We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slice of heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Inn at Mama's Fish House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I was fortunate enough to be asked to join my daughter, son-in-law and grandson at the Inn for 5 days in February 2013. The lanai alone would have made me happy. We had a lovely 2 bedroom condo looking out to the ocean, catamaran and hammock. We felt specially treated and welcome. I am a painter and enjoyed hours of drawing and painting which gave us even better memories of our stay there. If there was a downside, it was not to have stayed longer. Thanks for the memories.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FFelicia822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2013

When we arrived in Maui the plan was to spend one night at the Inn at Mama's Fish House and eat at there restaurant and then drive to Hanna from there. We reserved a studio but were upgraded to a one bedroom when we arrived. The room was clean and comfortable. It was supplied nicely with fruit and banana bread for breakfast the next morning. It was very spacious and had a nice patio. There was no ocean view from our room. We were located in the back parking lot next to the restaurant. You did not notice that though because the patio is fenced in and decorated nicely with plants. If you want a great view then you need to go to the front of the Restaurant. The setting is stunning! Personally we would not want to say there for a week but for a few nights it was great. We would stay again and I would recommend a few nights there.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Husband and I stayed here for our first two nights on Maui, and we really enjoyed it. We stayed in the studio cottage and it was great. The bed was very comfortable and the suite seemed to have everything you could possibly need. Kitchen was well stocked with so many convenient items. They also provided a nice welcome plate with complimentary papaya, bananas, lime, banana bread and coffee. We had dinner at Mama's Fish House one of the nights and because we were staying at the inn, we got 15% off our meal. All around, great job Mama's!

Room Tip: Studio cottage is a great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jade_town
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

We stayed in a two-bedroom garden cottage for a week. The good things were the little touches like fresh flowers in the room, welcoming banana bread and great maid service. The bad things were noise issues in the cottages, the fact that there's no swimming beach, no pool, no ability to walk to town (unless you want to walk on the highway for two miles), and essentially no facilities at all for guests. The "Inn" is really an afterthought to the restaurant which is great, but overpriced.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
5  Thank bseems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

I loved my stay at Mama's.
We were a family in a two bedroom unit. The little touches delighted us. Fruit and little nibbles were left for the traveler. Lovely dishes and items needed for cooking were pleasing. The suite had an old Hawaiian feel to it, not to cooky cutter new, and we so appreciated the private outdoor BBQ and dining area.
We made mai tai's and wondered down to the beach on our first evening. There in lies the only problem we encountered, one has to go thru the restaurant reception area to and from the beach. The host was concerned that we were carrying drinks to and from the beach. I understand, but it seems this confusion needs correcting.
The service offered was outstanding. I expect good service, but this was really outstanding. We will love to return.
It is true there is no noise privacy, so if that is an issue for you maybe another place would be better. However, for us this was a delightful place.

Room Tip: If you want complete noise privacy get two separate rooms. If you want a fantastic family experience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DortheGale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Absolutely adorable place. We stayed in the Malolo Cottage. Georgeous beach front views. Adorable patio space. Beach is directly ahead. Staff is great. Of course Mama's Fish House is amazing. Only downside to cottage is one bathroom for 2 bedroom cottage. But so what? You can't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We stayed in a "2 bedroom" garden cottage one night. It was lovely with nice touches and thoughtful service, but it was a real stretch to call it 2 bedrooms. Yes, there was a wall between the two, so there was privacy in terms of visibility, but in terms of noise privacy there was none. You might as well have been sleeping right next to each other -- this is not an exagerration. If you know the amazing artwork of the construction of Mama's Fish House, you may be expecting the same. Don't. It's pretty average cheap beach duplex construction. The tile floor and furnishings are nice, but otherwise - pblllt. Not worth the price. It was convenient to finish dinner and just walk over to our room, but I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank portlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paia
7.1 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
1,124 reviews
15.1 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,190 reviews
19.9 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Lumeria Maui Retreat
Lumeria Maui Retreat
#1 of 2 in Makawao
572 reviews
1.3 mi away
Nalu Kai Lodge
Nalu Kai Lodge
#3 of 6 in Paia
152 reviews
18 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 8 in Wailea
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Mama's Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Mama's Fish House

Address: 799 Poho Pl, Paia, Maui, HI 96779-9708
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Paia
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Paia
Price Range: £222 - £690 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Inn at Mama's Fish House 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Called, "The Hawaii of your dreams!" By Sunset Magazine, the Inn at Mama's Fish House is just steps away from the ocean on a secluded white sand beach. Providing the same warmth and charm you'll find in our award-winning restaurant, each cottage embodies traditional elements of Polynesian decor, local wood working, spectacular flower arrangements, and beautiful artwork. The casual comfort of the Inn at Mama's Fish House exemplifies the Aloha spirit of Maui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your The Inn at Mama's Fish House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Mama`s Fish House Hotel Paia
The Inn At Mama's Fish House Paia, Maui, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing