We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The delightful antithesis to resort Hawai'i”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Makawao
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hale Ho'okipa Inn Makawao
Ranked #2 of 2 Makawao B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The delightful antithesis to resort Hawai'i”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

One way to see Maui is to stay at a beach resort, where they present a carefully crafted vision of a Pacific Island, and you never have to walk more than a couple of minutes to buy a $20 drink and a $70 meal. Then there's upcountry Maui - the land of ranches, plantations, and locals (when I told the guy at the resort Enterprise that I was staying in Makawao - he said "That's where I live. There are hotels there?". Hale Ho'okipa is a classic bed and breakfast, you get lovely rooms with decidedly early 20th century feel, fresh fruit, and a place to cook your own breakfast from the fresh duck and chicken eggs that come from the on-property duck and chicken.

There was a token window air conditioner, but we never needed it - Makawao is far enough up the mountain that its 10 degrees cooler than the beach during the day, and at night I was grateful for the warm quilts on the bed. There were snorkels and fins to borrow, and the hostess gave us great advice about where to drive for good snorkling and the less crowded but just as beautiful beaches. There are also plenty of great books about local culture and history, as well as the ever-present brochures for helicopter ride, parasailing, and snorkeling boats.

There a grocery store a few blocks in one direction, and downtown Makawao's restaurants, general store, and art gallery a few blocks in the other (some might find it a bit far to walk).

The next time I come to Maui I would definitely come back to the Hale Ho'okpia.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    26
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
26
83
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, CT
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Our 2 daughters stayed with us at Hale Ho'okipa for 2 nights earlier this month. Short drive from the airport, which was a blessing after a long day of travel. Always wanted to see Makawao. We happened to arrive as Cherie's family and friends were converging from all over the globe for her 60th birthday weekend celebration. Wonderful people, warm and interesting, made us feel very welcome. Breakfast, with lots of fresh fruit, healthy breads, spreads galore, yogurt, cereal, and delicious coffee was great. We stayed in one wing of the house, with 2 bedrooms and a large bath, off the kitchen. Teenaged daughter was upset that there was no hair conditioner, so be forewarned. Beautiful gardens, friendly pets, amazing pansy-faced orchids in the house thanks to Lane. The inn is decorated with lots of vintage Hawaiiana, and full of fascinating books. This was such a great way to start a visit to Maui, feeling so comfortable and welcomed. Mahalo Cherie and Lane!

Green Features: big pitcher of filtered water in the bathroom, rather than bottled.
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauriemiok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at Hale Ho'okipa for a couple nights in February 2014 for the first time, and loved it. Really a great, historic, and charming place, with our host Cherie and her side-kick Lane providing a delicious continental breakfast (remarkably good fruit). Other guests included a couple of astronomers in town to work on some equipment at the Haleakala observatory--*that* was an interesting breakfast. Great location just outside "downtown" Makawao up a quiet residential street. We were in the Hibiscus room, cozy and comfortable (with a small bath en suite). Would definitely return--malama pono a hui hou, Cherie and Lane.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisanthemama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We booked a very last minute trip and Cherie was able to accomodate us in the Hibiscus room. A small, cozy and private room with bathroom/shower. Lots of antiques and artwork from the island. The breakfast was a fantastic array of many types of fruits, with lots of different breads and cereals...even had eggs from her ducks available for eating if we wanted. Easy to find, great location, nice change from the beach atmosphere, a 10 minute walk to the main street of Makawao. Cherie is a lovely host with an abundance of history of the islands in general. We really enjoyed the other guests that were there as well. I will stay there again and would highly recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: We only had the one room to choose from. I believe it was the smallest, but it was more than big en...
See more room tips
Green Features: Very good. Cherie recycles most items and composts her vegetable and fruit items - with some going to feed the chickens.
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karedian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed in some beautiful B&Bs on Maui, but this was our favourite. This historic house is full of character. The rooms are quite big and entirely unique. Cherie and Lane were very warm, welcoming and informative. The breakfast, especially the fruit, was excellent. We also liked Makawao as a quiet, but fairly central location.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FurtherAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Price – average $168 total per night.
Cleanliness - very good.
Quietness - excellent.
Comfort - excellent.
Location - excellent; Maui is small enough to drive around fairly easily.
Parking – free and handy.
Friendliness - excellent.
Breakfast - great fun.
Classiness – very good.
Room Size – plenty.
Room included - little tv; ensuite.
Facilities included – lovely lounge and reading materials.
Nice touch – eating breakfast a bit before 8am.
What’s needed – Hawaii is great but could rethink it's B&B laws.
Made to feel at home.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dfkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We recently stayed 4 nights at Cherie's place and really enjoyed this. We have been in 2 condo's and a rainforest hideaway in Hawaii and so the Inn was a different experience for us and well worth it. We were a family of 4 and had the Kona suite - two rooms and bathroom, with a private corridor, off the kitchen. This worked well for us and we made good use of the kitchen too for evening meals. Breakfasts were delicious - plenty of variety and choice, delicious fruit and we had fresh cooked eggs every morning (cooked by us as Cherie doesnt have a license to serve hot food - no big deal). A real advantage in staying here was all the local tips we got - you dont get this from a condo, and Cherie was able to recommend things to us for later in our vacation (In Kihei).
This is a good location to do things in central Maui - cuts down driving time to Hana and Haleakala. Completely recommend this as long as you aren't expecting five star (boring) surroundings and enjoy something a little more interesting/quirky as part of your holiday experience.
BTW way, we let Cherie know in advance that two of us eat a gluten free diet and she was great - got in several choices of bread for us and sent us off in the direction of the BEST GF shop in the world - Mana Foods in Pa'ia. Thanks Cherie

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KM G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upcountry, Owner at Hale Ho'okipa Inn Makawao, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Mahalo for your review...It was wonderful to meet you all, and I am so happy that you enjoyed your "different" experience....Love Quirky !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makawao
22.3 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
9.0 mi away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
10.3 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,126 reviews
6.3 mi away
Kuau Inn
Kuau Inn
#1 of 3 in Paia
145 reviews
1.0 mi away
Banyan Bed and Breakfast Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Ho'okipa Inn Makawao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Ho'okipa Inn Makawao

Property: Hale Ho'okipa Inn Makawao
Address: 32 Pakani Pl, Makawao, Maui, HI 96768-9073
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Makawao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Makawao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hale Ho'okipa Inn Makawao 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hospitality in Upcountry Maui is Hale Ho'okipa Inn Makawao. The Inn is located on the slopes of Haleakala 50 minutes to the top of the summit of Haleakala crater , 10 minutes to the North Shore beaches and Paia town. The quaint Paniolo and artsy Makawao town with restaurants and shops is a 10 minute walk from the B&B. Bountiful, delicious breakfast is served daily, with the large country kitchen available for light meals. We have warm jackets for the mountain, and coolers for guests convenience. Sip tea or a glass of wine, relaxing in the parlor or on the lanai with books from our well appointed library. Rich is local history and art, Hale Ho'okipa is a comfortable home away from home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hale Ho`Okipa Inn Makawao Hotel Makawao
Hale Ho'Okipa Inn Makawao Maui, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing