We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The cabins are a nice touch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Royal Lahaina Resort
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
South Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The cabins are a nice touch”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Despite the construction and utter lack of parking with very tight parking stalls, the resort itself is beautiful. We got one of the cabins and at first glance we looked at each other and said, "Wow, this is really nice!" Upon closer inspection, it looked like construction was a little rushed. The switch plate cover in the bathroom was missing a screw, there were ants coming into the bathroom through a hole in the tile, the bathroom sink faucet didn't match up to the hole in the sink itself, the drapes on the patio door didn't pivot, and the shower temperature left much to be desired. Also, when we came into the dark room at night, no switch turned on a light, we has to stumble to find the lamp and turn it on that way. The service men and bell hops were excellent but the front desk staff is what the rating down. We came asked for early check-in and they said the maid was just cleaning the room now and we should just go get some lunch and come back and the room would be ready. My wife and I went out or a longer lunch in the city and came back only to be told, that I was told no and that I should have come back at 3:00 for check-in. I wouldn't have come back from the city if that was the case. A couple days later we brought our beach towels back to the front desk as that is whom gave it to us in the first place and we said we were just checking the towels back in. The lady looked at me as if I was troubling her and said to take the towels back to my room and housekeeping would collect them. Housekeeping left it on the floor for the past two nights. When I explained that to her she said well throw it in the basket by the pool. My wife and I looked by both pools and no basket was found. The night before check out I asked the gentleman behind the desk if they have a business center, the said "yes" turned around and walked away. We might come and stay again if the front desk staff gets some customer service training.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Aloha Christopher. Thank you for the 4-star rating. I will contact you directly to follow up on some of the areas that you have mentioned where improvement can be made so that we can gain your confidence in a return trip. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,034 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,567
    1,456
    541
    272
    198
See reviews for
779
2,112
88
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (996)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Imagine you and your special someone or you and your best friend who are running away from life as you usually know it, have decided on a Maui vacation. Now, pre-plan early enough to get one of the one room cottage rooms that give you unabstructed access to a beautiful beach separated only by a few exquisite waving Palm trees, a manicured lawn and vibrant plants and flowers scattered here and there. Don't feel like the beach today? Want to have 'some' interaction with others? How about a swim in one of the two pools or a tropical drink, a good book and a lounge chair? This property has tower rooms that I heard are beautiful but my only experience was the great little vintage 70's cottage rooms with a deep bathtub, a great shower, two beds and a sliding glass door (with shutters for privacy) that open to a magnificent view of the Kaanapali Coast. The staff is Hawaiian friendly, the restaurant bar is inviting, with good bartenders and great appetizers. I was told that the property is owned by a family and I would imagine that accounts for the absence of that 'sterile corporate feel' that most properties this size seem to exude. Caution: Stay away from the part of the property that is called "The Kaanapali Ocean Inn." That houses "the cheap seats" and was where we made the initial mistake of reserving. Those rooms smell musty, are dingy and very, very tired. We immediately upgraded and the happy ending to this story is that we got a premier cottage that we wouldn't have even known about. Prices vary depending on the season so I can't speak to the cost. My main intent is to let you in on the secret of the cottages…so take the time to ask. You'll be glad you did.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor which meant a few steps to the outside. Each 'cottage condo' has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaliforniaCurious1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Aloha. Thank you for the five-star rating. Glad to read that you were pleased with the cottage room that you upgraded to and that our resort provided the traditional Hawaiian ambiance that you were seeking. We hope that we can welcome you back again soon. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

It is family, the first words out of the gate attendant,,,,,,well home we have missed you. Wow
This is not the Hyatt , no it is the vacation spot for those who wish to relax and no nothing at the restaurant and bar area. Nightly music adds to the charm and the older cabanas are My preference as they are 30 ft from the pool and offer first floor views. Ocean front first floor is the real deal

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicetom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Aloha. Thank you very much for the 5-Star rating and positive review. As you mention, the Royal Lahaina is renowned for its traditional Hawaiian ambiance, friendly aloha-spirited service and for being positioned on the best and most exclusive stretch of beautiful Kaanapali Beach. We are definitely not a big box brand type hotel and believe that the uniquely Hawaiian experience that our resort offers is one of the aspects that most of our guests, like yourself, enjoy most. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
914 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

We've stayed at the Royal Lahaina several times over the years and it remains one of our favorites. We stay in the tower, in rooms facing south, which overlook the golf course and the beach, this is the prettiest view other than the ocean front rooms. They also have cabana type rooms that we find old and run down. They have been renovating the cabana rooms, but they are still not done. If you are going to stay in these rooms, be sure and request a renovated one. They do have a restaurant, which we made use for breakfast. The wifi at the Royal Lahaina stinks, even if you pay for the upgraded version, constantly disconnecting. The pools are old, but the beach is fantastic in front of the Royal Lahaina and there are plenty of grassy areas to set a lounger to sit in the sun. A solid place to go, a 4-star rating from us.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ZumaDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Aloha. Thank you very much for the positive review and for making the Royal Lahaina your Maui resort of choice for the past eight years. We appreciate your continued visits and hope to welcome you back again very soon. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agoura Hills, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Our family of 6 just returned from 5 days at the RLR. It was a fantastic experience. The location is superb, right on the beach. We could see a sea turtle from our balcony and the kids ran down to the beach and caught up with it in the water! Our room was beautiful and spacious. We loved the authentic Hawaiian decor throughout the hotel. The service was great from the moment we pulled up and got our first Aloha. Everyone could not have been nicer. The size of the resort was particularly good for kids, enough room to run around a bit but not such a big place you worried if they were out of sight for a moment or two. We went over to the Sheraton that is around the point and were shocked at how enormous it was, how far the rooms were from the beach and how crazy the beach seemed. RLR was so much more low key and closer to the water. We also loved having the Royal Scoop ice cream shop right there -- it became part of our daily ritual. We will definitely return to this beautiful place with a great Hawaiian vibe.

Room Tip: Staying in the remodeled tower was a plus
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RebeccaS2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Aloha Rebecca. Thank you very much for the positive review. So happy to read that we were a good fit for your family and that you all enjoyed the overall feel of our resort. We will look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandusky, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel last week. It is old, has been updated but it is still old. There were not enough chairs at the 2 small pools. Trying to get a towel took forever and the lady there was too busy trying to sell lotion to hand out towels. There were no chairs on the beach not even to rent. The staff was not friendly and at check in they tried to upsell us on another room. The parking spaces are so small and everyone parks over the lines so you can't find a spot. Not a soda machine in the hotel. If you wanted to buy a soda you had to go across the parking lot to their store. Would never stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandtown53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Aloha. Thank you for the feedback. I am sorry to learn that you were not pleased with your experience. The management and staff here at the Royal Lahaina try our best to provide friendly service and assist our guests in making the most of their vacation. We will continue to monitor guest feedback and look for additional ways to enhance guest satisfaction. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Very clean friendly staff overall would recommend it to anyone. Great beach views. Weird that no one else seemed to want to swim at the beach so me and my friend practically had it to ourselves. Great stuff to do around in Lahaina and the luau attached to the resort. We had a great time.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Aloha Gabby. Thank you for the 5-Star rating and positive recommendation. Glad to read that you had a great time and enjoyed the resort and your interactions with our associates. We hope that you will return to Maui and that we can welcome you back to the Royal Lahaina. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.5 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,078 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#15 of 32 in Lahaina
2,535 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lahaina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lahaina Resort

Property: Royal Lahaina Resort
Address: 2780 Kekaa Drive, Kaanapali Beach, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1992
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Lahaina Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Lahaina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Lahaina Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Resort Maui
Royal Lahaina Maui
Royal Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Hotel Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing