We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic cottage in the rainforest”
Review of Aloha Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Makawao
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aloha Cottage
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Romantic cottage in the rainforest”
Reviewed 30 November 2009

Stunning retreat in upland Maui. Absolutely great retreat but I can imagine it won't be for everyone. On the plus side it is a fantastic cottage, very romantic tucked away in the rainforest, in the middle of nowhere it is perfect for a couple of romantic days away from everything. The hot tub outside with the rainforest all around is something special. We spent our first few nights here on our honeymoon and I can't imagine anywhere better after a long flight. The personal touches around the place made it feel very special.

However it is a car ride down to the beach as well as a car ride to go out for food.

Overall I would highly recommend staying here.

Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank YoungLondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    5
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
49
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Metro area, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2009

This place was beyond our dreams. We went for our honeymoon, and it was magical. From the moment we walked in, we felt welcome and felt like it was our second home. The owners had incense burning and a very light, melodic tune playing when we entered our beautiful haven. There were beach blankets, lanterns, and many other amenities available for the guests. The owners have also traveled a lot and had a nice collection of items from Bali and India for sale. I got myself some gifts including beautiful scarves, jewelry and many cute things.
When we arrived, the owners wanted to meet us and we spoke briefly to them. They were so nice to us and made us feel so welcome. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. Oh yeah, the town is also really cute and has great food. If you decide to go to Maui, don't go to the resorts, go here!! You definitely won't regret it.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ohgeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2009

We stayed here for our honeymoon. We stayed 3 nights here and had a very romantic time. This is a great place for romance and complete privacy. The cottage is very well built and posh and spotlessly clean!!! The tub on the deck is great for bubble baths. We didn't see a sole our entire stay except a snail on the deck. It rained most our visit and we were a bit chilly but the bath worked good for quick warm ups. There is plenty of hot water and the tub fills very fast - great. We did alot of cooking and did find that you have to open the cottage doors as there isn't a fan in the kitchen area or by the stove. And, they need better cooking utensils... don't take this as negative...just nit picks. It is a perfect romantic getaway and very cozy. We have also stayed at the Olinda Spa retreat which is across the street. It has an incredible view so probably we will stay there next time again over Aloha but will most likely be back here too. Only because we love the view. The spa services are great too, well worth the cost. Aloha Cottages have more luxury touches. It is a tough choice...luxury finishes and complete privacy or view...??? Either way you will be happy. We like the upcountry area. We go to Maui or Kauai once or twice a year and have decided that we will always come to upcountry for the first couple nights to unwind before we stay at the big resorts for the beaches. We also stayed at Hotel Hana this visit and LOVED it. Upcountry is a ways from the beaches but it has a certain feel to it that makes your troubles just melt away. The drive to the beach town Paia is easy and quick. We like the market in Makawao better than the one in Paia. They are very friendly and prices seem better.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megalittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2009

The Thai cottage is a quiet place on the hills near Makawao. To go to the nearest beach you have to drive 30 min to Paia to Baldwin beach. The cottage is cozy and quiet. The big problem for us was the big window without curtains, so you are force to wake up each morning at the sunrise that was at 5.30 a.m. Not really good for a relaxing honeymoon. There is no breakfast and no maid service. The bed is not really confortable. I recommend this place for people that are looking for tranquillity and peace in a mountain enviroment. Temperature are cold at night and early in morning.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GiulioSerena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2009

My husband and i just returned from a week long stay at the aloha cottage and LOVED it!!!! We stayed in the bali bungalow which was as close to heaven as i could have imagined. The owners did such a wonderful job creating this place. Everything from the amazing landscaping to the perfectly designed cottage. We loved the 2 shower heads and the soaking tub on the baloney. They even leave a booklet on good restaurants, beaches and a amazing activity planner that does not overcharge or make you listen to timeshares. They had everything you could possibly need like mats for the beach, a cooler and a blender. We thought there location was perfect, there were so many things on the entire island that we wanted to see and they were right in the exact middle. Baldwin beach was a 10-15 min drive down the mountain and ended up being are favorite beach on the island. Casanova's had the most amazing pizza and wine and was right down the road too. Also you can't miss cafe mambo close by in Paia for fajitas, b-fast and the BEST drinks on the island. Also kimo's , hula grill and the gazebo were also amazing restaurants that you can not miss.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank afeelion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2009

Well not sure how you dont love this place. I rented the Bali Bungelow for a week, for our honeymoon, after spending 3 nights at the Parc in Waikiki and 3 nights the Marriott resort on Big Island, and this was just what we wanted, and more our style.

I travel extensively for work, NY, LA, Milan, Paris, London, Bangkok, and stay 4-5 star, and prefer Boutique Hotels, and this was exactly what we wanted to wind down and chill out, have privacy and serene nature in all directions. I also frequent Costa Rica and Thailand, Vietnam, for surf, treks, rafting and diving.

The home has every detail perfected, and the bride loved the feel and intimate and great level of taste the owners have. The area is just up the ocast and next to a fun, hip and trendy town Paia, and all sorts of activities, the cafe and cuisine scene is superb.

The best part, its the opposite scene of the resorts and beaches on Maui, though I liked the Wiamea area, UpCountry is the way to go.

The owners also steered us to great other B&B's in Hana and cafes and beaches.

In short, if all my travels are at this level of comfort and luxury, then i will always be happy. The bar is high at Aloha Cottage, and they exceed it.

Rent a Jeep to really take in the constant 77 degrees feel on all islands...and enjoy this slice of paradise.

Tim

Solohobo on Lonely Planet Thorntree for SE Asia and Central America travel forums.

  • Liked — privacy and luxury like home
  • Disliked — a tad cool at night
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank solohobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver BC
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2009

Unlike the majority of the other reviewers, I stayed at the Thai Treehouse on my own while taking some personal space from home. This was a fabulous place to find some peace, solitude and relaxation from the day-to-day, and I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet and unique experience on Maui.

Ranjana is a fabulous hostess - she is welcoming but inobtrusive, and has worthwhile suggestions for everything from hikes to restaurants. I didn't go wrong on her advice!

The bungalow is self contained and very quiet - it overlooks the forest above Makawao. On the deck there is a large soaker tub...what a pleasure to have a glass of wine and a hot bath!

It's a bit of a drive up the hill from Makawao, but very nice to be away from it all. There are great organic food stores nearby (Hana Foods!) to stock up on groceries, but the upcountry is also full of fantastic restaurants. Haliimale General Store and the Paia Fish Market are not to be missed. There are also great coffee / brunch places up the road near Kula and back towards Haiku.

One thing...it does get a bit chilly in the morning and evening (you are not on the beach!), so bring pants and a sweater to stay warm.

  • Liked — Peaceful and quiet
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rl_vancity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makawao
20.0 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
12.1 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,123 reviews
27.4 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Peace Of Maui
Peace Of Maui
#2 of 2 in Makawao
134 reviews
6.0 mi away
Lumeria Maui Retreat
Lumeria Maui Retreat
#1 of 2 in Makawao
506 reviews
9.0 mi away
Kuau Inn
Kuau Inn
#1 of 3 in Paia
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloha Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloha Cottage

Property: Aloha Cottage
Address: 1875 Olinda Rd, Makawao, Maui, HI 96768-7126
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Makawao
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Makawao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer two distinctly different cottage rentals; The Thai Tree House and The Aloha Cottage. Both of these romantic maui vacation cottages, along with the main house, are situated on five pristine acres of a pastoral private upcountry, Maui estate. We strive to provide each of our guests with the finest vacation experience within Upcountry Maui and beyond. The Aloha Cottage is adorned with unique Balinese treasures and The Thai Tree House is uniquely decorated with marvelous items from Thailand. Each cottage was custom-built and designed around these two exotic themes while also maintaining an authentic Hawaiian feel to their settings. There's really nothing else like it on Maui. Privacy abounds with each cottage! The design and placement of these two cottages on the property were carefully planned so that would be ample distance away from each other and also that both cottages remain a good distance away from the main house. In fact each cottage is well over 120 yards away from any dwelling in an effort to provide you with an air of seclusion and independence. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aloha Cottage Hotel Makawao
Aloha Cottage Maui/Makawao, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing