We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lumeria Maui Retreat
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Makawao
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not worth it.”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I'm not someone to write bad reviews so I will start with the positives. Our room was well decorated and clean with nice aveda products. The dinner we attended was excellent. We simply found this hotel was not what we thought it would be for the last night of our honeymoon. It is a bit of a splurge and felt it was certainly not worth. We had stayed elsewhere on Maui for the week and had a much better experience.

First of all, we were told check-in time was noon however we had to wait an extra 3.5 hours for it to be ready. Not the end of the world but annoying to be waiting for our room on the last day of our vacation when we could have been doing other things.

We got a "garden view" suite which actually faced the parking lot. People come and go for various classes so it was quite noisy with very little privacy. Overall there were very minimal ocean/mountain views from anywhere on the property.

Our room did not have AC. Again, not the end of the world but they should have mentioned this on their website. I understand they're an "Eco" resort and would like to save energy but this should be mentioned.

Another annoying thing was that the wifi reception was so poor we couldn't get it in our room and so had to head to the dining hall each time we wanted to access the internet.

Lastly, the complimentary breakfast was not up to our standards in the least which is surprising considering how great the dinner was.

In closing, I'm sure others have had a great experience at this resort but we found several annoying issues that added up over the course of our stay. Unfortunately it really wasn't how we wanted to spend the last day/night of our honeymoon when we paid the extra money to be somewhere special. Next time, we'll be sure to stat elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EyeSpyaSly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumeriaMaui808, Owner at Lumeria Maui Retreat, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear EyeSpyaSly,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Lumeria Maui. I'm so sorry to hear that your stay here did not meet your expectations. We like to treat honeymooners to a special experience, and I'm so disappointed that your experience here was not special. Check-in time is 3 pm, which is written on our website and on all confirmation receipts that guests receive. The fact that you were told that check-in is noon is unacceptable and I hope you can accept my apology. We also do communicate that we do not use air conditioners (on our website), but we will review our reservations page to make sure that the information is made more obvious on that page.
I'm also sorry to hear that the wifi reception was poor. We have upgraded our property so that all 5 "wings" have high speed wireless. i wish that you had brought the issue of a poor signal to our attention so that we could have reset the router.
We're glad that you enjoyed dinner here.
I understand if you'd rather stay elsewhere on your next trip to Hawaii, but I would like to offer you a resort gift credit for the hassle with your check-in procedure. If you would email kristen@lumeriamaui.com we would be happy to issue you a partial credit towards a future stay at Lumeria.
We hope to hear from you, and we do hope that you give us another chance!

Mahalo Nui Loa,

Xorin Balbes
Owner
Lumeria Maui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    82
    46
    22
    13
See reviews for
62
235
107
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Average Town, USA
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

This property is beautiful. It is the exact kind of location my wife and I enjoy; quiet, T.V. free, great views, and clean. Lumeria is exactly what it advertises, there were no surprises. The breakfast was great. My wife and I definitely plan to return. There were only two improvements we would make to the property. We would love to see a walking/jogging path put around the grounds, and would love to see robes added to the rooms. Other than that a great place.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumeriaMaui808, Front Office Manager at Lumeria Maui Retreat, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Travel O,

Thank you so much for your review of Lumeria Maui! We're so happy to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you here again!

We would love to have a walking path around the property too! We just installed a meditation labyrinth and we're on the verge of putting in a 50 tree citrus orchard. After that, a walking path is next in line!
We're also just about to roll out our new bathrobes for guest use!

We're always looking for ways to make the guest experience more enjoyable. We hope you stay with us again to experience our newest developments and improvements!

Mahalo Nui Loa,

Tina Klapperich
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mullumbimby, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

A very beautiful place. The buildings are plantation style with exquisite decor and Asian artefacts. In the lobby/lounge there are huge couches ladden with cushions and the open fire is on every night , which is pleasing in the cooler air above the usual beachside accommodations. Lots of fresh fruit for breakfast and lomi lomi massages available. I recommend Jenny for her authentic healing nature. I stayed for 12 nights and felt I was saying goodbye to family when I left.
I will return if I come back to Maui.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avalyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumeriaMaui808, Public Relations Manager at Lumeria Maui Retreat, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about us! We are so happy that you had such a great stay and that you enjoyed our accommodations. We hope to see you again soon! - The Lumeria Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We have visited Lumeria twice in the last 6 months and both times we never wanted to leave. In my experience, Lumeria is unique to Maui and perhaps all of Hawaii. It is extremely quiet and beautiful. The staff makes you feel as if you own the place with access to all of the resort at all times. This includes an amazing sitting room area with gorgeous art and comfy furniture. On our last night we had a friend over and sat chatting there for hours. They also light outdoor fire pits at night so you can sit out under the stars and in our case, the full moon.
I loved the morning yoga classes with Skeeter and my husband even joined in a Qi Gong class which is completely out of character for him. I cannot emphasize enough how helpful the staff was. I love Mario, one of the groundskeepers, showing us the chameleons! Indica cooked delicious lunches for our group, always responsive to our requests.
My husband wanted me to mention 2 negatives- walls between rooms are thin and not well sound proofed and there is no room service or bar. That being said, I still would give it a 5! We will be back next year.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeidiS10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumeriaMaui808, Public Relations Manager at Lumeria Maui Retreat, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear HeidiS10,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. We are so happy to hear that you had such a positive experience with us and that you were able to utilize our lobby sanctuary and our fire pits. Both spaces were made in the hopes of providing an engaging space for our guests. It sounds like you were able to get the full Lumeria Experience!

Additionally, thank you for providing your constructive feedback to us as well. As a new business, we are always looking for ways to improve our facility and create a better experience for our guests. We are happy to announce that we are in the process of expanding our dining services and hope that you can come stay with us again to utilize our new bar!

Mahalo and Aloha, - The Lumeria Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojai, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I recently stayed at Lumeria for 2 and half weeks. It was such a lovely and relaxing stay. The pool is incredibly relaxing, quiet, and has an amazing view of Maui's west mountains. The yoga classes are amazing and really help the body rejuvenate. I did had a facial treatment in the massage/spa area and it was amazing. To say the least Lumeria is an incredible place to get away and help the mind and body get back to equilibrium. Also, the staff are hardworking and love to serve the guests. If I needed anything, a staff would be more than happy to get what it is I needed. All in all, Lumeria is a great place for those whose want a real escape into paradise.

Room Tip: Every room is a great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveler297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumeriaMaui808, Public Relations Manager at Lumeria Maui Retreat, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. We are ecstatic that you had such a positive experience with us. We love to hear that our guests were able to heal your mind and body during their stay. We hope to see you again soon. Mahalo, - The Lumeria Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

beautiful location, rooms are exquisite, services are great! there is always a manager available for your assistance. the pool is a gorgeous salt water pool overlooking maui. truly a magical place!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anon11232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumeriaMaui808, Front Office Manager at Lumeria Maui Retreat, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you so much for reviewing your stay at Lumeria Maui! We're glad you had such a good time with us, and we hope to see you here again!

Mahalo,

- The Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheboygan, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Lumeria is a beautiful property. It is located in up country on Maui. We went there because a friend from Michigan was working there. She was an excellent hostess. The retreat is trying to be a high end destination but it does't make the mark. Some of the issues were bug bites. My husband and another in our party had lots of bites. The windows are not tightly sealed and the mosquitoes were everywhere. There were kids that ran up and down the decks at 6:00 a.m. The rooster starting at 4:30-5:00 a.m. There is no meals except breakfast. You need to order dinner 24 hours ahead of time. Can't just stop and get a sandwich or snack. I think this is a real issue. The food was okay but not great. No stand for the suitcases in our room. We had to put them on the floor. The spa was good but no bathrobes in rooms. Pool and hot tub are small. We didn't have any towels in our room for the pool. There is no A/C. I think this property has a lot of potential but it needs to put the customer first and meet their needs better.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mary Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumeriaMaui808, Front Office Manager at Lumeria Maui Retreat, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Mary Anne,

Thank you for your review - as a new business, we are always looking for ways to improve our guest services, and we appreciate all feedback! First of all, we're sorry that you had a hard time with mosquitoes while you were here. Our location on Maui's north shore provides a beautiful, natural and authentic Hawaii experience; however, we do have to deal with the critters that share our living environment. We regularly apply non-chemical, organic bug repellents and rarely hear complaints of mosquitoes. We apologize for your trouble with mosquitoes, and we have increased our application of repellent and will continue to monitor this very closely. Secondly, we apologize that you were bothered by a stray rooster. We periodically remove stray roosters and chickens from nearby fields, and will continue to do so.
We do provide to-go lunches at this time, and we now accept same day dinner reservations. We will be expanding our dining services in the next few months to include many more "grab-and-go" options!
We hope that you'll give us another chance after we've implemented changes at Lumeria Maui. As a new business, we are still growing, and we appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback that will help us improve the guest experience.

Mahalo Nui Loa,

- Lumeria Maui Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makawao
24.9 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
15.9 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
22.1 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,124 reviews
14.8 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
15.6 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 8 in Wailea
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lumeria Maui Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumeria Maui Retreat

Property: Lumeria Maui Retreat
Address: 1813 Baldwin Ave, Makawao, Maui, HI 96768-7710
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Makawao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Makawao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lumeria Maui Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lumeria Maui, an educational retreat experience that will feed your body, mind and soul while connecting you with the authentic rhythm of Maui island. We offer a nourishing living campus of relaxing beauty for individuals and groups with daily classes and programs in yoga, meditation, healing arts, water sports and much more. Accommodations are included with all classes and programs. Relax, rejuvenate and connect with your unique self as you open your mind and feed your body and spirit. Immerse yourself in one of our signature programs - yoga and or detox/cleanse - inspiring a life in balance. Located on Maui's north shore, our restored historic buildings-with island and ocean vistas-have been designed to envelop you in an intimate, authentic environment. We encourage you to wander through our beautiful organic gardens, which supply our farm-to-table dining and our signature Lumeria Detox-Cleanse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lumeria Maui Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lumeria Maui Retreat Makawao, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing