We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and ambiance”
Review of Mama's Fish House

Mama's Fish House
Reserve with OpenTable
Mama's Fish House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 41 Restaurants in Paia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hana Highway - Turn Left at the fishing boat
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food and ambiance”
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

I absolutely loved Mama's! The dinning experience was the best- friendly and knowledgable staff, great food and wines.
I love the restaurant, we reserved a table looking the shore. It is a super busy place, you must make reservations.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Veronica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10,729 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8,470
    1,353
    600
    176
    130
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Two Thumbs Up”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Our visit to Mama's was exceptional in every way. The service, from valet to hostess to waiters, was efficient and friendly. We didn't have reservations but only had a twenty minute wait for lunch. And "waiting" is really not a problem when you are sitting on their patio gazing at one of the most stunning beaches on Maui. Yes, this is an expensive restaurant. It is unusual for us to spend $175.00 for lunch, but it was worth every penny. The meal started with a delicious taster of tomato/ginger bisque. We both had the macadamia coated mahi-mahi stuffed with crab and lobster--just as decadent as it sounds--and Chardonnay. We had an outstanding meal in this lovely restaurant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Must be on your destinations in Maui”
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

We ate at several excellent restaurants while in Maui, but Mama's deserves its reputation as the best on the island. Make a reservation and arrive early to take pictures in the daylight of the beautiful cove in front of the restaurant. The atmosphere is relaxed. Both the food and service rivaled anything we have encountered in our travels throughout the U.S. and Europe.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great View, Great Meal”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Mama's Fish House is located in a beautiful cove and well worth the trip; making a reservation will assure you of a table.

Upon our arrival we were met by a valet (let them park your car, parking is limited). Walking down to the restaurant you pass a beautiful beach area; it 's the most beautiful view from a restaurant I've ever seen.

We were seated within 10 minutes of our reservations and asked if it was our first visit, this is probably why we got a seat dead center to that view I've mentioned, right by the windows "priceless seats".

Our hostess was very friendly and the selections were great even for my non-fish eating wife who loved the Mahi Mahi. Some of the deserts are works of art, we chose to have the apple crisp with vanilla ice cream and it was very good as well.

There are many beautiful flowers and interesting pictures throughout the restaurant. If you want to have a very nice meal in a beautiful place; this is the place for you.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Worth the price”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We found Mama's both in the famous blue book, "Maui Revealed," and by talking to locals, who said it's the best restaurant on the island. We ate lunch there, since reservations for dinner were filled for the entire week (it was Valentine's week)! The beautiful setting is half the experience, but the food is outstanding, both in presentation and in taste. The prices were very high, but we knew we were paying for the whole experience, not just the food. There were fresh flower arrangements everywhere; even fresh flowers adorning the extra TP rolls in the restroom! Prepare to pay $200 for two for lunch; can't imagine what a dinner would cost! But go, by all means. It's an experience you will remember your whole life.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mama's Fish House also viewed

 

Been to Mama's Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing