We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the splurge”
Review of Mama's Fish House

Mama's Fish House
Reserve with OpenTable
Mama's Fish House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 41 Restaurants in Paia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, View, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hana Highway - Turn Left at the fishing boat
Corona, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth the splurge”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This is the place to go when celebrating something special. They treat you like kings. Reservations highly recommended. Be sure to let them know what you're celebrating. Food is fresh and delicious but a little pricey so we ordered two starters split entree and dessert. Weren't stuffed but satisfied. You are right on the water and the ambience is wonderful. Way better than a luau.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Friendsfamily2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10,411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8,212
    1,322
    576
    173
    128
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Gastronomic Nirvana”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

A truly memorable dining experience awaits you at Mama's. From the moment you step on the property you can't help but feel you're in for a special treat. The seaside setting is ridiculously gorgeous, the dining room is a visual feast of eclectic and thematic decor, and the staff is the friendliest and most attentive my wife and I have come across. But the piece de resistance is the incredible food. You'll want to start with one of the specialty drinks so you can take your time while you decide what to order from the extensive (and fun to read) daily menu. With so many great selections, our group of four decided to get a different appetizer, entree, and dessert and share them with each other. Everything that was placed in front of us was uber delicious and it seemed that each course was better than the previous one. I can only imagine what the diners next to us thought with all of the ooing and ahhing coming from our table as we literally devoured our meal. I really can't say enough about Mama's except that we loved our first visit so much that we made a special day trip from Honolulu just to have lunch there. It is by far our most favorite restaurant of all time!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Mama's Fish House is a MUST!”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Incredible food, service and the view can't be beat! We splurged and had 3 courses and all of them were delicious!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tara_M622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
73 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We went without a reservation and only had to wait 5 minutes - just lucky probably. Very nice atmosphere - very open and up-scale tropical in feel. Both my wife and I ordered fish - it was very good. Some have complained about the price but I think it was about right for the quality of the food and the atmosphere and compared to other Hawaii places - it is a nice place. I would go back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Simply Paradise”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

So exotic it made me giggle with excitement. The restaurant is virtually outdoors with a decor of tropical flowers and hand-sewn stretched leather chairs looking out over the most beautiful surf imaginable. But the best part is the fish story. Every fish served comes with a description of who and where it was caught! An unforgettable dining experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcia2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mama's Fish House also viewed

 

Been to Mama's Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing