We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay, not great”

The Hana Bay Picnic Co.
Ranked #6 of 7 Dessert in Paia
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Hana Headquarters is your one stop shop at the beginning of the Road To Hana for breakfast and lunch packed to go made to stay fresh until after your Hana hwy hike or activity...We also have all kinds of supplies and information for your adventures. Come on in for sandwiches, smoothies, gelato, desserts, breakfast bagels and much more... find our menu on our website - aloha !!!
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
300 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Okay, not great”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We decided to drive the road to Hana. Wow! Make sure you have water and food....this drive takes forever! On the way down we found this restaurant. It was just okay. The burgers are what they are known for, but I have had better burgers in my time. Basically it was what my husband said - "it filled the hole". Nuff said!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank wearymom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
social m, administrator at The Hana Bay Picnic Co., responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear wearymom3, we are sorry you had a just so experience at the burger place you visited, but please let us assure you that it wasn't our restaurant! Not only are we not a burger joint ( we DO NOT sell burgers) but our sandwiches ( we DO sell sandwiches) are the freshest and tastiest in the area! We use local fresh, produce and bake our soft, delicious bread daily. If you had visited our restaurant you would have been writing a five star review! We are sorry that you missed us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    41
    23
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“it was okay....”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We picked up and ordered ahead of time as we had seen the ad for this place on the back of the CD ROM that you play while driving the Road to Hana. We ordered ahead and the service upon arriving was very prompt and super friendly. My daughter (vegetarian) had the hummus sandwhich and couldn't even eat it - saying it was "unappetizing" ... I had the crab that didn't seem to be real crab (but maybe I was wrong?). The bread didn't seem overly fresh - it couldn't even lose its shape. If you are getting the "meal deal combo" ... the cookies are smaller as are the bags of chips. Lettuce and tomatoes were nice and fresh. It is "okay" but I don't know if I would greatly recommend this to anyone ...

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Perfect place to grab a great meal on the go.”
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Delicious and filling sandwiches packaged perfectly for on the go days. Very friendly staff. Awesome smoothies.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
social m, administrator at The Hana Bay Picnic Co., responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Thank you for your positive review! We like to hear from satisfied customers! Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaSalle,Mi.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great picnic lunch, if your going to Hana or not!”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

The sandwich I had was great. Salmon with capers. My husband complained of to much bread but I love bread, so I thought it was yummy. The sandwich, bag of chips and a cookie will run around ten dollars. You can order a head of time and they will have it ready. We just showed up and it only took a few minutes to make. They offer a cooler that you can drop off at the end of your day.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gladman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
social m, administrator at The Hana Bay Picnic Co., responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review! We are pleased you enjoyed your lunch. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Locust Valley, New York
Level Contributor
194 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good Sandwiches!”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Stopped here for a picnic lunch- the Sandwiches were great- it included chips and a cookie! Smoothie was great.
I just wish they would quit saying last stop for food. plenty of food trucks along the way, but the lunch was very nice.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lws1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
social m, administrator at The Hana Bay Picnic Co., responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Thank you for the review, we are glad you enjoyed your sandwiches. Hope to see you again! Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hana Bay Picnic Co. also viewed

 

Been to The Hana Bay Picnic Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing