We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reward your tummy!”
Review of Mama's Fish House

Mama's Fish House
Reserve with OpenTable
Mama's Fish House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 41 Restaurants in Paia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic, View
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hana Highway - Turn Left at the fishing boat
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Reward your tummy!”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Had made reservations a few day in advance, but if you want to sit by the window for romantic outdoor ocean view, need to wait additional time for availability of one of these tables. Bring a camera! we took several beautiful pictures outside while we waited for our table. Service was great. Food was delicious. However, we ordered appetizer of half-dozen oysters on half-shell--i think for $26-->too expensive and not worth it. Tasted fresh but oysters were very small and you only got HALF a dozen..(What were we thinking...) We should have ordered a different appetizer instead. For our meal, my husband and i both ordered Mahi Mahi stuffed with lobster and crab. Yummy!! A meal well worth the price. After all, you are in Maui-might as well treat yourself out to a nice meal.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bhsbabyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10,818 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8,530
    1,370
    607
    178
    133
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kispiox Valley, BC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The BEST food in the WORLD!”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

This place is absolutely amazing. I recommend that anyone who visit's Maui, splurge and eat here! It is a bit pricey, but all for good reason!! All of the seafood is caught that day. They type up a new menu every single day depending on the fish that the fishermen caught. The menu tells you who caught the fish that day and where they caught it. The service is 5 star, the drinks are incredible, but most of all, the food is simply out of this world amazing!
If you like fish/seafood... I HIGHLY recommend this restaurant. I have never eaten at a better restaurant.
Best to call and make a reservation AT least one day in advance! They are busy for a reason!
The generally close the kitchen at 9pm...which is late for Paia time :)

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank snowNsun23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ceres, California
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Deliciously Decadent”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

This restaurant is amazing. From the moment you step out of your car, free valet parking, to the moment you finish your meal, you are the center of attention. The service is impecable, the food, to die for ... flavors that literally melt in your mouth, and the setting, nestled in the lea of a cove on the north shore of Maui make this a destination not just a place to eat. We absolutely loved every minute of our time at Mama's. It is not a place for an economy meal but the price is worth every penny. We can not wait to go again.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ladykat000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good - could be great.”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

A second trip to Mama's in two years. This time, not so much a "great" dining experience but still very good. There is no limit to the number of restaurants on Maui that serve mahi - usually "macadamia crusted". Mama's is at least one of the best, and offers a number of great alteratives. Service is great, as are the desserts. Price is, well, significant. Get used to that in Maui.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheKidsAreAlright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annapolis
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“best on maui”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

a plus service view food go early before sunset,also Have a reserveration very important

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank don c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mama's Fish House also viewed

 

Been to Mama's Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing