We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to escape screaming kids”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Lahaina Resort
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Great place to escape screaming kids on the beach and other gathering areas, this place is unique on Kaanapali Beach for its high concentration of adult couples. Hotels on each side are more attractive for families with kids. Our tower room, 3022 (partial ocean view from the room balcony was lovely), was comfortable and well-appointed with wooden highlights and a wooden sliding door to block the sun. Firm comfortable bed, clean carpets. The shower pressure might be a bit high for some. Be careful about booking a room facing the golf-course and mountain (south facing) because huge noisy fans below can be heard at least up to the eighth floor. We found the beach wide enough for our needs, including sunbathing, entry to the sandy-bottom ocean, and the swimming lovely and without big waves (not the best body-surfing beach, if that's your thing). The restaurant was fine, particularly fish-related appetizers and the cocktails better than some we tried at nearby hotels. My only complaint, and it's a big one, is the wifi. My $10 daily wifi did not work properly (8-minute loading) for the whole trip; the third-party host promised to refund me. The free hour of daily wifi allows only one device at a time. The resort is trying to improve the free wifi, but I could not get their first attempt at a fix to work properly for my iPhone. They need to get it together on this stuff. And charging $10 a day for 'high-speed' service is outrageous. Wifi in 2014 is a utility and no hotel should charge for high-speed any more than they would for water and lights and TV. It should be free, one-click entry, and high-speed. In any case, we recommend the resort for couples. But if you have to do business on your non-beach time, you're taking a chance with their wifi.

Room Tip: Avoid south-facing rooms in the tower because of very loud fans below. Our partial ocean view was su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank GastownWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Aloha. Thank you for the review. Glad to hear that you enjoyed the resort and would recommend us to others. Sorry about the trouble with the wifi, we continue to work with our provider to enhance this service. I will follow up directly with you to ensure you were refunded for the wifi charge you mention. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,521 - 1,527 of 4,178 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

We stayed in an ocean view cottage and it was fantastic! We are a family of 5 and it's hard to find a room big enough for all of us. We had more than enough room with a private bedroom, 2 bathrooms and a kitchen. We had the most amazing views of the ocean out of the front windows and the mountains out of the back. I highly recommend cottage rooms 8125/8126 (1 unit) in building 3 or C…can't remember if they use #'s or letters. Not all of the cottages have been renovated and this one was not, but it didn't bother us. We tried to log on to wi-fi but couldn't…again didn't bother us as we were on vacation in Maui!! We put our phones and screens away and just enjoyed the scenery. The pool is small but my kids enjoyed swimming and the grounds around the hotel are lovely. I'm a travel agent and always walk around as much as possible exploring. We didn't go in the main hotel to eat because we cooked food in our room, but I did take the elevator up and looked around. The hotel has been very nicely updated and the staff was very warm and welcoming. I even walked the beach down to the Westin to compare. They have more activities going on and a beautiful pool area, but it seemed crowded, busy, and the beach area was not as nice as at the Royal Lahaina. We spent our days all over Maui seeing as much as possible, so we did not "hang out" at the hotel much, but we enjoyed coming back to our big room and being a few steps to the pool and beach. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay in the cottages. Building 3 or C...I can't remember if they used #'s or letters. The u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MelanieBrownTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Aloha Melanie. Appreciate the positive review and recommendation, particularly coming from a professional travel agent. So glad that you and your family enjoyed the cottage and Maui. We hope we can welcome you back again in the future. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile


I really liked this hotel. Me and my buddy booked for a golf trip. The rooms were clean and in pretty good condition. Bed was comfortable as well. I booked the partial ocean view on the 7th floor and had a nice view of the ocean. However if you book one of these rooms don't get one on the end, I was in 7002, because there is less room than mid floor rooms. The shower in my room was larger than my buddy's though. They have a little refrigerator and a small coffee maker with complimentary coffee which is nice. There are 2 nice pools although we didn't spend much time there. Nice beach too.
I read up on this hotel before booking and saw the food was pricey so we ate elsewhere. There is a nice little indoor/outdoor restaurant called Castaway that's a short 5 minute walk from the hotel that has good food. I'd recommend that. They have a gift store near the lobby with snacks and drinks and anything you'd need to buy for family back home.
Valet parking is $19 and self is $17. Everything you need is a short drive away, golf, shopping and dining. Great location!!
This hotel is pretty good especially for the price. The typical cost per night anywhere around this area is $200+ so at $150 it's a bargain. The staff was really good and helpful.
I'll be coming back here for sure!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
6  Thank Emarchain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Aloha. Thank you for the positive review. Glad that you found us to be a good value and plan on returning. One slight correction for potential guests, the resort parking charges are actually $10 for self-parking and $15 for valet. We will look forward to welcoming you back. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Beside some minor sluttery (partly broken water plug, ...) VERY nice hotel.
Food and views are great. Breakfast on terasse, looking onto the ocean. Facility in polysian style - very charming. Wifi setup not up to date and unsattisfactory

Room Tip: ocian view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank WolfgangFuertbauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Aloha Wolfgang. Thank you for the review. Glad to read that you found our resort to be charming and that you had a nice experience. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Rooms are old, noisy, ants in the kitchen. TV is no HD. The surroundings are beautifull and the staff us friendly. But the cottages defenitely need a total makeover.
Beds are OK, as are the bathroom and kichenette.

Restaurant is good, nice view over the Pacific.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tjip1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Aloha. Thank you for the feedback. We have recently begun a renovation project for our cottage accommodations. Currently 4 of our 22 cottage buildings have been completely renovated and a 5th is scheduled for completion later this month. Currently the newly renovated cottage rooms can only be guaranteed if booked directly through our hotel reservations office. Contact information for that office can be found on our website. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Don't like the wifi set up. Can't use for more than an hour and more trouble than it's worth to set up.
Employees could not be nicer, very friendly and helpful. Nice rooms and beautiful grounds.
Nice pool and great food, especially breakfast!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Aloha Jan. Thank you for the 5 Star review. So glad that you were pleased with your interactions with our associates and enjoyed the room accommodation and grounds. Our internet provider has recently upgraded our wifi service and it is now available for 24 hours, rather than the one hour plan that was previously in place. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Royal Lahaina for ten days, and were very happy with our experience. The hotel is on a beautiful sandy beach. We had an ocean view room in the Tower, the view was absolutely gorgeous. The balcony is a little tight, and the room a little small, but not bad at all. The dressing/sink area was really dark for putting on makeup, wish I'd brought a lighted mirror. The restaurant had good food, but the service was usually slow. There is also an on-site coffee shop, it was nice to be able to grab a coffee or snack when you didn't want to sit at the restaurant or if you were leaving the resort early before the restaurant was open. Again, very slow service though. In my opinion, this resort is an excellent value for the money, compared to other prices on Maui.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Ann V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Aloha Ann. Thank you for the positive review. Glad to read that you had a good experience and felt we offered an excellent value. Sorry, it sounds as if you did not make use of it, but our Housekeeping Department has lighted mirrors that can be utilized upon request. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
0.5 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,290 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,637 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
21.4 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,185 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lahaina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lahaina Resort

Address: 2780 Kekaa Drive, Kaanapali Beach, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1992
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: £170 - £532 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Lahaina Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelbag, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Lahaina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Lahaina Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Resort Maui
Royal Lahaina Maui
Royal Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Hotel Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing