We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people, noisy room :(”
Review of Kuau Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kuau Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Paia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great people, noisy room :(”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Hi, this is a cute, clean and well run place. The hosts are wonderful. My only complaint was the highway traffic which woke us up a few times during the night. If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room facing away from the Hana highway.
The outdoor shower is lovely, as are the people who run this place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    48
    10
    6
    5
See reviews for
19
82
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I spent 3 nights at the Kuau Inn with my brother. First of all the Bed & Breakfast is situated in a prime location, being only two blocks from the beach and minutes from Paia. Secondly, Ryan and Hailey - the Inn-Keepers - were awesome. They provided all the necessary amenities and the fridge was always stocked with food for breakfast, including fresh fruit, bagels, eggs and toast. You can tell they put in a lot of work to make the place look nice and do their best to ensure that all guests are accommodated. Thirdly, I wanted to touch on the quality of the house and rooms. The house is nicely decorated with a variety of local art and has great amenities including outdoor showers, and a huge kitchen. We had a chance to check out a few of the rooms, all of which were accommodating in their own way. We stayed in the doubles room downstairs; the beds were very comfortable, there was lots of closet space, and huge windows that let a nice Hawaiian breeze run through the room. If you plan on visiting Maui and are looking for quality and affordability, I definitely recommend staying at the Kuau Inn!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celwes11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upper Franconia, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Me and my friend spent 3 nights in room 4, which is located downstairs between kitchen and living room. Kuau Inn is an older house, but very well maintained and exudes charm which you make feel at home right away.
We loved the Hibiskus bedcovers. The shared bathroom is located through the kitchen.
The Inn is kept clean, the kitchen is always stocked with fresh fruit, cereals, eggs and other breakfast items. It is close to Paia, our favorite little town on Maui.
If you do not have a rental car, there is a bus stop (Maui Bus) on the other side of the street, next do the Kuau Store. One way ride is $2, day ticket $4.
At the Kuau store you can do a little grocery shopping or one of their delicious Panini. Better grocery shopping is at Mana Foods in Paia. All in all a very nice stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folsom, California
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We had such a lovely three night visit to the Inn. We had the downstairs room with private bath. The linens were beautiful and the room was very comfortable. The full access to this warm and lovely home was wonderful. The kitchen was fully stocked with breakfast provisions and seasonings for preparing any meal.
We really enjoyed the short walk to the beach, meeting many lovely people and the laid back feel of Paia.
This is Maui the way it ought to be. Take the time to admire the geckos, lizards, flowers and natural beauty! Sadly we had to travel to Lahaina later in the week...which while luxurious, didn't hold a candle to our time at Kuau Inn.

Room Tip: The Inn is along side the Hana Hwy (two lane road), so if you are a light sleeper in the early morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Junebug99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Kuau Inn was just a short drive from the airport and minutes from Paia and Mama's Fish House. The rooms were comfortable and clean, fridge was well-stocked, and innkeepers were knowledgeable and friendly. In addition to the innkeepers, dozens of guidebooks are available on the shelves, so you have lots of help planning your fun in Maui.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suffolkblueline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I was at the Kuau Inn for four nights in February of 2014. I really enjoyed the friendliness and facilities. The outdoor shower was awesome!! The fresh fruit was wonderful and varied and the muffins, although store bought, were delicious. I would definitely stay there again. I was on the second floor and although there were traffic noises, they didn't really bother me that much.

Room Tip: I liked the room with the TV as I could watch the Olympics early in the morning without disturbing a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We were only here a short time (came in late afternoon and left first thing in the morning- headed up to the Haleakala Crater). We met the Inn keepers and also the owners...all were very nice. They gave us suggestions on what to check out while we were only on this side of Maui for one day. Would certainly be a place we'd come back too!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paia
7.0 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
1,061 reviews
27.3 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
5.8 mi away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Maui Beach Hotel
Maui Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kahului
537 reviews
14.8 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,134 reviews
3.0 mi away
Lumeria Maui Retreat
Lumeria Maui Retreat
#1 of 2 in Makawao
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuau Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuau Inn

Property: Kuau Inn
Address: 676 Hana Hwy, P.O. Box 791898, Paia, Maui, HI 96779-9733
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Paia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Paia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kuau Inn, on Maui's rural north shore, is known for its classic Hawaiian hospitality. The comfort and style of Kuau Inn, and the friendly beach neighborhoods of Paia and Kuau leave you feeling like a part of the community. After many years of hosting visitors from all over, we have barely changed a thing- as advised by those who know- our very appreciated guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kuau Hotel Paia
Kuau Inn Paia, Maui, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing