We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a quiet, peaceful, and comfortable oasis in Upcountry Maui.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Banyan Bed and Breakfast Retreat
Ranked #1 of 2 Makawao B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seattle, WA
1 review
“a quiet, peaceful, and comfortable oasis in Upcountry Maui.”
Reviewed 16 October 2009

Staying at Banyan Tree House was perfect for us. We visited Maui for our son's wedding and the wedding festivities were all nearby, so the location was ideal. Several family members and friends also stayed here and we all enjoyed the natural simplicity of our surroundings. The cottages are clean and pleasant. The best part of our stay was that this was a non-fussy, and welcoming place. We loved the sounds of birds each morning, the beautiful natural plantings and flowers, and the arrival of our continental breakfasts at our door each morning, complete with luscious local fruit. Up the road in Makawao Town you'll find several nice shops with friendly shop keepers, offering beautiful clothes, kitschy western gear, and the General Store - a great place to get sandwiches to go, groceries for the cottage, and a fantastic wine selection! Pa'ia is less than 10 minutes down the road with it's shops, Mana Grocery (the best organic/whole food grocery on the island), and the great restaurants (Pa'ia Fishmarket and Faltbread Pizza). The staff (Martty and Mouna) are gracious and accomodating. If you want to experience the beauty and slower pace of Maui, this is a great find!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RevKevandDollHol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    31
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
48
43
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2009

I also stayed at Banyan Tree House for a writing workshop. It was the perfect setting for reading and writing. Tranquil, sparely and tastefully furnished island plantation style. Managers Marty and Mouna are accommodating. Rooms, while not resort-fancy, are airy, homey and have everything you need. With Makawao just up the hill, it's easy to stock up on gourmet groceries and eat well at Market Fresh Bistro. The kitchen in the plantation house is huge and phenomenal. Loved grilling fresh opakapaka on the barbecue too. The pool was the perfect refresher when I needed a break from writing. As a kama'aina, I'd much rather stay here than a big, glitzy resort.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HIwrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2009

I stayed at the Banyan this summer for a week-long writing workshop held in the main plantation house. Our group had the run of the place and we took full advantage ... working and meeting on the lanai, lounging in the spacious living room, cooking meals in the large, fully equipped kitchen and grilling veggies by the pool. Somehow, the whole workshop ran seamlessly, yet we barely knew the staff was there. Luckily, I was able to extend my stay for three days and had an opportunity to get to know Marty better. He is more than a host, he makes you feel like family. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newmeadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2009

Our family stay at the Banyan Tree House with our two young kids (under 10) and my parents (in their 70s). It was a delight! It is one of very few places upcountry that allows children and we were all welcome to swim in the large pool, play on the hammock and swing on the big lawn, play the piano on the screened lanai, and play ping pong. The historic plantation manager's home is roomy and gracious, and the kitchen is fit for throwing large parties! The yoga studio is a wonderful bonus for those so inclined to practice or meditate. Marty keeps the BTH sustainable, with a wind turbine, recycling, composting, and eco-friendly soaps (no detergents!). We felt quite at home.

The location is convenient: it is up the road from Paia, another quaint town with a great health food store, 1/2 hour from the gate to Haleakala National Park (1 hour to the summit), and right around the corner from Hali'i Maile General Store, an award-winning cafe that serves tasty local, organic dishes. I highly recommend the Banyan Tree House.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L0ke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haiku, hi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2009

Very calming, quiet ,peaceful spot, seemingly in the middle of nowhere although town is only a mile or so away with restaurants, night life, grocery store and shopping. I would highly recommend staying here for whatever your needs; wedding, conference, romantic getaway...conference

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isiswickett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2009

We spent a week in the Gardenia Cottage at Banyan Tree House. The experience was everything we had hoped for - and more. We were looking for a vacation accommodation that was quiet and beautiful, away from the beach madness, and an environment that invited reflection. What we found was beautiful gardens, well-tended cottages, inviting swimming pool and hot tub, fresh fruit delivered to our lanai each morning, and very friendly and welcoming staff. The owner, Marty, welcomed us like family and went out of his way to accommodate our every need. We will definitely return to the Banyan Tree House the next time we travel to Maui.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NRBSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2009

We stayed at the Banyan Tree House for a week and loved it. Whether sun or rain it, was very romantic and quiet and the whole property was a bit like paradise! The host and staff was very friendly and we very much enjoyed talking with them and being their guests. We stayed there with our 2-year old daughter who loved the garden and the atmosphere (including the awesome tree-swings, cats and geckos) and the possibility to roam freely and safely. The vibrant town of Paia and its beaches are only 10 min away by car and there's always sun and little wind at Big Beach (THE beach on Maui, about a 45 min drive). The Haleakala volcano landscape is best reach from the Banyan Tree House and for some shopping and groceries the nice little town of Makawao is just 2 min away. If you are looking for a resort-type vacation don't stay here as it is not what you are looking for. At the the Banyan Tree House, you are surrounded by nature and despite all the insect screens you might be sleeping with a gecko in the room (which does everything to stay away from you). We chose an up-country location on purpose to stay away from the resort crowds and tourist traps that go along with it and we were glad to have found this place.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bienfoutu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makawao
22.6 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
12.7 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,127 reviews
10.1 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
2.5 mi away
Lumeria Maui Retreat
Lumeria Maui Retreat
#1 of 2 in Makawao
509 reviews
1.1 mi away
Peace Of Maui
Peace Of Maui
#2 of 2 in Makawao
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Bed and Breakfast Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Bed and Breakfast Retreat

Property: Banyan Bed and Breakfast Retreat
Address: 3265 Baldwin Ave, Makawao, Maui, HI 96768-9629
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Makawao
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Makawao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banyan Tree House, a Maui bed and breakfast with 3 cottages and 4 suites in a wonderful, old plantation house. A quiet retreat in a central island location that is close, yet wonderfully removed from Maui's hotel / resort beachfront crowds. Simply overflowing with Aloha and Hawaii-ana. Giant tropical trees create a peaceful, shady 2.11 Acre oasis a midst giant tropical trees, flowers and sunny open lawns with a 50' swimming pool and Jacuzzi and fully equipped Yoga Studiio There is an additional total $400 cleaning charge when renting the entire property ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Banyan Bed and Breakfast Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Banyan Tree House Hotel Makawao
Banyan Bed And Breakfast Retreat Maui/Makawao, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing