We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to eat in Paia”
Review of Mama's Fish House

Mama's Fish House
Reserve with OpenTable
Mama's Fish House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 41 Restaurants in Paia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic, View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hana Highway - Turn Left at the fishing boat
Placitas, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Best place to eat in Paia”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

A local took us here saying he had been coming there since the late 70s. We loved the Ono & Maui. Customer service was fantastic,
1. Key thing you must make is a reservation, do not go without one.
2. They park your car for you, only option, be prepared.
3. Little bit costly, but food is great

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CavemanHHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10,830 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8,541
    1,371
    607
    178
    133
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kennewick, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good but over priced”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Four of us had dinner here. The food was good but no better than the food we had at Duke's, Kimo's, the Hula Grill, and Roy's. Mama's is a beautiful place to eat but it's easily twice as expensive as the other restaurants I mentioned. Dinner for two with wine and tip was well over $200. I ordered a lobster soup here that was exactly like the lobster soup I had at Kimo's in Lahaina and at Duke's. However, it was twice as much. Probably won't eat here again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BillDiane2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Treated like baggage”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We chose Mama's as a special night during our Hawaii vacation based on reviews. We arrived about 5:45. The hostess was very put off that we had no reservation and immediately began to treat us like baggage. We were told to wait 30-40 minutes and dismissed. An hour later we approached the hostess to check our place on the list. She said we'll need to continue waiting. Many others arrived after us, apparently with reservations. For 15-20 minutes we were the only people waiting outside. Finally when we were seated after about 80 minutes, we were given the worst table in the restaurant right at the entrance with everyone parading past our table. Our server was cold to us at first but warmed up after a couple visits to our table. We both ordered seafood which was delicious. The atmosphere (except the hallway leading into the restaurant) is outstanding if they permit you to sit there. Why would a touristy restaurant with premium prices treat anyone like baggage? We will never go back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveCarmel42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MamasFishHouse, social Media & Marketing Coordinator at Mama's Fish House, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear LoveCamel42,

We are very sorry to hear that you felt as though you were treated like baggage. That is most certainly not how we want any of our guests to feel and we take your comments very seriously. We apologize for the extended wait, however our busiest time of the evening tends to be right about the time you arrived as most of our guests are attempting to enjoy their meals while watching the beautiful sunset. Our website and social media pages all communicate that reservations are highly recommended as we are consistently exceedingly busy.

We will look into your incident and get back to you with a
private message on TA, you may also feel free
to directly contact our General Manager, Tami, on her office phone at
808-270-0906. If you call her on the weekend, she will get back to you
on Monday.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Can't Stay Away”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Easily in my top three ever restaurants - would not go to Maui without catching up with this restaurant.

Best food, best service, best surroundings- don't miss it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wow food”
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

I had fish and chips and my husband had southern style mahi mahi burger. Fantastic . Both of us loved our dishes. Prompt service , friendly atmosphere, cheap and outdoors sitting ! Lovely!

Helpful?
2 Thank Gapluching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mama's Fish House also viewed

 

Been to Mama's Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing