We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place in excellent location”
Review of Paia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Paia Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Paia
Certificate of Excellence
Chester
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful place in excellent location”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My husband and I stayed for 12 nights at The Paia Inn in May 2014. We had booked solely on the trip advisor reviews. We weren't disappointed. The hotel itself is located on the main Hana Highway through Paia...great location, and a stones throw from a lovely quiet beach which was accessed through the hotel garden. Whilst we were there there was building work being completed which the hotel had advised us of. We noticed little disruption and it didn't affect our holiday one bit. The staff were so friendly and couldn't help us enough with information about where to go on the island and good places to eat..... Talking of which Mamas Fish House is to die for, and we loved a new restaurant called Dazoo ... Beautiful food, but simple. Infact one of the young ladies in reception at the Paia in even wrote down her menu choices at mama fish house and we stuck to them. They also have deck chairs and coolers which you can take with you if you do visit other parts of the island....this was very handy. I would definitely visit again. During our time in Maui we stayed for two nights at in Ka'anapali in a large commercial hotel.... I would place the Paia in over any high rise hotel anytime... Very traditional ... You feel like you are a part of the town itself instead of in a big resort where although treated well you are perhaps one of how many hundred people !

Room Tip: Thee are only 7 rooms ... All good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SammyChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    584
    124
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
93
501
38
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We greatly enjoyed the vibe of the Paia Inn. We've never been a huge fan of big corporate chain hotels and this was exactly the environment we were hoping for. Centrally located in Paia, easy walking distance to great restaurants and shops, and right on a gorgeous beach. They were doing renovations while we stayed but we never heard any noise and didn't feel bothered by the work. Loved the little kitchen in our room too.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LexCre8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King City, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The town of Paia itself is very quaint and different. Not resort oriented in the least. Therefore this quaint boutique hotel fit perfectly. The renovations that were taking place while we were there were barely noticeable. Room 9 was like a small studio apartment. Everything needed except for a dishwasher and stove. I wasn't there to cook, so it was perfect. We still had a full fridge to keep food for our day trip and a microwave to warm up food and warm the water for our morning oatmeal. There is a small continental snack bar breakfast at reception. We enjoyed the oatmeal packs that we topped off with fruit that we purchased at the grocery store. The only grocery store in town had all that we needed. The front desk personnel were always helpful and cheerful. We were there only 5 days. We went to Lahaina after that, but returned to the town at end of our trip and felt a part of this town already. We did make some use of the beach. We sat and enjoyed the ocean with breakfast or with before dinner drinks. You access the beach through a walkway along the building that leads to the beach. I would think that there might even be some of the second story rooms that might have a view of the ocean. We enjoyed it and if you are not a full fledged resort person, you will too.

Room Tip: Sorry, there was no fitness center. Our unit had not much light, but we were able to sleep better d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kellylavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Paia Inn is a great place to stay while exploring this side of the island. It is clean, very centrally located in town center and has a cool vibe. I would say that the amenities are on par for what one would expect of a three star hotel, however, the prices reflect that of a five star hotel.

We paid $565 a night for the ocean view room (I believe #12) with no view. If you stand in just the right place on the veranda and turn your head sideways during a full moon, you have a glimpse of the ocean through some branches. It is completely misleading to call it an ocean view room and is certainly not what we had at other hotels in Maui when booking an ocean view room for less money. 

My second complaint is that we were notified two weeks prior to arrival that there would be construction underway during our stay. The email offered the option to cancel, but where would we go with only two weeks notice? We were there over the weekend, so the construction was not disruptive to us, but it did mean that the outdoor patio and bar and restaurant were not available. However, to be fair, there are many good restaurants within walking distance. I would be interested in returning after the construction is complete, as I imagine it will be quite nice.

Pros:
1. The hotel is centrally located and walking distance to all of the restaurants and shops. 
2. Clean
3. Ocean View room had a large private veranda and a fully equipped kitchen.
4. Beach is accessible through back of property - It is not a private beach, but was not at all populated while we were there. There is a private courtyard with a great view where you can relax on a beach chair and enjoy the view.
5. Good launching place for the drive to Hana.
6. Good location to explore Paia, Makawao and Haleakala.

Cons:
1. Extremely overpriced
2. The ocean view room had no view and the bedroom and bathroom were very small. The tub did not drain well.

Paia is a very small town that you can explore in a few hours. It is very casual with a hippy vibe. There are many great restaurants in the area. The beach is nice, but it was fairly rough when we were there. There are many other beaches in Maui that are much better suited to swimming and snorkeling. Paia is a very popular wind surfing spot, so if you are a wind-surfer, then this would be a great place for you. 

You Should Stay Here If:
1. You want a small untouristy town with a cool vibe that is not overrun with tall high rise hotels and Prada shops.
2. You prefer to avoid the crowds and have a good place to chill and read a book.
3. You want to drive the road to Hana.
4. Your a cyclist who wants to spend some time on the bike.
5. Your a wind-surfer who wants to spend time on the water.
6. You want a small cool place to stay where you feel more like a local than a tourist.

You Should Not Stay Here If:
1. You want all of the five-star amenities at your finger-tips.
2. You want a week of beach time on a beach with a calm inlet for swimming and snorkeling that would be good for young children. The beach here is lovely, but if you are looking for a very calm shallow beach like you find at some of the larger resorts, then this isn't the beach for you.
3. You hate the hippie culture.

Although considerably overpriced, I still feel that the hotel is the best option in town center and I would stay here again. If I had to do it over again, I would spend two nights here (instead of three) and then drive to Hana and stay two nights at Travaasa so that I had more time to explore the sights on the way to and from Hana and in Hana town itself. I would then move on to Wailea for 4-5 nights.

Room Tip: #12 is a great room in terms of privacy, but don't expect an ocean view as advertised. It also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tbatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft Worth. TX
Level Contributor
248 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed in the lovely 3-bedroom suite with a marvelous lanai and great views of the ocean. Left the lanai doors open at night to enjoy hearing the waves rolling in. It was terrific! I misunderstood the configuration of this suite thinking there was a one-bedroom, a two-bedroom, and a three- bedroom suite. I requested a one-bedroom suite with an ocean view . . . no such thing . . . there is ONLY a 3-bedroom suite. Somehow I did not understand this, so 2 of us ended up in a 3-bedroom suite which was over $500 a night . . . a good price if we were using most of it, but on the expensive side for what we used. However, given the current construction, I'm not sure I would want any of the other rooms at this time. The construction didn't bother us where we were located but having the restaurant would have been nice, if only for coffee in the morning

Really liked the town of Pa'ia . . . seemed to have more locals and less tourists than the south side of the island. Weather changeable and unpredictable, but that was part of the fun. Also great location for traveling the Hana Highway and up Haleakala. Terrific restaurants. We ate at Flatbread Pizza, Anthony's for breakfast every morning, Mama's Fish House (expensive but worth it; go for sunset). Many other restaurants in town that looked good. Great food market, Mana Foods.
After 3 nights here, we moved to Ka-anapali Beach to a condo. Great beach and sunshine, but I think we preferred the north side of the island for an overall experience.

Room Tip: Go for ocean view if you can afford it, especially until the construction is finished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank vanam1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
healdsburg, ca
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I stayed at the Paia Inn in early April, while they were undergoing some renovations. The conditions weren't ideal for us, but we are not "spoiled" travelers, and went w/ the flow. The staff went out of their way to make our stay more comfortable, offering us 1 night's stay in their gorgeous beach front house. The staff communicates very well among each other, so when a reception staff member told us something, each subsequent person on duty was aware. MIchael, the owner, was also apologetic, and showed us what the renovations will include. As soon as they are complete, the Paia Inn will be even better!

The location couldn't be better, the main drag through town is in front and the beach is out the back door. Once you are on beach, you can walk well over a mile along the beach w/ a couple of short detours through some trees to get around some rock breaks. The next beach section over from the Paia Inn beach is clothing optional. The town of Paia has a great friendly vibe, and is great for people watching. There's a great community market, excellent restaurants, and a nice wine shop in town.

I highly recommend the Paia Inn, would have given them 5 stars if we it weren't for the construction.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The Paia Inn is a classy, chic hotel and resort. There are guest rooms in the main building and multiple vacation rental type units as well. I had the chance to stay in all three types during our recent vacation. The small rooms over looking the street ( which seemed sound proof from traffic) are beautifully appointed. The largest house is has everything needed for a fun vacation with a family or another couple. All of the units have contemporary interior touches, comfortable beds and are super clean. The boutique style of the interiors is a pleasing aesthetic with Buddhas and chandeliers. We thought the staff were incredibly attentive and friendly. This was our first time in Paia and being right in the center of town, yet on the beach was a unique combination. The hotel is being renovated and we can't wait to go back and revisit. Loved this place!

Room Tip: Upstairs units are a great choice~
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbara b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paia
19.2 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
27.8 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
17.1 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
13.9 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,098 reviews
20.1 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paia Inn

Property: Paia Inn
Address: 93 Hana Hwy, Paia, Maui, HI 96779
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Paia
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Paia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Paia Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The postcard perfection of Maui’s North Shore (white sand beaches, raging waterfalls, stylish cafes, and world-class surfers) just got even better with the opening of the Paia Inn. This beach town boutique hotel seamlessly blends modern amenities with the historic character of its building. In a nod to the town’s plantation trade days, the building’s exterior has retained its charm with tin rooftops and rustic hues; yet, the interior mixes contemporary island furnishings with the chic lushness of the W Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Paia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paia Hotel Paia
Paia Inn Maui, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing