We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average bar”

Stopwatch Bar & Grill
Ranked #12 of 25 Restaurants in Makawao
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours
Hawai'i
Level 6 Contributor
452 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Average bar”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We ended our night at Third Friday Makawao here. They had a band (Annie & The Orphanz) playing who sang okay covers.

ATMOSPHERE:
It was someone's home that got turned into a bar according to my friend. Simple open-air structure with a nice size bar and outdoor seating on the back porch. There's a small parking lot in front and a big municipal barking in the back.

SERVICE:
There was only 1 server for the entire bar. It took a while for her to come around but after that she was constantly checking on us. Very friendly lady.

OVERALL:
Nice place to hangout and have a few brews. They also offer karaoke on certain nights.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MauiWorldTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    49
    25
    2
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Keizer, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“We had a great lunch at the Grill. Service was excellent.”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Very good lunch time food, and excellent service. We stopped in after a trip up to Haleakala, and enjoyed walking around the town of Makawao visiting the various stores.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank proppup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makawao, Hawaii, United States
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“If it's funky...”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

If you are in the mood for loud, laughter and fun, the Stopwatch Bar and Grill in Makawao is the place to go. A local hangout, the happy hour crowd starts drifting in around 4 pm and by 5 they are laughing, high-fiving and talking story. The food is pretty good with burgers that are a treat, some good fried chicken, great salads and steak cut fries. This is the place to go for watching sports and casual dining. They have more upscale menu items but I think the y excel at great bar food. There is karaoke on some nights and that can be hilarious but once in a while, some really great singing happens there. Live music on weekends and a balcony area if you want to be outside for the lovely view. Moderately priced, it's open 7 days a week. If you are visiting and you want to have some real Maui, this is a good place to find it. The dress, the accents and the attitudes make Stopwatch a local icon that we treasure.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stop at the Stopwatch!”
Reviewed 5 March 2013

From the outside you wouldn't think about stopping here for lunch. We took a chance and stopped in. We were happily surprised, the food was very good.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Nice Makawao Restaurant”
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Makawao is known for cowboys and art galleries. Restaurants aren't it's strong suit. That said, Stopwatch offers a nice place to eat that close to all that Makawao has to offer.

Stopwatch is a bar and grill that's family-friendly and offers good food at good (for Hawaii) prices. I've eaten here several times of the past two years and have always had good food cooked well. If you're travelling through or close to Makawao, I recommend stopping here for lunch or dinner.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1960Corvette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stopwatch Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Stopwatch Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing