We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hawaiian-Mex, What a Combination”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Milagros Food Co

Milagros Food Co
Ranked #10 of 41 Restaurants in Paia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$15
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
73 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Hawaiian-Mex, What a Combination”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Paia is a strange town where the main attraction is the people. Consequently, having a Hawaiian-Mexican restaurant in the middle of town is probably not as strange as it sounds. The blackened fish tacos with mango/guava relish coupled with black beans and Spanish rice were delicious. My wife had a grilled fish sandwich with fruit salsa that was equally good. We visited the restaurant during happy hour (it was 1:00 PM on a Saturday so who knows when it starts) and were able to take advantage of the $3.00 margaritas. What a bargain! The restaurant is not the greatest looking place- I guess you can say it has character. It is definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mikelmask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    230
    70
    25
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Margarita!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Great food, staff and atmosphere. Feels like a real locals haunt. And you must try their margaritas!!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TenandStubbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Loved, Loved, Loved!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

This restaurant came highly recommended by someone who has a home there. We were not disappointed. The food and the drinks are delicious. Each dish has the chefs personal twist. We loved it and still talk about it. Our server was so much fun. She was one of the best ever and her selections for us were perfect. I can't say enough about this place. It is more of an adult restaurant though. I wouldn't bring kids there.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank shanchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocklin, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Delicious food, every time~!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

This is a great restaurant that reminds me of California restaurants; casual, hip, great food, people of all ages, good wait staff. I can't say there's anything that I didn't like here. They're reasonably priced...definitely not cheap, but not too ridiculously expensive either. I've been here twice (and not in the same year) and it has been consistently good. Apparently, it's also well known with the locals too. I've only been here during the day, so can't comment if the vibe or clientele changes at night. Only one way to find out.....try it for yourself~

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelinGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiku, Hawaii
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great ambiance, very good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is a regular restaurant for us. We have been going here for years. I would have given the place 5 stars a couple of years ago, but they have changed their food preparations so that the food isn't as good as it used to be, though it's still very good. Be sure to state what you need if you have a special diet. You can't tell by the menu alone. On this most recent visit, I ordered chicken fajitas, expecting to get corn tortillas as I can't eat wheat, but they arrived with wheat tortillas. The waitress made the switch. We always sit at an outside table, as we prefer it. They have inside tables, but it can get quite noisy.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Milagros Food Co also viewed

 

Been to Milagros Food Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing