We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place for a retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Banyan Bed and Breakfast Retreat
Ranked #1 of 3 Makawao B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 30 January 2009

My meditation group held their annual retreat there and is planning to go back next year. Great place to do yoga, meditate, have a conference et al. It was too chilly to swim in the pool for me, but others did. The owner, Marty, is very responsive.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mernaday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2007

The Banyan Tree was the perfect spot for a Mother's Get Away. The place is so beautiful and peaceful, adorned with luch flowers and trees, a sparkling pool and wonderful views, which we had to ourselves 99% of the time! We stayed in two cottages , and enjoyed both. The Banyan Tree is located, that traveling the Island is very easy. Marty the owner was so nice and helpful. We stayed 14 days and enjoyed every minute of our travels to Maui.

Stayed: July 2006
Thank maudemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2007

I booked the entire Banyan Tree House for a high school group of 16 (two adults 14 teens) in August. What a fanatastic place! Marty, the owner, was incredibly helpful and gracious. Of all the places we stayed in Hawaii, my students liked this spot the best. The property is gorgeous (two huge banyan trees...one with a swing), the view over the West Maui mountains is superb, and the upslope location keeps the evenings cool. While not luxurious, the loding is very nice. The main house is a historic plantation home. The surrounding cottages are comfortable. Since I stayed here with a group, I cannot comment on staying here with other guests who I don't know. Some of the rooms are more private than others. The pool is one of the nicest I have seen at a rental home.

An earlier review stated that the place was essentially a dump and that they preferred the hotels that used pesticides....hmmm...probably not a candidate for Makaweo rental homes. The appeal of renting a home in Makaweo, Paia, Haiku, etc is that you don't have the plastic atmosphere of a hotel--especially the nightmare strips of hotels in south and west Maui. The reviewer stated that the place was dirty, there were bugs and the pool was not usable. I am pretty picky and will not stay at such places with my students. The Banyan Tree in NO WAY fits the reviewer's description. Bugs? Well, no more than any other house on any of the Hawaiian islands---especially where there is regular precip. These are semi-tropical islands and bugs are common.....having a bug in the house in Maui is not the same as having bugs on the mainland. If you cannot deal with that--stay at a posh hotel. However, keep in mind that my students come from well-to-do suburban NY homes....if they weren't put off by the bugs, then most people won't be. Other than the bugs, I disagree with everything the reviewer wrote....the towels were fine, the pool was spotless, and the house was clean.

Needless to say, I strongly recommend this for someone who wants a down to earth, very clean, and beautiful place to stay--especially if you reserve the entire house for a group (which was very reasonably priced).

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank dbNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2007

This is the perfect place to stay if you are interested in going to Haleakala. It isn't a five star hotel. It is a nice set of cottages that are clean, quiet and relaxing. My wife and I stayed there for two nights and we enjoyed it. The owner, Marty, was very nice and helpful. If you want a good meal go into Makawao and try the steakhouse and the Mexican restaurant. If you are looking for a place to stay in Maui that isn't hectic and may give you a different experience, this is nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheVMAN32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2007

We stayed at the Banyan Tree House this month. It's a charming place when you arrive at night but by the light of day, it's not exactly what you read online.

The pool not even usable, louge chairs in disrepair, blankets looked and smelled a dozen years old, if not more. The cottages are really all one building backing to another cottage, so don't be fooled there isn't much privacy. The grounds are in need of much TLC.

There is currently no breakfast and I've been told it's not there busy season.

Expect bugs, spiders and critters. I got all bit up and was glad to get to one of the hotels that actually used pesticides.

Wish I could rate this place higher, if they ever get it together it could be a wonderful place.

Stayed: February 2007
7  Thank oinkflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anamasan, Public Relations Manager at Banyan Bed and Breakfast Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2010

Thanks for your review.

We apologize that your experience here was not up to your expectations. We strive diligently to insure that all of our guests are well cared for and well pleased by their stay here. Since you have written this review we have remolded or improved all of our accommodations. New sheets, towels and blankets are just the beginning.

One truth about vacationing on Maui is that there is no real off season. As we continually strive to keep our bed and breakfast as wonderful as we can make it, it is possible to find us doing some work during your stay. We always do our best to cause as little disturbance as possible at these times and we apologize sincerely if it ever causes anyone any inconvenience.

Currently we keep the pool beautiful and enjoyable all year round. Breakfast is always available every day of the year unless it is specifically excluded in your rental agreement. And of course the park-like property is fabulous.

Again thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2006

Our flight left late in the evening the day after we had to vacate our condo in Kehei. We wanted an inexpensive place because we were going to have to pay for 2 nights in order to stay late the day we were leaving. "The Banyan Tree" was the perfect place. The cost for two nights was the same or less than it would have been for 1 night in most beach hotels in Maui. The real treat was that it was so pleasant and it was a great change from South Maui. We toured the Hana highway the first day and it was very convenient to return to Makawao for the evening. The day of our flight it rained, but it didn't stop us from touring the upcountry, Olinda and Kula, before returning to "The Banyan Tree" for an afternoon nap before our flight. We had a cute cottage which was nicely decorated with nice fixtures and tiles, and new curtains. There was plenty of room for the three in our family. It was nice to hear the sound of rain on the palms and banana trees after a week in an air conditioned enclosed condo. The only negative was the mosquitos. They came in quickly. Despite that, "The Banyan Tree" was a beautiful place to end our vacation.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank TravelHomemaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2004

We stayed only 1 night in one of the cottages before heading out the next morning for our bicycle ride down the volcano, but we WISHED we'd stayed our whole vacation there! It is amazingly beautiful and peaceful. Our cottage was large enough for our family of 5, and since there was no TV, we had a great game of cards! Definitely a great way to enjoy the family :) The manager/artist was very helpful and friendly - especially to my daughter who was delighted by her studio in the back.

The grounds are large and lovely, without being too manicured - it definitely had the feel of a visit to a beloved grandma's house. The pool and spa were clean and have a lovely view of the city and such, since Makawao is part way up the side of Haelakala.

I HIGHLY recommend the Banyan Tree House to anyone seeking a relaxing stay on Maui.



  • Stayed: March 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank travelingWise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makawao
22.6 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
5.6 mi away
Paia Inn
Paia Inn
#1 of 1 in Paia
757 reviews
10.1 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
12.7 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,160 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lumeria Maui Retreat
Lumeria Maui Retreat
#1 of 2 in Makawao
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Bed and Breakfast Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Bed and Breakfast Retreat

Address: 3265 Baldwin Ave, Makawao, Maui, HI 96768-9629
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Makawao
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Makawao
Price Range: £158 - £813 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banyan Tree House, a Maui bed and breakfast with 3 cottages and 4 suites in a wonderful, old plantation house. A quiet retreat in a central island location that is close, yet wonderfully removed from Maui's hotel / resort beachfront crowds. Simply overflowing with Aloha and Hawaii-ana. Giant tropical trees create a peaceful, shady 2.11 Acre oasis a midst giant tropical trees, flowers and sunny open lawns with a 50' swimming pool and Jacuzzi and fully equipped Yoga Studiio There is an additional total $400 cleaning charge when renting the entire property ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Banyan Bed and Breakfast Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Banyan Tree House Hotel Makawao
Banyan Bed And Breakfast Retreat Maui/Makawao, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing