We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable, clean, hospitable, lovely setting, just what we needed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Banyan Bed and Breakfast Retreat
Ranked #1 of 2 Makawao B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
“Very enjoyable, clean, hospitable, lovely setting, just what we needed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2010

A small group of cottages located in a country setting. Relaxed, quiet, off the beaten path. Small but very adequate kitchen and "living room" areas. non-heated pool with a beautiful view. has a yoga studio, not a gym type arrangement.
We would happily return. Marty, the owner and worker bee, is gracious and obviously proud of his creation. He should be

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alohakailua11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    31
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
46
42
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, ca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2010

I have done retreats for 20 persons for 8 years in a row in Hawaii. Beginning in 2009 we have used The Banyan Tree House. We will continue to use it every year.

It is perfect for group size up to 20 persons. Perfect because of the quality of the facility, perfect in its location, and most importanlty, perfect in the human quality and service provided by Marty (the owner) and his staff. I highly recommend The Banyan Tree House.

Swami Khecaranatha

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khecara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2010

My sister and I spent 6 days at the Banyan Tree and it was everything we hoped for: it was restful, beautiful, clean, perfectly situated in Makawao, and welcoming. Marty was the perfect host. My sister stayed in Maui a few days longer than I did and there was no room at the Banyan Tree for her for the remaining days, so we left her luggage until we had a chance to move her to the new place. When we went back in the evening to retrieve it, we felt like we were going HOME. We were so happy just to drive up the driveway again. I recommend this place with great enthusiasm.

Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank WriterSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2010

We loved staying there - it was spacious and charming and the staff were warm and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pixmaWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, BC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2009

Marty Herling was very good with information about the region and my wife liked the daily fresh bananas. Definitely worth a return visit, but e-mail information was confusing as we didn't know who we were getting a response from as there is more than one Banyan in Maui. Have fun when you visit! M & G

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseTreeStallion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2009

Staying at Banyan Tree House was perfect for us. We visited Maui for our son's wedding and the wedding festivities were all nearby, so the location was ideal. Several family members and friends also stayed here and we all enjoyed the natural simplicity of our surroundings. The cottages are clean and pleasant. The best part of our stay was that this was a non-fussy, and welcoming place. We loved the sounds of birds each morning, the beautiful natural plantings and flowers, and the arrival of our continental breakfasts at our door each morning, complete with luscious local fruit. Up the road in Makawao Town you'll find several nice shops with friendly shop keepers, offering beautiful clothes, kitschy western gear, and the General Store - a great place to get sandwiches to go, groceries for the cottage, and a fantastic wine selection! Pa'ia is less than 10 minutes down the road with it's shops, Mana Grocery (the best organic/whole food grocery on the island), and the great restaurants (Pa'ia Fishmarket and Faltbread Pizza). The staff (Martty and Mouna) are gracious and accomodating. If you want to experience the beauty and slower pace of Maui, this is a great find!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RevKevandDollHol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2009

I also stayed at Banyan Tree House for a writing workshop. It was the perfect setting for reading and writing. Tranquil, sparely and tastefully furnished island plantation style. Managers Marty and Mouna are accommodating. Rooms, while not resort-fancy, are airy, homey and have everything you need. With Makawao just up the hill, it's easy to stock up on gourmet groceries and eat well at Market Fresh Bistro. The kitchen in the plantation house is huge and phenomenal. Loved grilling fresh opakapaka on the barbecue too. The pool was the perfect refresher when I needed a break from writing. As a kama'aina, I'd much rather stay here than a big, glitzy resort.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HIwrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makawao
22.6 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
10.1 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lumeria Maui Retreat
Lumeria Maui Retreat
#1 of 2 in Makawao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Kuau Inn
Kuau Inn
#1 of 3 in Paia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
1.1 mi away
Peace Of Maui
Peace Of Maui
#2 of 2 in Makawao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
12.2 mi away
Old Wailuku Inn at Ulupono
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Bed and Breakfast Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Bed and Breakfast Retreat

Property: Banyan Bed and Breakfast Retreat
Address: 3265 Baldwin Ave, Makawao, Maui, HI 96768-9629
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Makawao
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Makawao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banyan Tree House, a Maui bed and breakfast with 3 cottages and 4 suites in a wonderful, old plantation house. A quiet retreat in a central island location that is close, yet wonderfully removed from Maui's hotel / resort beachfront crowds. Simply overflowing with Aloha and Hawaii-ana. Giant tropical trees create a peaceful, shady 2.11 Acre oasis a midst giant tropical trees, flowers and sunny open lawns with a 50' swimming pool and Jacuzzi and fully equipped Yoga Studiio There is an additional total $400 cleaning charge when renting the entire property ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Banyan Bed and Breakfast Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Banyan Tree House Hotel Makawao
Banyan Bed And Breakfast Retreat Maui/Makawao, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing