We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as good as it used to be” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Polli's Mexican Restaurant

Polli's Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 25 Restaurants in Makawao
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$20
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

We've been to Polli's in Makawao probably 6 times in that last 15 years. We've always enjoyed the atmosphere and food, but last night the food was just so-so. We hope it was just an off night or our selection, but the food was bland. My beef chimichanga was mostly filled with beans. My wife's dinner (enchiladas) was equally disappointing. The quantity of food was too much. Like us, most diners were taking leftovers home, though I'm not sure why we did. We're not sure we will be back with so many other great places to eat on Maui. Do to Makawao though ... It is still worth the trip for the unique shops you'll find there.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank QBtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    190
    56
    24
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Awesome seafood enchiladas, friendly staff, perfect relaxed spot in Makawao. We stopped here for lunch during our bike ride down Haleakala. Would definitely recommend!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snoqualmie
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun, friendly Happy Hours with good food and drinks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We happened upon Polli's at the end of a long day of traveling upcountry in Maui. As luck would have it, it was Happy Hour! We tried the Happy Hour $4 margaritas (big! good!) and some basic chips and salsa, then stayed for dinner. The food was abundant and tasty, the service knowledgeable. The atmosphere was fun and friendly, as if "Cheers" had been transplanted to the little town of Makawao. How can you not love a place that says: "Come in and eat or we'll both starve." Spent much of this trip to Maui searching for a good value Happy Hour. Polli's came through with those margaritas!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa
Level Contributor
100 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good time in Makawao”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stopped in at Polli's while we were in Makawao. It's a nice comfy place with a local feel. We enjoyed visiting with our server while we waited. My wife wasn't enthused with the margarita though. She'd wanted a frozen one, and it appeared that they built one on the rocks and ran it through a blender, then added some triple sec at the end. I think it changed the taste enough that it didn't taste very margarita like. We drank it though!

For our meal, we split a fajita's for two. Good mildly spiced, and plenty of it. We took a good amount back to our condo and they threw in some of their salsa and chips! The salsa is very good. It's freshly made, and while it's a little different from the salsa we're used to in TexMex country, it was a real treat.

Definitely worth a return visit next time we're in Maui

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BobSnowedn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“margaritaville”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

i had the fish taco plate. lots to eat and well done. very flavourful i was told the margaritas were to die for and they were right.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank cavelleardiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Polli's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Polli's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing