We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Banyan Bed and Breakfast Retreat
Ranked #1 of 2 Makawao B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seattle
1 review
“Paradise Retreat”
Reviewed 22 August 2009

We spent a week in the Gardenia Cottage at Banyan Tree House. The experience was everything we had hoped for - and more. We were looking for a vacation accommodation that was quiet and beautiful, away from the beach madness, and an environment that invited reflection. What we found was beautiful gardens, well-tended cottages, inviting swimming pool and hot tub, fresh fruit delivered to our lanai each morning, and very friendly and welcoming staff. The owner, Marty, welcomed us like family and went out of his way to accommodate our every need. We will definitely return to the Banyan Tree House the next time we travel to Maui.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NRBSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    31
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
48
43
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2009

We stayed at the Banyan Tree House for a week and loved it. Whether sun or rain it, was very romantic and quiet and the whole property was a bit like paradise! The host and staff was very friendly and we very much enjoyed talking with them and being their guests. We stayed there with our 2-year old daughter who loved the garden and the atmosphere (including the awesome tree-swings, cats and geckos) and the possibility to roam freely and safely. The vibrant town of Paia and its beaches are only 10 min away by car and there's always sun and little wind at Big Beach (THE beach on Maui, about a 45 min drive). The Haleakala volcano landscape is best reach from the Banyan Tree House and for some shopping and groceries the nice little town of Makawao is just 2 min away. If you are looking for a resort-type vacation don't stay here as it is not what you are looking for. At the the Banyan Tree House, you are surrounded by nature and despite all the insect screens you might be sleeping with a gecko in the room (which does everything to stay away from you). We chose an up-country location on purpose to stay away from the resort crowds and tourist traps that go along with it and we were glad to have found this place.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bienfoutu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaska
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2009

We loved the Banyan Tree House so much that we cancelled our reservation at another hotel so that we could double our stay. We rented the Hibiscus cottage and found it to be spacious, comfortable, and spotlessly clean. It has hardwood floors and a cheerful, uncluttered feeling. The remodeled bathroom is great; it is tiled in a gorgeous green marble; it has an open ceiling area and hand-carved mirror; and the door looks like a shoji screen. The Hibiscus cottage enjoys lots of natural light and refreshing upcountry breezes.

We especially liked the garden foliage that surrounds the perimeter of the Hibiscus cottage. We never pulled the blinds (or even closed the door) when we were at home because the plants provide great privacy. The property owners, Marty and Mona, give you lots of space, but if you have the opportunity to visit with them, you will find them to be charming hosts.

Upcountry Maui is a treat that many visitors to Maui overlook. It is peaceful and quiet. You get to wake up every morning to silence and the gentle chirping of birds (rather than being jarred awake by lawn mowers and weed whackers). The accommodations are reasonably priced compared to the beach communities. The views are wonderful. And this may surprise people who’ve never been to Makawao, but the Banyan Tree House is logistically convenient.

Don’t be fooled by those maps! Maui is a small island and everything is closer than it appears. You can get from the Banyan Tree House to Paia in only 10 minutes, and from there, its only another 20 minutes to the best beaches in South Maui. You are also well-located for day trips to Hana or hiking on Haleakala. But I wouldn’t be in too much of a rush to get down the hill. We are huge fans of the beach, but some of our favorite activities are upcountry.

Paia and Makawao offer the most charming shopping experience on the island – a great browsing atmosphere and merchandise that you might actually want to buy. It’s a small-business paradise compared to the chain stores, tourist junk, and gaudy jewelry available in Kaanapali and Lahaina. (Sorry West Maui, but it’s true). Paia, Makawao and Haiku also have good restaurants and take-out delis, along with a large natural foods grocery store.

The drive from Makawao to Ulupalakua is delightful, especially if you are in a Jeep. Take your time to enjoy the sumptuous foliage and dreamy views (but be sure to pull over along those narrow country roads to let the local drivers pass). Along the way, you can visit local farms that include acres of flowers, organic veggies, lavender fields, a vineyard, and a goat dairy. All of these enterprises include tours and samples. You can also schedule horse back rides and four-wheeler excursions in the area.

Our favorite activity was the tour at the O’o farm. It culminates with lunch al fresco prepared by one of the island’s best chefs using produce that you picked along the way. It’s delightful and the ambiance looks and feels like a tropical version of Tuscany.

We only had two regrets as we waved good-bye to the Banyan Tree House: (1) that we didn’t stay longer, and (2) that we never found the time to sit by the pool or use the ping-pong table. If you decided to visit the Banyan Tree House, I hope that you have as much fun as we did!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nahele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2009

Our meditation group spent an enchanting week-end in Paradise. The birds were chirping (I even heard a peacock, the Indian National bird), the weather was beautiful and the owner and staff (Marty, Mouna, Pete and others) were gracious beyond compare. Even after I checked out and had to wait until evening to catch a flight, the hospitality of Marty (the Owner) and Mouna (the Manager) was limitless.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flash999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2009

I'm glad I hadn't booked a room in a resort at the main beaches. I was looking for something a bit off the main tourist areas that provided an easygoing yet comfortable atmosphere. Also my 9-year old daughter loved it, picking fruit from trees and hanging out in the pool. The staff is very welcoming and helpful. The location is ideal for exploring the island. You are a few minutes away from a small artsy town called Makawao and 7 miles down the road there is a beach famous for surfing at Paia.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllegraSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley CA
1 review
Reviewed 4 February 2009

I absolutely loved the Banyan Tree, I was there in Jan. 2009 for 3 weeks. The owner Marty and the caretakers are amazing people, super responsive and helpful. The place is very easy to get to, walking distance from the marvelous Makawao and not too far from the beach. The accommodations are great, in response to the previous review I should stress that during the winter season the pool is not cold if you first take a dip in the hot tub :-), during the summer the pool is perfect. There is basketball and table tennis for the interested. Cheers, Niko

  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kokolay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2009

My meditation group held their annual retreat there and is planning to go back next year. Great place to do yoga, meditate, have a conference et al. It was too chilly to swim in the pool for me, but others did. The owner, Marty, is very responsive.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mernaday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makawao
22.6 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
12.7 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,126 reviews
15.2 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Kuau Inn
Kuau Inn
#1 of 3 in Paia
145 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lumeria Maui Retreat
Lumeria Maui Retreat
#1 of 2 in Makawao
506 reviews
1.1 mi away
Peace Of Maui
Peace Of Maui
#2 of 2 in Makawao
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Bed and Breakfast Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Bed and Breakfast Retreat

Property: Banyan Bed and Breakfast Retreat
Address: 3265 Baldwin Ave, Makawao, Maui, HI 96768-9629
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Makawao
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Makawao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banyan Tree House, a Maui bed and breakfast with 3 cottages and 4 suites in a wonderful, old plantation house. A quiet retreat in a central island location that is close, yet wonderfully removed from Maui's hotel / resort beachfront crowds. Simply overflowing with Aloha and Hawaii-ana. Giant tropical trees create a peaceful, shady 2.11 Acre oasis a midst giant tropical trees, flowers and sunny open lawns with a 50' swimming pool and Jacuzzi and fully equipped Yoga Studiio There is an additional total $400 cleaning charge when renting the entire property ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Banyan Bed and Breakfast Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Banyan Tree House Hotel Makawao
Banyan Bed And Breakfast Retreat Maui/Makawao, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing