We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the drive. So glad we reserved a table!”
Review of Mama's Fish House

Mama's Fish House
Reserve with OpenTable
Mama's Fish House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 41 Restaurants in Paia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hana Highway - Turn Left at the fishing boat
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Worth the drive. So glad we reserved a table!”
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Although i have travelled many times to Hawaii, this was my first time to Maui. I was told to check our mama fish house as a must do while there. I booked well in advance ( thank Goodness) as when we arrived the place was FULL. We were tols the next opening was on the 6th of Jan and we were there on the 30th. The food was amazing! service, over the top.
We had a beautiful table for 2. Very romantic. I will go back for sure.
PS They have FREE valet parking so you do not need to walk in heels to far. Careful of the incline down to the house.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jacquelinemcgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10,838 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A dining experience”
Reviewed 14 January 2013

From the minute you vallet park until you get back in your car, this truly is an experience!

The walk to the restaurant is beautful. Make sure that you arrive for your reservation early so that you can take pictures on the beach and in front of the restaurant.

The service is first class and the meal does not dissapoint. They are famous for their stuffed Mahi Mahi, but there are many other fantastic menu choices. It is worth it to dine here a couple of times while you are on the island to try different dishes.

The prices at Mama's are comparable with other higher end restaurants, but very few restaurants have this location!

If you are hoping to sample their extensive wine list, there is the Inn at Mama's fish house located on the property. We stayed there December 27th through 29th of 2012 and were able to walk back to our room after dinner. The Inn is fantastic with seperate lanais and clean, spacious rooms.

If you are heading to Maui, don't pass up the opportunity to visit this gem!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Billtill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best meal of the trip!”
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Went to Hawaii for two weeks for our honeymoon, stayed on Kauai and Maui and this was one of our best meals of the trip. It was so hard to choose that we ended up coming back for a second dinner on our last night of the trip and just ate at the bar without a reservation. It's a must while in Maui!

Visited October 2012
Thank chicago31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware, United States
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Locally Caught, but Priced for Import”
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Ate here on first night on Maui and was not disappointed, but was not overly impressed either. I am a food person and when I read that the local fishermen were making the catches and bringing them to the restaurant, I was impressed and couldn't wait to check this place out.

The service and the decor were very good. The place is right on the beach, dimly lit by flaming tiki torches. We had a 7pm reservation, and while we arrived about 5 minutes early, we had to be wait until 7:15pm for the 7pm seating. This made me feel like I was cattle on a cruise ship. It is an extremely busy restaurant, so make sure you have reservations.

We never had to wait for our drinks and our server was very knowledgable about the menu. At one point, she even let my partner try a wine before he actually ordered. This was a nice touch because the alcohol prices were outrageous and he didn't care for the first glass of wine that he had.

For appetizer, we had the oysters ($24 for 6) and the fish cheek ($18 for 2). The oysters were fresh and the cheeks were deep fried, but very good. For the entree we had the Traditional Hawaiian with the mahimahi and wild boar ($48) & the mahimahi stuffed with lobster and crab ($52). In addition, we both had two drinks - wine ($14/$18) & kettle one with soda ($16) and a scorpion ($18). The food was good and the portions were average.

I do not feel like the food & drink delivered the value the price point promised. It was an average meal, and I had my share of $250 meals (including tip) that have been off the charts and this was not one of them. If it wasn't for the great table side service we received and the atmosphere this would have been rated as poor.

This place is not for the foodie at heart.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MamasFishHouse, Social Media & Marketing Coordinator at Mama's Fish House, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Dear David M,

We are sorry that we were not able to seat you at the exact time of your reservation. We strive to always seat our guests as closely to their reservation time as possible, however due to the nature of our business and the unique setting of Mama's Fish House there are times when people linger a bit longer than we had anticipated. We are sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused you.


Mama’s Fish House

* Our Scorpion drink is $16, this review has it listed at $18
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“You come to Maui, you eat here, it is that simple”
Reviewed 13 January 2013

This is "the place" to eat in Maui. Great food, drinks, but there will be a wait, so make sure to get reservations and get them early. Mama's is located away from the main stay in Maui, so keep that in mind also. But it is very worth the drive , and the price as everything is themed how you think of Maui. A small tip, get there to enjoy their private beach before the sun goes down, it is one of the best on the island!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1 Thank weaselz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mama's Fish House also viewed


Been to Mama's Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing