We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Otherside of Maui”
Review of Nalu Kai Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nalu Kai Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

I came here to the north side for the spiritual proximity to practitioners and therapies and the finest sorts of activities and concerts. There are no big hotels here. Surfers musicians and a sweet village close to the airport and downtown Kahului. The Lodge is old school. Bed and shower, for the amazing beach is a short walk, a n d Mana Market is a shorter walk. Town Square is in front of Mana, everybody goes there, mostly beautiful people who know what Hawaii is all about. The village small on Hana Highway so tourists head on, but I stay here in a clean room waking smelling the flowers and feeling the breezes. If you are real come here. Good place to stay a couple of days to get balance on the transition. Yoga here is incredible.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank wwanderX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed here for a week, actually leaving tomorrow. All of the staff has been helpful, and our giant group wasn't easy. I'm sure we have been a housekeeping nightmare.... 2 small children & 12 adults for the second week after one of the group got married. The rooms are very small, but work well for 2 people. We asked for an extra bed, and they offered a mat for our use at no charge.
The "honeymooning" couple had the bigger room with a kitchen; that would be PERFECT for a family! The lodge is centrally located, everything you need is right here. The laundry facilities Re super convenient, everything is clean... Everything felt simple here. We used the BBQ & patio several times for our whole group... Awesome!
Liam was particularly helpful! He even set up a movie screen & projector. The whole family sat in the courtyard lawn and watched us some "Frozen." He knows the area, he's available, and he was very accommodating with all of our chaos.

The area is louder than was helpful for the kids napping, and the lack of air conditioning meant a few nights that were muggy & hot, so that was a drawback, for sure.

Room Tip: Get the kitchen room if you've got more than 2 people, or small children, or intend to stay for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I had a really relaxing and enjoyable stay here a couple weeks ago. Location could not have been better. Centre of Paia, walking distance to everything. Grocery store, shops, restaurants are pretty much all right outside your door. Paia bay beach is a 2 minute walk and fun for boogie boarding or walk another easy 10-15 minutes to Baldwin Beach Park. Stayed in room 8, had everything I needed and was very clean. I didn't get to meet Maria the manager while I was there but she was a big help at answering all of my questions and concerns prior to my arrival and once I got there Liam was very kind and around if I needed any help. I also felt very safe the whole time which is a big thing for a young female solo traveller. Check in and out was easy and I would definitely stay here again. No complaints, I really liked this place.

Room Tip: Wifi was weak in room 8 probably because it is the last room up top, so I had to go to the common ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

Room was clean comfortable & spacious.
We booked last minute over the phone for one night & staff were very helpful & explained all that we needed to know.
On arrival you simply find your room which is a refreshing change.
Fantastic location - close to all the shops & restaurants.
Some may not like that there is a curtain only separating the room from the bedroom but gives a chilled out feel to the place.
Would stay again without a doubt.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Salsdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed in room number 4, a quite small room but enough for 2 people. Queensize bed and own bathroom. Refridgerator in room. Great location in town, short walk to the beach. Parking right outside at no extra cost. Cosy place in a cosy town!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SofieLindekrantz82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaluKai, Manager at Nalu Kai Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Aloha Sofie and thank you for your review! We're very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and our quaint little Paia town! We hope to see you back at the Lodge on another Maui trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed in room 9, a one king bedroom plus living room & full kitchen. flew in with bikes found the yard area with waterfall perfect shady place to assemble. Plenty of room for bikes inside our room and with early starts to rides we enjoyed brewing our own coffee and breakfast in the room. Nice touches like great towels, stone shower, comfortable bedding, spacious benches & closets for clothes. Friendly staff energetic and talkative. Walk everywhere, restaurants, the fabulous food market "Mana" bike shop, retail stores; and the start of Cycle to the Sun race! This was my 2nd stay and I will be back, love Paia road to Hana and Haleaka, and the Nalu Kai Lodge!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaluKai, Manager at Nalu Kai Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Aloha Lis and thank you for your wonderful Nalu Kai Lodge review! We're always happy to host Cycle to the Sun enthusiasts and hope to have you stay with us for a 3rd time! We strive for that mellow relaxed vibe and are happy that you enjoyed it and our lovely North Shore. Until next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

It was not easy to find a good accommodation in Paia for "last minute". As we were on a journey around the world, we were not able to prebook everything. Well, we chose Nalu Kai Lodge because they had vacancy and it was a good decision. Very warm welcome from the hosts and a very nice, quiet location in the middle of Paia. We can definitely recommend!
Hind: don't forget the key in the room as we did!! ;-)

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side facing sea are quieter we think
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thalaima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaluKai, Manager at Nalu Kai Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Aloha and mahalo for your review of our quaint little Lodge! We're happy we could accommodate you last minute and that you were happy with hosts and location. We think we're wonderfully located for any North Shore travelers and we're glad you agree! We hope to see you on your next Maui adventure. Aloha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paia
0.0 mi away
Paia Inn
Paia Inn
#1 of 1 in Paia
756 reviews
6.0 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
1,073 reviews
6.2 mi away
Maui Beach Hotel
Maui Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kahului
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.9 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
14.0 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,158 reviews
3.1 mi away
Lumeria Maui Retreat
Lumeria Maui Retreat
#1 of 2 in Makawao
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nalu Kai Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nalu Kai Lodge

Address: 18 Nalu Place, Paia, Maui, HI 96779
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Paia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Paia
Price Range: £110 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nalu Kai Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nalu Kai Lodge, Paia Hotel is In the heart of Paia town Charming boutique hotel Unique Hawaiiana atmosphere Affordable rates Oceanside - steps to the beach Simple, Spotless, & Comfortable rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Nalu Kai Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nalu Kai Hotel Paia
Nalu Kai Lodge Paia, Maui, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing