We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dishes lacked pizazz but service was nice.”
Review of Fresh Mint - CLOSED

Fresh Mint
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dishes lacked pizazz but service was nice.”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I took a seat at the window, facing gorgeous I'ao Valley. I ordered the summer rolls. They were sweetly presented, quickly. But had a dry quality and lack of overall flavor. The sauce also was just okay. I also ordered the "spicy lemongrass eggplant." It was not spicy at all. The eggplant was nicely cooked but overall the dish and the experience was not memorable.

I do recommend the Thai ice tea with coconut milk at this Vietnamese vegan restaurant.

It is located across from the post office about a half mile mauka (away from ocean) from "downtown" Paia.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aquariantraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    16
    7
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Caspar, California
Level Contributor
187 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Unusual flavors and great care”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

This little dive isn't atmospheric, but the food's tasty. Be advised that your fish won't have swum and your chicken didn't start as an egg: the protein here is derived from tofu, and some diners -- my wife, for example -- prefer their soy products as what they are, not masquerading as something they aren't. If it tastes great, you can call it anything you like.
The pseudo-fish dish was fish shaped and deliciously sauced. The vegetables were fresh and carefully prepared.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunhawk95420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
87 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“The place we all agree to meet up.”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

This is a family owned type of place. Employees are friendly. Decor is basic, food is good. Sometimes it is empty and sometimes packed. When packed it is loud. Since it is so casual it is a good place to take kids.

Feel free to describe your needs. If you are looking for a lot of food for a certain price they can add rice. I've tried several dishes in the last month and all were good. One which was mushrooms and fake beef was very good. The Pho left me stuffed.

There is on street parking and a dirt lot across the street. Be careful not to block the nearby post office or drives as I've heard you'll be towed. The restroom is through the kitchen and up some steps so not really easy access. The bathroom door will slam and smash your hand so take care. The place is clean. I'll be returning as I consider it tasty. Not all persons in our group are vegetarian but it is the one place we all agree on going.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SubicChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Vegan Restaurant”
Reviewed 27 March 2013 via mobile

The Fresh Mint is on Baldwin in Paia, across the street from the post office. It is a bit of a walk up hill from the main business area in Paia but well worth it. I am not Vegan but this is still one of my favorite restaurants on Maui.

My favorite items are the Veggie Pho, the spicy ginger beef and the fried rice with veggies and curry.

Expect a wait, small family owned business and the service reflects that. The atmosphere is not great but the food is excellent. Free parking in lot across the street.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hanksnow5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Filling”
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Asian Vegetarian restaurant serving large portions of tasty food. Excellent salads, soups that were meals in themselves and a variety of rice and noodle dishes with subtle spicing.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fresh Mint also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing