We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Inn at Mama's Fish House
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$440
US$421
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$296
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$224
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$548
AscendHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$715
US$481
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Andaz Maui At Wailea Resort(Wailea)
US$721
US$674
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Residence Inn by Marriott Maui Wailea(Wailea)(Great Value!)
US$406
US$365
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Paia Inn(Paia)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (217)
Filter reviews
217 results
Traveller rating
171
29
7
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
171
29
7
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbanana breadbedroom cottageopahwelcome basketmana foodsjunior suitewind surfersfull kitchenkona coffeethe cottagesroad to hanatwo nightswasher and dryerbeach frontclose to the airportpaia townsitting area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 217 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Don't ever leave Maui without a meal here. Great food, drinks and atmosphere! Unfortunately many other people have made the same discovery so be sure to make reservations well in advance. We found it a
great place to visit prior to returning home -close to the airport and great conclusion

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

If you're like us, you frequently return to Hawaii—especially Maui—as often as you can. And after you've done the big hotel thing, and feel comfortable getting around the island, finding your niche and hitting the spots you know you like, you want a peaceful place to stay that helps you feel more like a local than a tourist. The Inn at Mama's Fish House is exactly that kind of place.

We tired quickly of overt, over friendly and forced hospitality, which unfortunately is a lot of what you get at the resorts. The comfortable yet well attended to villas and apartments located on the Mama's Fish House "compound" allows you to sink into local Maui life totally seamlessly.

We arrived tired and found fruit, banana bread and waters in our unit, plus a note from manager Lisa saying "Welcome back!". Waking up to the chirping minah birds, smelling the plumeria and hibiscus that surrounded our little fenced in (totally private!) yard, and just being able to hear the surf in the Kuau Cove a few hundred yards away was like wakening in another world. It was perfect.

Needless to say, having the "backdoor" entrance to the best restaurant in Hawaii—in your backyard—is an amazing perk. We felt like total insiders, and spoiled ourselves delving deep into the amazing menu of fish from all over the globe, reading about the local fishermen (and women!) who caught them, and even appreciate their well-curated wine list. but the real treat.... after dinner, a stroll in the moonlight back to the cove and, unlike the rest of the visitors there, a quick stroll back to our villa! What a treat.

Now that we've discovered makawao, haiku, and of course Paia is just 5 minutes down the road for great dining, shopping (mana foods is great!) and people watching, we wouldn't stay anywhere else on Maui. I recommend highly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Abby F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The most romantic place ever. expensive but worth every cent. The restaurant is excellent and just as pricey but the deserts are fabulous. The rooms are little cottages with front and back tropical garden settings. Fenced for privacy and furnished with everything you need.

Room Tip: there are nothing but great rooms
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ffsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Stayed here before flying back home after 3 weeks in Maui. The spirit of aloha is very much alive and well here! Lovely garden studio was perfect for us. Huge washer and dryer allowed us to do laundry while at the beach and pack all clean clothes! We are vegetarians and just love the Mana Foods Market in Paia...eating it at our table at Mama's Inn was a joy! Love the beach and seeing turtles from here. Awesome bed...clean cottage! Booked next year as we checked out. Mahalo to all the great staff!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Joan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

On our last day in Maui, my daughter and son in law decided to treat us to lunch at Mama's. The main dishes are modest in size and cost between $40 and $60. Every bite of the food was delicious and beautifully presented with a variety of unique tastes and textures. The restaurant is located on a lovely beach. We all split a dessert- cream brûlée with a crispy top sauce. Great experience!

Stayed: March 2014
Thank warywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews