We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aloha Cottage
Nearby Hotels
US$496
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$296
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$193
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$323
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$283
AscendHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$386
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$349
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$537
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$641
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$594
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
78
5
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
78
5
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate retreatwinding countryupcountryprivacymauihaleakalagroundspropertiesrentallahaina
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 87 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2009

Unlike the majority of the other reviewers, I stayed at the Thai Treehouse on my own while taking some personal space from home. This was a fabulous place to find some peace, solitude and relaxation from the day-to-day, and I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet and unique experience on Maui.

Ranjana is a fabulous hostess - she is welcoming but inobtrusive, and has worthwhile suggestions for everything from hikes to restaurants. I didn't go wrong on her advice!

The bungalow is self contained and very quiet - it overlooks the forest above Makawao. On the deck there is a large soaker tub...what a pleasure to have a glass of wine and a hot bath!

It's a bit of a drive up the hill from Makawao, but very nice to be away from it all. There are great organic food stores nearby (Hana Foods!) to stock up on groceries, but the upcountry is also full of fantastic restaurants. Haliimale General Store and the Paia Fish Market are not to be missed. There are also great coffee / brunch places up the road near Kula and back towards Haiku.

One thing...it does get a bit chilly in the morning and evening (you are not on the beach!), so bring pants and a sweater to stay warm.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rl_vancity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2008

When we arrived at the Thai Tree House we found it immaculately clean. Ron and Ranjana were very helpful with ideas of what to do on Maui. The cottage is extremely private and romantic, there is a 1/4 mile driveway going there. Soaking under the stars in the outside jacuzzi tub was the highlight every evening. The cottage is so posh, it is sheer heaven, with a marble bathroom, granite countertopws and a headboard with mirror. This is the best location ever on Maui, close to everything and yet completely private. We loved it and wished we could stay longer. The cottage was even more beautiful as the pictures of it on the web site.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AlohaDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2008

This is one of the most magical places we've ever been to!

Surrounded by lush and tropical forest, far up on the mountain these cottages make out the perfect place for a completely private and romantic get away. We got engaged while staying at the Bali house and it trully provided the perfect setting. For us it was very precious. This is not about over the top luxury ("resort style"), but rather about atmosphere, privacy, nature, spirit and heart. And that's our cup of tea....

The couple who ownes the place are fantastic and trully helped us making our trip to Hawaii so much better than we could have ever imagined. Their hospitality, beutiful spirit and energy still remains with us all the way back home in Sweden.

If you are open and willing to experience the real and uniqe Maui away from the touristy coastal strips...this is it! Try it . You won't regret it.

Much love,

Cathrine and Johannes.

Stayed: August 2008
Thank CatSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2008

Wow!! If you love privacy, this is the place. My husband & I could not have been more pleased in the Bali Bungalow. After spending 3 nights on "the "other" side of the island, it was so refreshing to get away to the cool air of the upcountry. Hosts have great recommendations on what to do, etc. Our favorite "activity" was soaking in the outdoor tub, esp. in the cool mornings! Watching the stars over the bed through the skylight window was a thrill.
Although our hostess, Petra, checked in via phone, she was never intrusive. We felt as though if we needed anything at all, she was more than willing to accommodate us, but certainly NEVER intrusive. If you want a hotel experience w/ daily maid service, look elsewhere. If you want beauty, ultra-privacy, peace, quiet- a true getaway- this is IT!
"Downtown" Makawao is a short drive away- they have a great general store.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seaweedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2008

It was beautiful and every detail was amazing. It was cooler up where the cottage is so my husband was very happy it wasnt hot and stuffy. If you want to be secluded and not around tourists and the hussle and bustle this is the place for you!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camillem23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews