We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A little piece of paradise - a fantastic place to...”
other travellers have booked this property
Cottage nested in the tropical trees
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage nested in the tropical trees
Living room opening on covered deck Flat screen HD TV
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Cottage nested in the tropical trees
Living room opening on covered deck
Flat screen HD TV
Full Kitchen (no dishwasher)
Kitchen living room. Wide bar.
Ocean view from the cottage
Closet and safe
Queen bed
Private cottage. The living area is upstairs.
Sunset from the deck
Sunset over the West Maui Mountains
Covered deck with Weber gas grill
Breakfast, lunch and diner with a view
Bathtub and shower
New Bosch washer and dryer in unit
Chairs for our guests
Ocean side of the property for our guests to sit and relax.
View from the property towards the beach.
Orange tree for our guests to pick and juice
Our famous rainbows view from the deck.
or view from the ocean side. Rainbow is real!!!
Shade or sun, move the chairs and enjoy.
One of the many sunsets view from the property
View from the property on a wonderful sunset.
Your hosts, Craig and Valerie
Living area is upstairs. Garage for your car
Gated property. Park underneath the cottage, in the shade. Living area is upstairs.
Walk down past the main house and enjoy the lawn chairs
Lawn chairs, picnic table. They are yours to use.
In the shade of the coconut trees
Baldwin beach, just 5 mn drive from the cottage. My favorite beach to walk in the morning.
Baldwin Beach. 2 miles from the cottage. Great for walking, jogging and swimming.
Closest beach: 3 mn walk from the cottage. Tavares Bay.
In front of the property when the surf is up
My son at Jaws, just 20 mn from the cottage.
Marlon in Jaws' tube!!!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Paia, Maui, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jmus3323
Tucson, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little piece of paradise - a fantastic place to stay!”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We were fortunate to stay at the Maui by the Sea cottage for a recent vacation and had an amazing time. The cottage is lovely - clean, stocked with all the amenities you will need and has a deck that overlooks the ocean. There was even fresh picked fruit and banana bread waiting for us when we arrived! Valerie was a great host!

Paia was a great place from which to base our vacation - an easy drive to anywhere on the island (Lahaina, Walea, etc.), but allowed you to get away from the mega-resorts and kid-heavy areas (we were there during spring break). There are also several very nice (and less crowded) beaches in the area.

Overall, we would absolutely stay here again in Maui!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Reviewed 20 January 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kevin M
Calgary
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Such a beautiful location on the north shore of Maui”
Reviewed 22 September 2013 for a stay in March 2013

The hosts were so nice! She was willing to help in any way but also gave us 'space' to relax on this vacation. The hosts let us 'sample' some of the fruits on the trees in their yard. The view of the ocean, surfers, and turtles was so relaxing. The bed and pillows were perfect for us even though we have some back issues. We slept so good at night listening to the ocean waves. There was a nearby slow speed highway behind the property so we could hear noise but we could have turned on the air conditioner to cover that. It wasn't a real problem...but we could hear it...but we were also warned so it was all as expected. But overall, everything else was better then expected. We'd consider to stay here again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting on the lawn chairs right on the ocean at the front of the property watching the turtles and surfers.
Liked least: Tropical bugs and insects...but we were warned.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2013
Hi Kevin and Lucy,
Thanks for your review. Yes, we always want to make sure our guests have everything they need and give them as much information as possible to get the best of the island and enjoy their stay. Yet give them the privacy they need.
Kevin you are the only one in 13 years who has sent me of picture of yourself and your wife previous to your stay, so that I could visualize my future guests. What a neat thing to do. I'll never forget.
Have a great winter, and maybe we'll see you again,
Aloha from Warm Maui!
Valerie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amie A
Pacific Grove, California
1 review
“Cute, Clean Cottage”
Reviewed 2 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013

We had a very nice stay at this cottage. It is professionally run by a nice woman and in an easy location. It is private and has a decent view of the ocean. The bed is very comfortable.
The cottage is located right on the highway, as are most of the homes along that stretch, which was noticably noisy in the morning however it didnt interfer with our sleep. We were gone mostly during the day.
We would stay here again.

Thank you Valerie!

Amie and Derrick

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The easy and private location.
Liked least: The traffic noise
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Reviewed 26 November 2012 for a stay in November 2012
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Diane78
Carleton Place
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic, truly made our trip wonderful”
Reviewed 14 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012
3
people found this review helpful

Steve and I had the pleasure of staying here Oct 1 to Oct 8 2012 and we found this to be one of our favourite rentals ever. We were welcomed with a lovely fruit basket and banana bread and beautiful view of the ocean. The sunsets here are to die for. The owners are so friendly and welcoming and they are very helpful without being intrusive. The rental is well appointed and there is nothing we found lacking. The internet worked great and hardly watched TV but it was a new one and great selection of channels. The rental is gated for extra security.
The bed is very comfortable and even though we were close to the Hana Highway the sleep quiality is great! The bathroom is large and the shower pressure is great. The towels are great and the beach towels are new.
The BBQ works great and the supplies are awesome. Also lots of spices in kitchen as well.
The Lanai is too die for and you can sit down on the bank of the property and watch surfers and Stand up paddle boarders as well as an amazing sunset.
We jogged to Paia most days. It is really close but for some the walk may be a bit far. It is about a 6 min jog..
The drive to Hale Akala is about an hour and you are close to the airport and Lahaina and Kihei

Can't wait to come back...Thanks so much!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Lanai
Liked least: Leaving to go home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia Canada
Reviewed 13 August 2010 for a stay in April 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing