We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay at Hale Ho'omana in the Maui upcountry and experience a true sense of aloha.”
Review of Hale Ho'omana

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Makawao
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hale Ho'omana
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Makawao
Kailua, Hawaii
1 review
“Stay at Hale Ho'omana in the Maui upcountry and experience a true sense of aloha.”
Reviewed 13 March 2011

I highly recommend staying at Hale Ho'omana, a choice location to to call home while you see all the beauty of Maui. It's a perfect place for solo travelers, a family trip, or a special adventure with friends. Enjoying a lomilomi massage in the spa is an absolute must-a blissful treat for your mind, body and soul! You will love the peace and serenity of the upcounty and, most of all, the experience of true aloha lovingly shared by the Hale Ho'omnana ohana and the surrounding community. This is, by far, my favorite place to stay on Maui!

Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank SLAlden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    5
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
15
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Willits, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2011

We stayed here with my family renting out the whole place even the overflow house. We had a wonderful stay. Nice to have a big kitchen to cook in and all eat together. It worked out perfectly. We loved the cooler temp and Makawao atmosphere. All in all it was perfect and I'll never forget it!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hilaryshenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

If you are looking for a relaxing getaway, look no further. Beautiful well kept grounds, friendly and knowledgeable staff, and fantastic relaxing massages. I have had massages at many other places and what they offer here is so special and unique that it will soon become your favorite place!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CS1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2011

We loved staying at Hale Ho'omana.The rooms were affordable and charming with many
lovely touches.Our hosts Jeana and Justin were helpful and gracious at all times.We felt free
to be ourselves.When we came back at night we enjoyed the privacy comfort and spirit
of Hale Ho'omana.We would highly recommend Hale Ho'omana

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelover60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2011

Hale Ho'omana is a beautiful spot away from the overcrowded, touristy areas but not far from interesting little shops and good, casual places to eat. Our unit, Haleakala doesn't look like anything special from the outside but the interior is very nicely updated and furnished in a contemporary style with a touch of Hawaii. The kitchen is stocked with all new items and was exceptionally clean. I didn't get the feeling that I needed to wash anything before using them. I was booking at the last minute and seemed to catch them at a busy time. There was a minor glitch with the phone reservation but after that, the staff were all kind, helpful and welcoming. The property is beautiful and the perfect location for a massage treatment.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzanneQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2010

We cannot say enough amazing things about Hale Hoomana! It is a bit rustic, but in a charming way and you can't beat the price. My kids absolutely LOVED this place...Jeana and Justin told us to make ourselves at home and even gave us a quick tour of the property, taking the time to show the kids where the best fruit was to pick, names of plants, and local stories too. They were so friendly and helpful to recommend good beaches for the kids or kid-friendly restaurants. They know everyone in town, so when we wanted to go paddle-boarding, they hooked us up with somebody for lessons. When we wanted to hear live music, they had a friend playing at one of the restaurant clubs so everywhere we went, we could mention that Jeana sent us and all of a sudden we it was like we were old friends getting special treatment. Each morning, the kids would wake up and run around outside to gather fruit for our breakfast - guavas, bananas, loquats - fascinating. Several mornings, there was yoga offered in a large studio which was so refreshing and fun. I also had the opportunity to get a massage in the spa that was AMAZING!!! It was very peaceful, laid-back and welcoming. If you want to take a step off the beaten path and get the local treatment, this is the place for you. Thanks for a great trip...we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelMomma92130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2010

If your sure about wanting to stay in upcountry out of the way of just about everything, and your sure you want to stay at Hale Ho'omana don't stay in the bamboo cottage. I booked this after calling and asking for another room which was booked, I was told that the bamboo was like it at the same price. She told me the bamboo had just been remolded and was super nice and would work for our small family of 2 adults and a toddler. The other room I looked at was the same price and pretty large with tv, big kitchen area and plenty of room so I was thinking it would be the same. The pictures for the bamboo were not up on the website yet but I was told it had a full kitchenette with microwave. After we booked I asked if they had a crib to use, they did but it was a $15 charge. When we got there we were surprised to find a tiny, shabby "cottage" which was actually an old work shop or small converted garage attached to the owners house. First the bathroom does not have a sink or any counter space. So you have to use the sink in the "kitchen" to brush your teeth. The shower floor was stained and grimy and there were several holes in the walls. The towels were mismatched and had large stains.
The room is so small that there was good 5 inches between the bed and the small crib they charged us to use. The crib was actually a bassinet and when I placed my toddler into it she could easily step out and she was level with the cords from the window blinds.. not safe at all, so we did not use it and got a refund. The kitchette was not really usable either, we only attempted one meal here. No microwave, just a two burner hotplate and a small toaster oven. Cooking utensils were lacking, no measuring cups for liquids and no counter space to put anything or chop anything. The counters were not finished and a grass skirt was hiding some of the raw 2x4's that were holding up the sink. There is no fan in the kitchen or bathroom so it steamed up the whole place when I tried to cook. There is no closet to put anything, no room for a suitcase. No tv since there is no place to put it. If you decide to stay here I would suggest renting out the main house to use, which is very nice. The other "cottages" on the property looked a lot better than the bamboo, and since it was the same price we felt ripped off. But if the service had been good many of the inconveniences could have been over looked. The owners as not really friendly it feels like they are too busy to chat with you or give you any recommendations besides trying to sell you on there own "services" like the massages she gives or the tours they will take you on for a price. Not once were we asked if we had everything we needed or if they could help. They also charged us a $50 cleaning fee. There was a check list of instructions of what was supposed to be done before check out. We had to take out our own trash separate the recycling, clean the bathroom, wipe down all the counters with cleaners (good thing there weren't any) clean and wipe out the mini fridge. So we did all of this and spent a good deal of time getting the place back good as it was. So after all this I was thinking we would get a refund on the cleaning fee since there was nothing left for them to clean. But no, you have to clean it yourself and pay them to clean it.
The location is out of the way to say the least. Getting to Makewao isn't bad but the drive to Hale Ho'omana is up a windy road that takes awhile.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank artbyshannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makawao
20.0 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
12.6 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,104 reviews
11.3 mi away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Maui Beach Hotel
Maui Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kahului
3.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
12.6 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
5.5 mi away
Lumeria Maui Retreat
Lumeria Maui Retreat
#1 of 2 in Makawao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Ho'omana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Ho'omana

Property: Hale Ho'omana
Address: 1550 Piiholo Rd, Makawao, Maui, HI 96768-7246
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Makawao
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Makawao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hale Ho'omana spa retreat and guesthouse is an intimate and exclusive get-away located on the slopes of Maui's pristine Mt Haleakala and tucked amidst serene eucalyptus forest. Owned and operated by a native Hawaiian family we provide a unique vacation retreat where you can enjoy the pleasures of a Maui escape while indulging in some healthful rejuvenation. You may visit our lovely spa specializing in Hawaiian healing treatments, partake of our daily yoga classes or book an island adventure tour with our resident Eco tour guide. Our facility is equipped with accommodations for personal, family, or group retreats for up to 15 guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hale Ho'Omana Maui/Makawao, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing