We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Mexican Food in Hawaii”

Polli's Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 25 Restaurants in Makawao
Price range: US$20 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Kaneohe, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Food in Hawaii”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My spouse and i moved to O'ahu from Tucson back in 2000. We love Hawaii, but had found few good Southwest/Mexican restaurants. On a whim, we ate at Polli's while visiting Maui, and we were amazed! The food is really "autentico" - just like the Sonoran food we loved in Tucson! The staff are really friendly, and the paniolo/cowboy ambience of Makawao is a perfect complement. Don't miss this place if you are staying anywhere Makawao!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    199
    57
    26
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Macquarie NSW
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We love Polli's”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Make sure you try and get to Polli's if you are visiting Maui - we love the food & service here. When we decide to go to Maui its like we have to make sure we fit a at least one meal in here as we love it so much ! Food servings are huge we took enough food home to eat the next day. I would love to know what goes into their salsa - its the best salsa I have ever tasted !

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LDPM2444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Mexican Food & Great Margaritas”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

It is hard to find a good Mexican place and this fits the bill. The top shelf margaritas are amazing. Had the pork carnitas plate and the tacos. Everything was seasoned and cooked perfectly. Easily the best meal we have had in a long time. This was our 3rd time there and will be coming back for sure.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robin2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mexican food up country”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Funky locals place with a varied menu. Prices somewhat high unless you order specials. We has orders of 1/2 slab of baby back ribs which were quite good. Monday only for this special ( one of three for Monday) but they have specials every week night.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank donsted_41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be”
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

We've been to Polli's in Makawao probably 6 times in that last 15 years. We've always enjoyed the atmosphere and food, but last night the food was just so-so. We hope it was just an off night or our selection, but the food was bland. My beef chimichanga was mostly filled with beans. My wife's dinner (enchiladas) was equally disappointing. The quantity of food was too much. Like us, most diners were taking leftovers home, though I'm not sure why we did. We're not sure we will be back with so many other great places to eat on Maui. Do to Makawao though ... It is still worth the trip for the unique shops you'll find there.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank QBtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Polli's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing