We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“True spirit of Aloha- but I wouldn't call this place a hotel or an inn” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paia Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Paia Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Paia
Certificate of Excellence
portland, oregon
Level Contributor
87 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“True spirit of Aloha- but I wouldn't call this place a hotel or an inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2011

I've stayed in a lot of hotels and B&Bs and inns, so when I sat down to write about the Pa'ia Inn/Hotel, I had to think hard about how to describe the experience since it's unlike anything else.

Pa'ia is a small "hippie" town on the main road to Hana, just 4 miles from the main Maui airport. Pa'ia has two gas stations, some yoga/tattoo businesses and a few good restaurants. It's the anti-Wailea. I like that since Maui has changed over the past 30 years and I'm not sure it's a good thing.

If you look at the Pa'ia Inn on the surface, you see an old main street storefront with a yoga shop and gelato/sandwich place around the side, next to a gas station. The entrance is not even in front of the building, it's around the back. What???? Parking is in a tiny lot behind the building where cars double-park. Three other buildings make up the additional "rooms" of the Inn with one complete house available for the ultimate experience. A collections of building in a hippie town, why would anyone (other than hippies) care?

This is the point where worlds collide as multiple sensations attack your senses at once. If you have just arrived on the island, it's a bit jarring. Once you find the entrance and park your car, the real spirit of Aloha hits you hard. Walking into the entrance of the Inn, you pass through a large courtyard of shade trees and other people (guests?) relaxing, drinking beer or wine, eating fruit provided by the hotel. You look at them ("who are these people?") as they point you to the refreshments. You suddenly feel overdressed, over stressed and very out of place. About then, one of the hotel staff greet you in the most informal/friendly way. A lovely brunette girl/woman who you imagine will go surfing after work. A young man from Spain who happens to be the breakfast chef. Smiles, welcomes, good vibes.

It continues this way during your entire stay. After a few hours, a meal and some time to relax, you melt into the place. New people arrive, you feel a need to say "join us, relax". The staff rotates but the service is amazingly friendly. Restaurant recommendations? Path to the beach? Best places to buy swimwear? No problem!

We had just one night at the Pa'ia Inn since our condo wasn't ready until the next day, but I've got to say that next time I have to stay longer in Pa'ia. When the staff called me a few days later to follow up and ask for feedback, I felt like I was hearing from an old friend. I actually missed their friendly demeanor after a week of dealing with the crazy tourist strain on the west side of Maui.

Since this is a review, all I can say as a warning is that the rooms that face the main street in Pa'ia should be avoided if you are a medium-to-light sleeper. Truck traffic is heavy and the noise was disruptive to us. Otherwise, the room we had (#3) was comfy and well maintained. It wasn't a large room, but then you won't want to spend time in the room at all, you'll want to be on the beach or in the courtyard with new friends.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pauloregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    575
    122
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
92
493
38
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2011

There are good things and less good (but definitely not bad) things to say about the Paia Inn To get the weak points over first: it's on a main road; we didn't find this a problem as far as noise is concerned, but f you're looking for delightful views from your room, this isn't the place. The 'Junior Suite' in which we stayed was oddly arranged, with a bedroom, a shower and loo in one room and a 'sitting room' with a big sofa and TV set, plus the washbasin, a fridge and a microwave. There was a distinct shortage of hanging space unless you're under two feet tall. But these minor drawbacks were thoroughly offset by the whole atmosphere of the hotel - very charming and helpful staff, an attractive little courtyard where breakfast was served (free continental breakfast or you could pay for a cooked one) and the secret path to an almost deserted, palm-fringed beach. Paia is a slightly flakey New Agey town, not like anywhere else we visited on Maui, very pleasant and laid back, with some good eating places. Would recommend both the town and the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oldhanwellian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2011

We loved the Paia Inn. We loved the location, the Aloha spirit, and our special room. We stayed in Room 10 which has a patio and a kitchenette. We lived outside on our lounge chairs and it was just a short walk to the beautiful beach.

The hospitality is A+. The girls that work there really care and will do everything to make the best trip possible. My husband said that "they make it so you have to come back!"

If you are more earthy than fancy you will love the Paia location. If you like big, fancy, tourist hotels, this will not be your choice. If you want to enjoy the Aloha spirit this is the place to be.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whidbey50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2011

I stumbled upon this place and loved everything about it, the location, people and the rooms. Great staff - beautiful.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FFGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

What a great place! We were there for a babymoon and were looking for some much needed RR and thawing out from the harsh winter. Paia and the Inn met the challenge. We stayed in a standard room which is really all you need in Paia. Large, gorgeous bathrooms, very comfortable queen beds and other extras more than met our expectations. Mostly quiet except for some occasional street noise. The staff is awesome. Carley went out of her way to make our stay perfect. The morning breakfast of fresh fruit, coffee, yogurt and pastries was a great way to start the day. There is private access to a wonderful beach to enjoy the sun and local surf action. At night, the quaint little town offers up some great local eats. Just ask the staff for their favorites and they won't steer you wrong. When we go back to Maui, we will definitely go back to Paia and stay at the Paia Inn.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cubvolfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawton, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2011

We read about Paia Inn on Trip Advisor. When we planned our trip to Maui we booked it. The staff were wonderful. They were helpful in every way...always with a smile!
The Inn and the staff lived up to the great reviews. We can't wait to go back to Maui and Paia Inn! We stayed in a one bedroom suite. Loved it!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2011

Have never stayed somewhere so thoughtful and friendly, the staff is very warm and open, they have thought of everything you might need, and they are open to bringing you anything else you might conjure up. The decore is beautiful and elegant, the food service is very generous and yummy. So nice to have private parking! We would stay here again any time...

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ebusher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paia
19.1 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
27.8 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
17.1 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
20.1 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
6.0 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paia Inn

Property: Paia Inn
Address: 93 Hana Hwy, Paia, Maui, HI 96779
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Paia
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Paia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Paia Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The postcard perfection of Maui’s North Shore (white sand beaches, raging waterfalls, stylish cafes, and world-class surfers) just got even better with the opening of the Paia Inn. This beach town boutique hotel seamlessly blends modern amenities with the historic character of its building. In a nod to the town’s plantation trade days, the building’s exterior has retained its charm with tin rooftops and rustic hues; yet, the interior mixes contemporary island furnishings with the chic lushness of the W Hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Paia Hotel Paia
Paia Inn Maui, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing