded to ocean front because of the wait. Room was great, we could watch the dolphins from our room. Room very clean and hotel was great overall. Only disappointment was limited dinner menu. Breakfast was great , huge variety of food. Service in the restaurant was excellent. Whilst wifi was available in the comfortable lounge area it would have been nice to be available in room at no cost. Would jog hesitate to stay there again as it was a nice quite spot on the beach on kannapali. The free trolley his to whalers corner was really good too.

Room Tip: Definitely ocean front
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonesmelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Aloha. Thank you for the positive review. Glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and would return. We have just changed our service this week, to offer basic in-room wi-fi on complimentary basis. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

My husband and I were married on Maui last year and stayed at the Royal Lahaina Resort and loved it. We returned for our anniversary for two weeks, and sadly, the experience was not as good the second time around.

Firstly, we stayed in a partial ocean view tower room both times. Beautiful views of the golf course and a peek at the water. The rooms are nicely decorated and the hotel definitely has the old Hawaii feel, especially when compared to other hotels in the area.

Keep in mind that this resort is less expensive than many, but that Maui in general is expensive so this can be hard to gauge. There is definitely quite a bit of "you get what you pay for", and sadly, this could be the motto of the staff.

Most of our problems began with housekeeping. The housekeeping staff was very friendly-but not super competent. Now it seems that the same staff work on the same floors generally, so the experience may differ depending on where you are in the hotel, and whether or not you get the "B" team. In our room, dust accumulation was very noticeable on the dark wood vanity, and towels and shampoo etc. were never consistently replenished. One day you would get face cloths, other days not. Items we asked for from the front desk (a do not disturb sign for example) never arrived. Small things, but irritating nonetheless.

The real problem began when the housekeeping service dumped out and threw away 3 bottles of our liquor (2 unopened) and a brand new bottle of orange juice (which I actually need to take medication with daily). They also clearly rifled through the closet and threw away some snacks. They were honest and left a note, which was great, but I would have hoped that they would have reported this to their manager and had it pro-actively taken care of. Not so.

Because the $ value of the items they disposed of was reasonably high, and we were more than a little bit concerned about the security of our belongings, we reported this to the front desk. The clerk was abrupt and smirked as we described the problem. We eventually tracked down the front manager (not easy to do) and he questioned the value of our items with raised eyebrows and offered us a $50 credit. The value was at least $75, not to mention the hassle and worry!! He finally conceded $75 credit, but it was forced. Seriously, without the credit, this was theft!! His attitude, frankly, just stunk. He was dismissive and rude, and behaved like it was not a big deal at all that housekeeping threw our items away, and we were making a big deal out of nothing. It wasn't until the waitress at the café next door on a different property called on our behalf after we vented during dinner that a fruit basket was sent to our room with an apology-sadly, too little too late. And a little upsetting given that this all happened at the beginning of our two week trip.

It surprises me to see the amount of $100 credits they're throwing around now-must be a new policy.

On the whole, the staff is okay, not great. In fact, we never experienced, or saw any one else experience, any of the great attentive service I have seen described on here.

Other than that, a pipe must have burst in our hallway as one night it was soaked, and a sewer smell wafts out from the outside of the building into the main hallway leading to the lobby from time to time-just evidence of the hotels age I suppose. And the maids clean the rooms, vacuums and all, until about 9-10pm, making sitting on the lanai less relaxing.

The next thing that happened is just more evidence of their lack of customer care. They hosted a tennis tournament during our stay, and went ahead and blocked off the closer section to the hotel parking for the exclusive use of this tournament. They actually did this WHILE GUESTS WERE PARKED IN THE SPOTS! Without any warning. It's acceptable to them to call guests to move their cars to the far back parking lot. Disgusting. And, this area of premium parking was more than half empty for the duration of the tournament anyway. Now, the walk is not that far, but again, it's the idea that their own guests take second rank on their own property. BTW, the parking spots are small, but if people would park properly everyone would fit easily.

The restaurant servers seem frazzled and petty with each other. We went once for our evening meal, and the waiters actually made us uncomfortable with their attitudes towards each other. Breakfast is better.

If you go, the tower rooms are nice enough, and for a hotel in Maui, the price is okay. The stretch of beach is gorgeous. If you are not used to being treated well when travelling, I'm sure the Royal Lahaina will seem perfectly fine. If you have higher standards for service, prepare to be treated like your repeat business is not valued by them. I think they actually offer lower room rates to have an excuse not to have to treat people well!

On a side note, I did send an email detailing our experience to the manager (who is sheltered by his staff-no one would hand out the contact info for the manager, I don't even know that my email was ever received) in it I asked not to be contacted if the response would simply be form letter and insincere. And I never heard anything, so I guess they respected that at least! LOL

For the price, I'll stay at one of the neighbouring condo properties next time. They appear to be a much better value, and in reading the reviews, it looks like they actually have a customer care program and culture.

Room Tip: All of the views are gorgeous, save some money and spend your time ouot and about!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laurel S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Aloha. Firstly, thank you very much for having originally selected the Royal Lahaina to celebrate your wedding and for returning to celebrate your anniversary. On behalf of the resort I apologize that your return trip did not live up to the first visit and that we missed the mark in so many areas. This is obviously not the type of experience we want for any of our guests, particularly return guests who have previously enjoyed stays with us. Our Rooms Director tried to contact you immediately after receiving your email in January, and has again this week tried to follow up with you, in the hopes of regaining your confidence. I will also try to follow up directly with you. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Okay yes, I booked this through Priceline, but my savings was a mere 14% below the listed rates. Upon checking in, we asked to get something in the remodeled Tower section. Our 28th Anniversary, but no, no special treatment for us. Okay, but the Front desk person, MERLE, could have at least smiled. Once. There was no "welcome to the Royal...etc," No welcome nothing. No Aloha going on with Merle anyway. And she didn't even give us any info on the place or a map or anything. At all. She obviously is unhappy with her job. The upgrade, we are told will be an additional $365. for two nights, and that was with their applied "discount". Um, no thank-you, we'll hope for the best with the cottage.

Oh my God. They are disgusting. Our room had a sticky counter-top in the bathroom, peeling ceiling w/ bubbles, peeling old nasty cabinets, two disgusting hairs on the toilet seat, a door that was hung so poorly it would close all the way to the toilet area. A VERY LOUD antiquated portable window AC unit, a smell of ant spray, stains on the (what, 100 yr. old?) carpet. Shall I go on? When I called the front desk to ask them to finish cleaning the room, they sent someone 20 min. later w/ a small rag and spray bottle to 'one-swipe-wipe down' the counter. Honestly, no exaggeration here. Oh, wait the sliding door and curtains! Single pane, rickety, stinky drapes, busted drawstring. We were actually afraid to open the slider all the way for fear of it fragmenting into shards. The coffee maker? Bring your own. The TV? Pre-1990. Mini-fridge? Warm when we checked in and finally got cold on day we checked out. All of this loveliness for $200. a night. Good thing we had alot of fun things to do OUTSIDE of the room. Never will I chance getting a place like the Royal Lahaina again.

Only 2 positives; Bellboys were friendly. And bed was comfortable. But AC and early morning lawn mower/weed wacker prevented any quality sleep. Live and Learn, yes? DON'T BOOK THIS PLACE. You might be handed one of the cottages. And there are MANY of them.

Room Tip: NO COTTAGES!! Prepare to pay alot extra though.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank EatDrinkPurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Aloha. Very sorry to read of your disappointment with the cottage rooms. Our cottages were originally built in the early 60's. Although these units have received various renovations over the years, they are an older accommodation and are rated as a moderate 3-star accommodation by most of our travel partners. Many of our guests enjoy the cottage rooms, especially the ambiance offered by the tropical garden setting and large spacious lanais (ex. the next review titled "Best Vacation Ever" ). Other guests prefer the newer, deluxe 4 star accommodations in our Lahaina Kai Tower (originally built in the early 70's, all of these rooms were recently upgraded during a $40 million dollar renovation). We encourage guests to investigate the many accommodation options available at the Royal Lahaina either on our website or with our reservations specialists, in order to make the most appropriate selection for your holiday. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

I almost let some of the negative reviews away my decision, but we decided to stay in the Garden Cottages anyway. We were extremely glad we did!!! The Garden Cottages give you sooooooo much more of an. "Island" experience, you get fresh air constantly, you wake up to birds singing right next to your window, and you can sip morning coffee on your own Lanai!!!! We have never slept so good, with all the fresh air!!!! You can stay in a "hotel room" anywhere, but this was truly a unique experience, and felt like our own little place while we were there. It's definitely a more naturalistic experience, but if you don't like "nature", why would you be in Maui anyway??? We already started booking our next trip and intend on staying in the Garden
Cottages again. The staff were so wonderful, anything we needed was provided practically instantaneously. All of the staff was ALWAYS so friendly and so pleasant, just made us feel so welcome and comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank andreacb72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Aloha Andrea. So glad to read that you enjoyed the traditional Hawaiian ambiance of your cottage accommodation and are already planning to return. Especially happy that you were pleased with the service and aloha you received from our staff. We will look forward to welcoming you back. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Our room booked 6 months in advance wasn't ready until, wait for it, 9.30 p.m. We were given a $100 credit.
Apart from the lack of $10 per night parking spaces, there are no other cons, from there on it is all uphill, great hotel, extremely helpful staff and for a 8night stay no regrets, close to Kanapali, had dinner there most nights, and local shopping villages. Would stay there again. Draw back, not there fault, local internet provider, Skywave, complicated, frustrating, out of date, in Waikiki, and even Kawuai, such an easy ride

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Annelies F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Aloha. Thank you for the 5-Star rating. Glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff helpful. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.5 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4,125 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
2,563 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
0.8 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lahaina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lahaina Resort

Address: 2780 Kekaa Drive, Kaanapali Beach, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1992
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: £151 - £374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Lahaina Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo, Expedia, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Lahaina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Lahaina Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Resort Maui
Royal Lahaina Maui
Royal Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Hotel Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing