We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Lahaina Resort
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I stayed at the Royal Lahaina for 10 days and it was absolutely wonderful. There was 40 of us that went for my friends wedding and they did such a good job with that also. The valet service was really good and nice. The breakfast buffet was absolutely delicious and wort the money.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Aloha Kyle. Thank you for the 5-star rating. Great to hear that you had a wonderful stay. We hope that you will make your way back to Maui and the Royal Lahaina Resort in the future. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,717 - 1,723 of 4,147 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

Spent a week here in Feb 2014. We were with family and in Hawaii for a family wedding.
Our room was a hotel room in the tower (not of London). 1 br with 2 double beds which were very comfortable. The décor was nothing flash and the balcony was fairly small. Unfortunately there was some machinery noise outside which meant we had to keep the sliding doors closed all the time, including at night. Staff were friendly and helpful at all times. View from the 4th floor room showed some ocean and some of the Sheraton next door...average. There were tea and coffee making facilities in the room although we never used them. The breakfast in the restaurant on the ground floor was ok for a day or two but the monotony wore off as it lacked variety. Hey, it ain't Europe....

Room Tip: Higher floors would be better. If choosing a cottage, make sure it's one of the newer ones as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidCaratzas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Aloha David. Thank you for the positive review. Love that you came all the way from Istanbul to join family and friends for a wedding, and glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff to be friendly and happy. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The service at this hotel was lovely-warm and helpful staff. Our room on the fourth floor had a nice partial ocean view and we liked the native charm of the decorating, with paddles on the wall and nice new bedding. the carpeting was a bit worn, and the paint was peeling along the bathroom vent but the room was clean and comfortable. the beach is beautiful. the pools were not very warm and are basic but clean. we had the breakfast buffet one morning-it is a lovely setting and the food was acceptable, not great but reasonably priced for Hawaii. had drinks in the lounge one evening-they served canned cocktail shrimp as their fried shrimp appetizer-unbelievably bad. but some other appetizers were good. the hotel is in a good location, Lahaina is very accessible and is a great area of Hawaii with a lot of seaside charm.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rightpath2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Aloha. Glad to read that you were pleased with your stay, our location and especially with the hospitality shown by our staff. We hope we can welcome you back again in the future. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Sorry this is so late, it seems like I only remember to write a review when I'm planning another trip here.Stayed the 1st week in Oct.1913.Everything was as wonderful as the 1st time.Check in was easy and got a wonderful upgrade to ocean view,just walking into the room and seeing the view takes your breath away.Love the beach right in front, spent part of every day there.Room. was cleaned and restocked everyday.Ate at the restaurant the 1st night excellent, and the live Hawaiian music with a ocean view, truly on vacation.Ate there on our last night and just as good. loved coming in at night and having a drink before bed by the pool with the wonderful view.Husband wanted to come back for his 70 th birthday, but rates are a little high right now, so booked a room at there small hotel Kaanapali Ocean Inn for April , Coming back in Oct. to for our 40th anniversary., But will book the Royal Lahaina for that.My brother is coming at the same time and tried to talk us into the Sheraton, no way love the Royal

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view, so worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fishy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Aloha. Thank you for the positive review. Glad to read that you and your husband enjoy the resort and have chosen to return to celebrate his birthday and your 40th anniversary. We will look forward to welcoming you back. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This property was ok but the ocean view is beautiful. If you like to golf it's available right there.It's also close to Whalers Village and town.
The rooms were a bit worn but for the price it was ok. . Personally I had no problem nor great encounters with the staff. Next time we go to Maui we will defiantly choose another hotel.

Room Tip: Don't get a room in the building were they have Luau.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Aloha. Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. Happy to read that you enjoyed the view and location. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We went to Maui for 2 weeks. We stayed 4 nights at Royal Lahaina and we were not impressed at all. Lazy service in the restaurant, really old cottage with carpet. Even outside on the terrace was a carpet, smelly and wet. They said they had free wifi in the lobby but it did't work for the four days we stayed there.
It's close to the beach and walking distance to whalers market, shopping and restaurants. We also stayed at Aston Ka'anapali villas which was better, free wifi in the room, free parking, friendly staff (not rude like Royal Lahaina) and great area with pools and beach. I wouldn't stay in Royal Lahaina again.

Room Tip: Don't stay in cottage if you are going here. Maybe the rooms are better?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elapela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Aloha. Thank you for the feedback. I am sorry to learn that you were not pleased with your experience. The management and staff here at the Royal Lahaina try our best to provide quality service and a great vacation value. Anytime we receive feedback that this was not achieved we are concerned and continue to look for ways to improve our services and enhance guest satisfaction levels. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This was our (husband-47 yrs old/wife-younger) very first trip to Maui. Since we had never been there, we really didn't know what to expect from this island. I did some research on Trip Advisor, however, we chose Royal Lahaina based on availability and price. Our trip was Feb. 20-March 1, 2014.

We arrived from Las Vegas (where we live) to check in around 5:30 p.m. The check in employee was super friendly and told me that a room on floor 4 was available but close to a/c. I had asked if there was a higher floor room and she said yes, on the 10th floor but it wouldn't be ready until around 8:00 p.m. I said we would wait and just walk around for a bit to check out the resort, etc. She also gave us a $50 credit towards our bill for having to wait to check in. I thought that was a nice gesture. Yes, parking is $10 a day for self park, more to valet. Yes, the parking spaces are limited and small. We never had trouble finding a spot, and we rented a small car for the two of us, so the small spaces weren't really an issue.

The king bed room (10th floor) was a partial oceanview and view of Blackrock. The room looks exactly like it is depicted on the hotel website. Nice, clean, nothing fancy. Not enough dresser drawers for all of our clothes so we hung some of them up in the closet. A safe is provided which easily held our I-pad, phones, camera, cash, jewelry, etc. Housekeeping was good and left extra towels and drinking glasses when requested. We did tip each day. The lanai was nice, two chairs and small table, but not private, you can see your room "neighbors", but it was nice to be able to watch the ocean and see the whales breach.

The pool was nothing exciting and the Tiki Bar didn't have a blender, so I couldn't order a blended drink like a pina colada. They did have a happy hour at the poolside Tiki Bar which starts at 2:00 p.m. We can't comment on the hotel bar/restaurant since we never ate there. The hotel has a small coffee/ice cream shop and also a gift shop where you can buy almost anything. You are given a towel card at check in and you go to the beach services cabana which is located pool side to receive your beach/pool towels. You receive your towel card back when you return your towels. At any resort in Maui where we visited the beach, you had to pay to rent beach chairs/umbrellas to use on the beach, none are provided. Pools all have chairs which are first come first served.

The staff we met at this property were very friendly and hospitable. When some of them found out we were from Vegas, they would tell us how much they loved Hawaii's "ninth island".

Now, to be fair, we must honestly give our opinion on this resort in the hopes it helps others to make an informed decision about their hotel choice when they visit Maui. My husband and I both agreed that we would stay at Royal Lahaina again if it meant that was the only way possible we could go back due to price/availability, otherwise, this resort would not be our first pick. Let me explain: it seemed to us that this resort had an overwhelming feel of tour groups consisting of a certain age group. This resort and beach are very quiet and laid back.
Now quiet is a good thing when you want to sleep, which we did well, but, the lack of beach activities and cool restaurants and bars might not appeal to certain people. This is a personal preference issue, not a hotel issue.

We never stayed at our beach, we walked south to the Kaanapali beach area near Blackrock and used that portion of Kaanapali Beach. We snorkeled there, ate there (Whaler's Village has shopping, yogurt, pizza, sit down restaurants), pretty much did everything on that side of Blackrock. That side has a totally different "vibe/feel" to it. Some may enjoy the more vibrant feel while others may not. Again, this is a personal preference issue, it is just a "location" thing.

Maui was beautiful and we enjoyed it so much we hope to go back next year. We enjoyed a whale watch excursion with Trilogy, it was fantastic. A male whale was under our catamaran and we could hear his singing coming through the hull. I would highly recommend a whale watch excursion, early morning, less wavy/choppy and not as hot.

We drove North to the "blow hole" and stopped at all the beaches on the way back. Just a great drive and the beaches are awesome.

We drove South down to Kihei and Wailea (beautiful) area, and continued driving until the road ended on a black lava rock beach, and did some snorkeling. Spinner dolphins hang out in that area.

We enjoyed snorkeling at Blackrock, saw so many colorful fish and sea turtles, they are just the coolest thing.

We ate at a lot of good restaurants, some were great, some were good, some just OK. The fish tacos at Coconuts in Kihei were our favorite fish tacos. Duke's (in front of Honua Kai resort) happy hour was decent, but the staff lacked enthusiasm and warmth, we didn't go back again. (Duke's had a great singer during happy hour the day we were there, she was fantastic).

Ate at Maui Fish and Pasta (Whaler's Village) for breakfast one day, food was good, loved my mac/banana pancakes. Ate at Leilani's twice, enjoyed their prime rib and crab legs and ahi tuna, and their bartender Johnny made my husband the best mango long island iced tea....yum.

We live in Las Vegas so "resort/vacation" prices don't shock us anymore but you can expect to pay more for most things on Maui, but that is to be expected. There is a Starbucks (Lahaina Cannery Mall) 4 miles from Royal Lahaina and we went there every morning for my hot chocolate fix. We rented snorkel equipment at Boss Frogs (right by Starbucks in Lahaina Cannery Mall)...about $60 total a week for a good set for both of us.

Be prepared to wait at the car rental place....it took my husband 45 minutes on line to finally reach the counter to check in. After that, off we went and drove...very slow....their speed limits are 35-45 mph around the island, when you are from a big city, you aren't used to that, my husband always wanted to go faster but he finally slowed down and enjoyed the ride and scenery. I tried to contain myself a few times when I saw whales just to make sure he wouldn't turn to look at them while he was driving...yes, we heard that happens and accidents occur. So, just slow down and enjoy this beautiful island.

So, I guess that wraps up our review of Royal Lahaina and a few details about our trip.
Again, Royal Lahaina is a very nice resort, but very very quiet. This resort is perfect for certain people while others may not enjoy the location. It is a personal opinion on what you expect or want from your vacation.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank vegasbeachlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Aloha. Thank you very much for the review and for the detailed information for other potential visitors. I am glad to read that you found us to be a very nice resort and that the staff you met were all very friendly and hospitable. As you have described, the Royal Lahaina's unique 27 acre oceanfront location on the north side of Black Rock provides a very intimate and peaceful Kaanapali Beach setting. Whereas, the beach area on the south side of Black Rock tends to be much busier due to the many large chain hotels that line the beach in that area. Whalers Village which is in the middle of the busier side of Black Rock, is about a 10-15 minute walk from the Royal Lahaina and/or guests can take the complimentary trolley service from our hotel to Whaler's Village. Definitely agree that visitors should consider the location and ambiance of the various resorts in the area and the type of experience they desire when making their choice. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
0.5 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,234 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,617 reviews
21.4 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
4.6 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lahaina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lahaina Resort

Address: 2780 Kekaa Drive, Kaanapali Beach, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1992
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: £157 - £532 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Lahaina Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelbag, TravelUp, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your Royal Lahaina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Lahaina Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Resort Maui
Royal Lahaina Maui
Royal Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Hotel Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing