We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Banyan Bed and Breakfast Retreat
Nearby Hotels
US$440
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$296
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$200
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$209
US$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$548
AscendHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$506
US$490
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Inn by Marriott Maui Wailea(Wailea)(Great Value!)
US$406
US$365
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Andaz Maui At Wailea Resort(Wailea)
US$721
US$674
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (156)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveller rating
116
32
6
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
116
32
6
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyoga studiob bmakawao townhot tubplantation stylesaltwater poolwonderful daysevery morningbeautiful landscapingour night staylocation was perfectpineapplea wonderful stayroad to hanaliving roommartyupcountry
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
149 - 154 of 156 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2007

We stayed at the Banyan Tree House this month. It's a charming place when you arrive at night but by the light of day, it's not exactly what you read online.

The pool not even usable, louge chairs in disrepair, blankets looked and smelled a dozen years old, if not more. The cottages are really all one building backing to another cottage, so don't be fooled there isn't much privacy. The grounds are in need of much TLC.

There is currently no breakfast and I've been told it's not there busy season.

Expect bugs, spiders and critters. I got all bit up and was glad to get to one of the hotels that actually used pesticides.

Wish I could rate this place higher, if they ever get it together it could be a wonderful place.

Stayed: February 2007
7  Thank oinkflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anamasan, Public Relations Manager at Banyan Bed and Breakfast Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2010

Thanks for your review.

We apologize that your experience here was not up to your expectations. We strive diligently to insure that all of our guests are well cared for and well pleased by their stay here. Since you have written this review we have remolded or improved all of our accommodations. New sheets, towels and blankets are just the beginning.

One truth about vacationing on Maui is that there is no real off season. As we continually strive to keep our bed and breakfast as wonderful as we can make it, it is possible to find us doing some work during your stay. We always do our best to cause as little disturbance as possible at these times and we apologize sincerely if it ever causes anyone any inconvenience.

Currently we keep the pool beautiful and enjoyable all year round. Breakfast is always available every day of the year unless it is specifically excluded in your rental agreement. And of course the park-like property is fabulous.

Again thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2006

Our flight left late in the evening the day after we had to vacate our condo in Kehei. We wanted an inexpensive place because we were going to have to pay for 2 nights in order to stay late the day we were leaving. "The Banyan Tree" was the perfect place. The cost for two nights was the same or less than it would have been for 1 night in most beach hotels in Maui. The real treat was that it was so pleasant and it was a great change from South Maui. We toured the Hana highway the first day and it was very convenient to return to Makawao for the evening. The day of our flight it rained, but it didn't stop us from touring the upcountry, Olinda and Kula, before returning to "The Banyan Tree" for an afternoon nap before our flight. We had a cute cottage which was nicely decorated with nice fixtures and tiles, and new curtains. There was plenty of room for the three in our family. It was nice to hear the sound of rain on the palms and banana trees after a week in an air conditioned enclosed condo. The only negative was the mosquitos. They came in quickly. Despite that, "The Banyan Tree" was a beautiful place to end our vacation.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank TravelHomemaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2004

We stayed only 1 night in one of the cottages before heading out the next morning for our bicycle ride down the volcano, but we WISHED we'd stayed our whole vacation there! It is amazingly beautiful and peaceful. Our cottage was large enough for our family of 5, and since there was no TV, we had a great game of cards! Definitely a great way to enjoy the family :) The manager/artist was very helpful and friendly - especially to my daughter who was delighted by her studio in the back.

The grounds are large and lovely, without being too manicured - it definitely had the feel of a visit to a beloved grandma's house. The pool and spa were clean and have a lovely view of the city and such, since Makawao is part way up the side of Haelakala.

I HIGHLY recommend the Banyan Tree House to anyone seeking a relaxing stay on Maui.



  • Stayed: March 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank travelingWise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2004

My husband, myself, and my 3 year old spent 2 glorious days in cottage D of the Banyan Tree House following 5 nights in Kaanapali. Our vacation did not start until we arrived in Makawao. This property is true Maui, gardens, fruit trees, geckos. The "rustic" cottages were clean and modern but still allowed for a true upcountry atmosphere. Every night we were lulled to sleep by Mr. Gecko; Every morning we were awakened by singing birds. The pool and hot tub are sparkling clean. The grounds are private and peaceful. This is definitely a place to visit for those who want to get away from the resort craziness. We'll be back very soon.

  • Stayed: May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank cbricknell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2004

I surprised my husband with this tree house for the first leg of our anniversay Hawaii trip. We spent two wonderful days in this tree house.
What a wonderful way to spend your time. This was a beautiful place.
The hot tub was great after spending the days site seeing. The company was great in the eveing. I would recommend this if you are wanting to get away to someplace special.

4  Thank SLE53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews