We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Sure we have that! But it will cost you extra"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Royal Lahaina Resort
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Sure we have that! But it will cost you extra"”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

You can't catch a break at this hotel without "additional fees". From the parking to the wifi to the food. To use the parking is 10 bucks a day (valet is 15). The complimentary wifi only allows you 1 hour at a time, and the log in you create to use it, you also have to recreate it over and over again, as the the log in IDs are deleted (daily I believe). You can look at packages, that start at $9.99 if you want "high speed". The nachos are expensive - $16.00. But guess what - to get jalapenos...you have to pay $1.50 more. I was half expecting the voltage on the outlets inside the room to also be regulated (you want more voltage - that's going to be $5.00 .... a day). You come to places like this to get away from daily life and relax, not to be pulling out your wallet every five minutes.

Room Tip: The tower rooms are clean and the beds are VERY comfortable - and I am the type that has a hard time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdoshi08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Aloha. Thank you for the feedback. The Royal Lahaina resort is dedicated to offering our guests a world class Maui location, traditional Hawaiian ambiance, welcoming service and a great value. Guests will generally find that our room rates are extremely competitive for the Kaanapali Beach area. Additionally, rather than charging a mandatory "resort fee" of $25 - $30 per day like most of the other resorts on Kaanapali, we offer some services on a pay for use basis so that guests can select those services which they desire rather than being charged for them whether or not they are utilized. Our wifi service provider has recently enhanced their program and upgraded the free service so that it is now available for a full 24 hour period without the need to re-create log-ins. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,034 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,567
    1,456
    541
    272
    198
See reviews for
779
2,112
88
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (996)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Disappointed upon check in to find out there is only a single king size bed available instead of 2 double beds as previously booked few months ago. It took 2 days to get a new room. Otherwise the stay was enjoyable and the staffs are pleasant. Beach is very nice and I will be back when time is available. Room carpet is on the worn out side.

Room Tip: I prefer higher floor personally.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Benny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Aloha Benny. Glad to hear that you had a relaxing vacation and plan on returning. Sorry about the delay in providing you with the bedding you requested. Although we do our best to honor all guest requests, at this time we are only able to guarantee bedding preference for guests who make applicable bookings through our Royal Rewards program. Details on this program can be found on our website. We will look forward to welcoming you back. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahaina, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The room was not as good as I expected it to be. The bath towels have an odd smell to them. The shower head is not even close to average. The "partial Ocean View" requires me to lean over the railing on the patio to see the ocean. Check in was at 3pm according to the web site and my reservation however the room was not ready at 3 and they got me a free drink while I waited 30 minutes longer for the room.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelly g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Aloha Kelly. Thank you for the review. Sorry to read that we did not meet up to your expectations. Have not heard of any previous complaints regarding the smell of the bath towels, but will be sure to review this with our Housekeeping Department and Linen Service. I see that you live in Lahaina, so will reach out to you to see if we can regain your confidence on a future visit. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Location was great. We stayed street side of the two buildings. Part of a time share system. Very nice pool. Rooms were spacious. Appliances worked fine. One bad part was the air conditioner was in the living room with nothing but a ceiling fan in the bed room. Was a bit stuffy in there. Else the facility was very nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r8humiston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Aloha. Not sure if this review was intended for Royal Lahaina Resort. We do not have time share here at our resort and none of our buildings are on the "street side". Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed 6 nights for a vacation. The location of Royal Lahaina is great: it's in the middle of the Kaanapali beach area, which is one of the most beautiful beach areas in Maui. It's only a 15-minute walk from the hotel to the famous Whalers Village, where you can find the best restaurants in this area. The hotel restaurant is very good as well. And its Luau dinner party is one of the best in town. The overall experience here is excellent.

Room Tip: The Ocean-view rooms have a better view than other sides
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jianjun L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Aloha Jianjun. Thank you very much for the review. Happy to read that you enjoyed the resort and had an excellent experience. We hope we can welcome you back on a future visit. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Trip started horribly. Got in late after long flight. Booked a cottage but refused to stay in the two they showed us as they were both already occupied by COCKROACHES. After much back and fourth trying to get a room in the tower, they eventually upgraded us to a BEAUTIFUL ocean/beach view suite at no additional charge! We still have a few days to go but we are loving it here! I would definitely recommend staying here but STAY AWAY FROM THE COTTAGES!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Darnell R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Aloha Darnell. Glad that we were able to assist in moving you from one of our cottages to a tower room. Being located in the tropics, bugs are a part of daily life in paradise. Although our resort performs regular pest control, at times unwanted visitors find their way into rooms. In these cases this problem can be easily addressed by our Housekeeping staff. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The location on the beach front is excellent combined with great weather it makes it very fun to be at the hotel however a good wifi service is required for a hotel to be satisfactory, this is not the case as you can either have very slow free internet or very slow 10 dollar a day internet which is advertised to be fast yet takes a minute or 2 to load a simple google search.
The food choice was expensive with little variety and lacked that of a good restaurant standard yet did not lack the price

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robinvv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Aloha Robin. Thank you for the review. Glad to read that you enjoyed our location and had a fun time at the hotel. Sorry that you were disappointed with the internet service, this is a service we are continuing to work on and enhance for our guests. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.5 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4,078 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
2,535 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lahaina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lahaina Resort

Property: Royal Lahaina Resort
Address: 2780 Kekaa Drive, Kaanapali Beach, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1992
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Lahaina Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Lahaina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Lahaina Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Resort Maui
Royal Lahaina Maui
Royal Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Hotel Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing