We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aloha Spirit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Banyan Bed and Breakfast Retreat
Ranked #1 of 2 Makawao B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wakefield, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Aloha Spirit”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

My wife and I recently got married on Maui and spent a few nights at Banyan B&B. Marty, the owner, could not have been more gracious and generous. We found the room to be modestly comfortable and the aura of the compound relaxed. Mahalo for making us feel welcome. We will definitely be back.

E malama pono,
Ed Cardinal

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank EdmondFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    31
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
48
43
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

After spending five nights at a big resort in Wailea, we wanted to spend some time "upcountry" and we chose the Banyan B&B where we spent three great nights (12/9-11/13).

The grounds are lovely and our room (the Gardenia cottage) was comfortable, clean, and well-stocked with whatever we needed especially to enjoy the continental breakfast with fresh pineapple and mango. We were struck how tranquil and quiet it was there.

The property is a great gateway to upcountry, especially Makawao which is a 10 minute walk or really short drive away, and Kula. It was also close to Pa'ia.

The owner, Marty, was exceptionally nice, pleasant, and welcoming. His recommendation of eating dinner at the Hali'imaile General Store (which was excellent) was spot on.

We would certainly come back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

I arrived rather spontaneously in Paea and for the first days struggled to find a peaceful, reasonably priced room. Then I found the Banyan Tree and found deep peace in an attractive, tranquil setting. I was very happy with my large room( Hibiscus) which was clean and bright with a very comfortable bed. The owner, Marty, was particularly warm and friendly to me and helped me out a lot during my stay - sorting me out with a car, giving me some good tips, lending me his snorkeling gear, cracking opening coconuts for me, kindly driving me to the airport and much more. A really great guy.
The air is wonderfully fresh up here and it's generally a great location to unwind, swim in the nice pool, enjoy the jacuzzi and be a little away from the business that is Paea.
Highly recommended - Thankyou Marty.
( see you in Heidelberg!)

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at Banyan Bed and Breakfast for our leadership seminar. All of us live in Hawai'i so we already know of the beauty of the islands and of Maui in particular. But we had not heard of the Banyan B&B and were very pleased with the accommodations. The rooms are very well taken care of and renovated to be completely comfortable. The large house was especially good to have use of as a central meeting and dining area. The kitchen is large and well equipped. We used the BBQ grill and a few of us got to enjoy the pool. We wish we had more time to just relax and take it all in but what little time we had there we very much enjoyed and look forward to coming back, as a group or with our families. Mahalo (thank you) to Marty for being such a welcoming and understanding host.

Room Tip: I stayed in the hibiscus room, which was perfect for a couple.
See more room tips
Green Features: We thought it was good and appreciate the effort to be green.
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This place is exactly as advertised. It is a great break from the hustle and bustle of more busy resort areas. Our family of four had a wonderful time. We liked the location between Makawao and Pa'ia. It is also a great location for traveling up to see the volcanic crater. If you plan on driving the Hanna highway yourself (take a bus!), this is a great spot to use as your base. When you travel down Baldwin Ave. to get here, keep an eye because this driveway is right in a curve in the road. We looked forward to the pool and hot tub at the end of each day.Aloha!
The Story Family

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Would highly recommend this B&B. About 30 members of my family came for wedding. She was married under the giant tree and it was the perfect backdrop.

This quaint place was perfect for all ages. The grounds are beautiful, the pool is refreshing, and the accommodations are clean and cheerful. Even the geckos were tame enough for the kids to pet.

This is not a 5 star luxury hotel but it is a 5 star place to place to enjoy with family and friends.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orangegirl15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Having stayed at the Banyan Tree twice in the past, we almost made the mistake of choosing a hotel for our third visit. What a mistake that would have been! If you like giant, you-could-be-anywhere properties, this is not for you. Banyan Tree is in our opinion a real, olde Hawaii style place to hang your hat for a couple days of privacy, atmosphere and the feel of the tropics as locals experience them. I've never let my husband see the "tourist" side of Maui, because that would totally spoil the feeling and ambience for him. Up Country Maui is an unsung jewell. You're not just near the Haleakala, but also Jaws, various fishbowls (where you probably won't see anyone else) in the Makenna coast, Makawao town, great blues, country, jazz etc. concerts at Casanova's on Sundays, not to mention meeting local artisans. Love it!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaraF742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makawao
22.6 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
12.7 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,126 reviews
10.1 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
5.5 mi away
Kuau Inn
Kuau Inn
#1 of 3 in Paia
145 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lumeria Maui Retreat
Lumeria Maui Retreat
#1 of 2 in Makawao
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Bed and Breakfast Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Bed and Breakfast Retreat

Property: Banyan Bed and Breakfast Retreat
Address: 3265 Baldwin Ave, Makawao, Maui, HI 96768-9629
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Makawao
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Makawao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banyan Tree House, a Maui bed and breakfast with 3 cottages and 4 suites in a wonderful, old plantation house. A quiet retreat in a central island location that is close, yet wonderfully removed from Maui's hotel / resort beachfront crowds. Simply overflowing with Aloha and Hawaii-ana. Giant tropical trees create a peaceful, shady 2.11 Acre oasis a midst giant tropical trees, flowers and sunny open lawns with a 50' swimming pool and Jacuzzi and fully equipped Yoga Studiio There is an additional total $400 cleaning charge when renting the entire property ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Banyan Bed and Breakfast Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Banyan Tree House Hotel Makawao
Banyan Bed And Breakfast Retreat Maui/Makawao, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing