We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It!”
Review of Paia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Paia Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Paia
Certificate of Excellence
utah
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loved It!”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Perfect location in the heart of Paia and with private access to the ocean. I wish i had stayed more than one night! Super comfy beds, linens, the whole atmosphere was great. The hotel was under renovation/expansion while we were there, but it was still great!

Room Tip: we stayed in the front room -- on Main street in Paia. we could hear the street, but i liked being i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abbibarss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    590
    125
    16
    2
    2
See reviews for
96
505
39
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ferndale, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

My fiancé and I stayed 7 nights on Maui in August, and the Paia Inn was my favorite part of the trip. My one regret is that we only stayed for two nights :). Our flight from Michigan had been cancelled the week prior due to potential hurricanes so we had to rearrange our travel schedule a bit- we ended up pushing our reservation back and extending it a night. The Paia Inn was more than accommodating. The only room they had available for two nights was an upgrade from the original room we had booked, and they gave it to us for the original price (we would have paid the difference anyway, it was that great). The staff is beyond helpful, the grounds were beautiful, location was perfect- I have nothing but great things to say about this place.

Room Tip: Room 9- Garden View Suite was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Had a great time, and would recommend the Paia Inn to everyone. Great room, great staff, and you can lock your wallet in the safe and wander right out back to a fabulous beach. Look forward to getting a more permanent place on the North Shore, but until then, I think the Paia Inn will be our home base in Maui. :-)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

My family and I were lucky enough to stay at the Paia Inn on July 4, 2014. The staff was so accommodating. We were supposed to stay in a one-bedroom with a sofa bed, but when they saw how tall our son was(6'3"!), they were kind enough to upgrade us to a two-bedroom. We were so comfortable in our rooms. Our unit had a nice kitchen, great bathroom and a large porch which we thoroughly enjoyed. Even though the inn is right in town, it is a peaceful paradise. You have your own beach access, and a beautiful backyard facing the beach. We definately will be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catherine84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My husband and I just spent a week on the island of Maui. We began with 2 nights in Wailea, then experienced a condo in Lanai, and then ended at the Paia Inn in Paia. The accommodations were excellent. I had planned on writing a 5 star review about the place. We stayed in room 6 and it was clean, comfortable, and roomy. We liked that there was space to spread out with a kitchen area. It had excellent little touches that were unique, but still made it feel warm and homey. We loved the privacy of the beach and the areas overlooking the beach. There were tables to sit by the beach and enjoy a glass of wine at sunset as well as beach chairs and water toys available. A bottle of wine was waiting for us upon arrival and they even brought another bottle another night when requested. The entire time we were there we talked about returning and only staying at the Paia because we were enjoying it so much.

There were some concerns after checkout, that ended up being miscommunication from us and Paia Inn. After my husband missed his flight, he returned to Paia Inn to stay on the beach a few hours until his next flight. He was told the area was under construction and he could not have access. However, he did not tell them he had just checked out and they thought it was just someone trying to use the private access. He should have told them because one of the great things is the private access to the beach. We booked an additional night, but we weren’t told we would be in a different room and would not receive the special price we had booked online. We did not realize it was almost $200/night more than the special we booked until we got home and checked the bank card. Although I feel staff should have notified us, we also should have checked, so it was really on both of us. However, Michael with Pain Inn graciously gave us both nights at the less expensive rate we thought we were getting as well as a complimentary night on our next visit.

I truly appreciate that they corrected concerns immediately, even though some ended up being our fault! This proves great customer service as well as the fabulous hotel and atmosphere. We will definitely return and make sure we are also communicating!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

After spending four days exploring beaches and eateries in Kihei—and staying at a small LGBT-friendly resort, that while well managed and staffed, sat on a non-swimable beach that required a car everywhere we went—my husband and I found ourselves looking for a change.

More inclined to low-maintenance, walk-everywhere-you-need-to-go, and be-on-the-beach-in-a-matter-of-minutes getaways, a local turned us on to the town of Paia. After an hour of our arrival (which included a brief walking tour of this small “hippie town” followed by a swim at Baldwin Beach) the decision had been made: “If that hotel on the main drag we passed has a room available, we’re staying!”

Fast-forward twenty minutes...unannounced and without having done any research, my husband and I walked into the lobby of the Paia Inn Hotel and were warmly greeted by member of the staff. After outlining our desired dates—“...immediately, for the next five nights...”—she provided us three options that spanned three pricing tiers. Grateful, excited and looking forward to splurging a bit for our upcoming anniversary, we booked the Luxury Ocean View Suite.

To make a long-story-short, I would highly recommend the Paia Inn Hotel if you’re looking for a mellow, boutique style inn/hotel that offers visitors the option to forget the car and enjoy small town Maui life while surrounded by top-notch customer service professionals . My recommendation is based on the following:

1) Staff: If you want to talk about beautiful individuals inside and out, look no further than the Paia Inn Hotel staff. Attentive, well-spoken, friendly, sincere, prompt and thoughtful are just a few of the words one could use to describe their five-star customer service. All of the staff made the two of us feel right at home.

2) Accommodations: (a) The Luxury Ocean View Suite was truly amazing. Large, clean, cool, this 3/1 offered a huge lanai overlooking lush Hawaiian vegetation and a treetop view of the ocean. From the bathroom finishes-to the furniture-to the bamboo floors—everywhere we looked was an tangible example impeccable taste and attention to detail. (b) The Inn itself, while situated on a very busy street, is super quite (at least the Ocean View Suite was). A small pathway winds through the property leading guests directly to the beach. Prior to entering the beach, there’s a great grassy area where guest can relax in the shade under umbrellas, enjoy a drink while looking out over the ocean or rinse off the sand after a long day at the beach.

3) The town: The Hana Highway runs through the town of Paia. The Paia Inn Hotel is located on this Highway (a two-lane street by mainlander standards). I’m not going to lie, at times, there can be a lot of traffic. That said, I felt the traffic added to the charm of the town (call me crazy!!!). The Paia itself offered us everything we needed for our five day stay—restaurants, grocery store, shopping, public beach—all within walking distance. We only used the car (which was parked in the Inn’s private parking lot) to return to the airport.

While the North Shore of Kauai is more my scene when it comes to vacationing in Hawaii (I only say this to give readers familiar with the Hawaiian Islands added context for my review), I wouldn’t hesitate to return to the Paia Inn Hotel should my travel plans lead me to Maui in the future!

Room Tip: Choose a room facing away from the main street. If you can afford it, the Luxury Ocean View Suite is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RaymoKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

What a wonderful hotel! We stayed in Room 12 (the suite) and loved it.

With 3 bedrooms, a large living room and a full kitchen, it had all we needed to spread out. The air conditioning was also fantastic, as it was quite hot during our summer stay.

The best part was the deck, which spanned the entire rear of the suite and featured direct access from the living room and 2 of the bedrooms. Complete with dining table, padded chairs, day bed and rocking chairs, it seemed worlds away from the main street of Paia, which was only a few steps away.

Great beach access, complete with plenty of beach toys and chairs to use made this a fantastic location to stay.

Add to the mix the warm and friendly customer service by everyone who works there and it’s easy to see why the Paia Inn gets such (deservedly) high marks.

Room Tip: Room 12 is an amazing suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Auston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paia
27.8 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
19.2 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
481 reviews
17.1 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,135 reviews
16.9 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 8 in Wailea
983 reviews
15.9 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paia Inn

Property: Paia Inn
Address: 93 Hana Hwy, Paia, Maui, HI 96779
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Paia
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Paia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Paia Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The postcard perfection of Maui’s North Shore (white sand beaches, raging waterfalls, stylish cafes, and world-class surfers) just got even better with the opening of the Paia Inn. This beach town boutique hotel seamlessly blends modern amenities with the historic character of its building. In a nod to the town’s plantation trade days, the building’s exterior has retained its charm with tin rooftops and rustic hues; yet, the interior mixes contemporary island furnishings with the chic lushness of the W Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Paia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paia Hotel Paia
Paia Inn Maui, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing