We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful hotel and amazing staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Lahaina Resort
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I highly recommend this hotel. Our room was beautifully decorated with wooden shutters and new furnishings. It was immaculate. The breakfast buffet is at the restaurant downstairs is the best I have ever had. Most of the staff have been working for this locally owned hotel for 30 years and the level of service and attention to detail rivals that of a 5 star hotel. After we left Maui, we stayed at a Hilton property on the Big Island, and we couldn't stop talking and comparing our experience at the Royal Lahaina. The luau is amazing, the beach and views spectacular. Thank you, Royal Lahaina for such a perfect experience! We can't wait to return!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DonnaK0905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Aloha Donna. Thank you very much for the very kind review. So happy that you had a great experience and plan on returning. We will look forward to welcoming you back. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,641 - 1,647 of 4,220 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

We originally booked one of the cottages, wanting as much ocean as we could get, and based on the recommendation of the phone representative. But when we arrived we found that it wasn't a stand-alone cottage (4 rooms per unit) and it wasn't right on the beach. It was close, but there was a pool in between, and there didn't appear to be a great view. So we switched to a room in the tower and couldn't have been happier. We had a panoramic ocean view, being in the end unit, with a nice balcony overlooking one of the pools. We loved the on-site restaurant - food was good and there was nightly entertainment, including hula dancers and a torch-lighting ceremony. Beach was great! There was shuffle board and bocci ball too. Staff was very efficient and friendly. Our last night there we got to go to a fun cocktail party with free drinks and appetizers. I walked up and down the beach, checking out other hotels, and this one had by far the best views, and was closest to the beach, so big thumbs up.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jmj555555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Aloha. Thank you for the review and positive feedback. Glad that we were able to assist you in obtaining the view you desired and that you had a enjoyed the resort. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We loved our stay here. The hotel is so close to the beautiful beach and the two pools are ideal for cooling off at any time. The service was excellent. We had a room with partial ocean view. The only down side was we had a room above an air conditioning unit which provided a constant noise if you had the balcony doors open. Not a problem for us as we didn't spend much time in the room, but I know others in a similar position complained and got moved. Well located for the beach and with a free trolley service to the Whalers Village, but a bit far from Lahaina itself as you need to get a bus. Depends on what you want. For us, the peace and quiet of the area was a winner. The whalers village with all it's shops and eating places is an easy walk along the beach path if you prefer and the best way of enjoying the sea views! Fantastic sunsets enjoyed from the bar terrace. Good food and drink, both in the evenings and breakfasts. We went to the Luau (see seperate review). A brilliant experience all round and would most definately come back here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TrebiKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Aloha. Thank you for the positive review. Happy to read that you had a fantastic stay and would definitely return. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Beautiful hotel. We had a garden room and much preferred that over staying in the hotel. All we had to do was walk out of our room and be right on the beach there in Maui. Also two swimming pools if you don't want to mess with the sand. There is a restaurant there but kind of pricey. Lots of restaurants and plenty of shops to buy souvenirs nearby. Room was very nice and clean with plenty of space. Saw weddings taking place on the beach and also great place for a family. You can also enjoy a luau while you are there.

Room Tip: If you want to be close to the beach we had a garden room on the bottom floor beach side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donna9473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Aloha Donna. Thank you for the 5-Star rating. Glad to read that you enjoyed your cottage room and experience here on Maui. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This was our first trip to Maui in 14 years. Booked last minute, we didn't do any homework on the hotel. We were pleasantly surprised! This is not a mega-resort but it is right on a fabulous beach and is clean, with fairly new soft goods in the rooms and most of all the best staff ever! Every person there was friendly and helpful. We sat outside on Saturday night and listened to a great musician for a few hours by the restaurant. Prices are reasonable for Hawaii and we found it to be a very comfortable spot. The beach was beautiful and not crowded so we definitely will visit this hidden jewel again!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelnutx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Aloha. Thank you for the positive feedback, particularly your favorable review of the staff and the service you received. The Royal Lahaina prides itself on offering our guests a great vacation value and sharing the Aloha Spirit, so happy to read that you were pleased with these aspects. We will look forward to welcoming you back. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We had a beautiful room. Great service. There was great shuttle/train service to many attractions in the area. There was a great coffee shop on location. Nice gift shop on location too. The had a luau at night that was good watching. The whole royal Lahaina experience was just super.

Stayed: August 2013
1  Thank Mham516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Aloha. Thank you for the positive review. Great reading that you had a super experience. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My Wife and I stayed here for 4 nights of our trip around Hawaii's Islands. We should have stayed longer! We were happy with our choice of stay with a deluxe ocean view room about 8 or so floors up from memory, the buildings design makes most rooms have views of the ocean but imagine the lower floors might be more restricted. Value for money isn't exactly all there but then again not much is in Maui. The negatives are the following; buffet breakfast pricey and not very appealing. Pool area showing signs of age and could well do with an overhaul. Give the luau a miss, yes the pork is amazing and the show ok, but overpriced for what you get for. If you have been to any other islands in the pacific guaranteed you wold have seen this show before. You'll need a car to get around, there isn't a great deal of things to do around the hotel other than tennis, golf or beach. Positives; helpful and friendly staff in particular the night concierge who's name escapes me but gave us excellent advice and confidence on doing the road to hana. Room with its tasteful decor and quality furnishings, and generally the hotel grounds and garden and location on a beautiful strip of beach. We loved seeing the whales in the distance as we woke up in the morning. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to family and friends. It would have got the star star if not for its age in places.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank gonz-83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Aloha. Thank you for the positive review. Happy to see that you would stay with us again and also recommend us to family and friends. We hope we can welcome you back again. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.5 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4,330 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
2,654 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lahaina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lahaina Resort

Address: 2780 Kekaa Drive, Kaanapali Beach, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1992
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: £168 - £380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Lahaina Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelbag, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Lahaina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Lahaina Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Resort Maui
Royal Lahaina Maui
Royal Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Hotel Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing