We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“CLOSED”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Fresh Mint - CLOSED

Fresh Mint
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“CLOSED”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

After a 2 hour drive from Hana, I was disappointed to discover that they closed permanently June 29.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Melinda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    16
    7
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Erding, Germany
Level Contributor
174 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“good with upside potential”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

for a restaurant not really good (friendly waitress was also the chef), for fast food great!

veggies fresh, broth tasty, peanut sauce nice, fresh coconut awesome. prices were decent.

somewhere between 3 and 4 points, but in order to support veggie chefs decided to give 4.

Helpful?
Thank Magic_Jenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't miss!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

My husband and I were SO happy we decided to eat here! Honestly probably my favorite place we ate the whole time. Environment is spartan, but the prices are super reasonable (you're not paying for an ocean front location, etc). Food was delicious - My husband had the soy chicken and veggies and it was the best fake meat we've ever had - I wish I knew where they got it! Only disappointing thing about this place is that there weren't enough people in there. Wish it was super busy for the owners. Loved loved loved it! We found it on our last day and were so bummed we hadn't discovered it earlier. Honestly if there was one here I'd eat there regularly.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KTWiggins7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

I just wish I could have eaten here every night I was in Maui. The food was so good, affordable, and I'm going to miss it when I go home!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank newfriendseverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
163 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Casual Zen”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

I am always on the hunt for tasty vegetarian or vegan restaurants on my travels, so I was keen to try Fresh Mint in the delightful and funky town of Paia. We strolled in for dinner (mid-week) and were warmly greeted to a table right away. One could not help notice the ceiling fans with green and pink energy efficient bulbs and a wall of hanging Vietnamese instruments to give the casual restaurant a bit of interest.
Four of us shared a number of dishes that proved to be ample and extremely reasonable in cost. We began with the fresh garden vegetable soup; very light and lacking in any distinctive taste; mediocre at best. The fresh autumn rolls - consisting of mixed steamed vegetables, tofu and fresh herbs, served with a home made plum sauce, were pronounced the best dish of them all; refreshingly steamed, rather than fried. Next came the much anticipated eggplant with basil - sauteed eggplant with onions, tofu and basil in a sauce. It sounded better on paper than in reality as the dish was way too salty to be palatable and we ended up abandoning it and moving on to the other choices. The sweet and sour tofu, with pineapple, onions and tomatoes in a sweet and sour ginger sauce was quite tasty, but the the Pad Thai was excellent. I would not say that the food was typically representative of Vietnamese food, but it was pleasant for a once in a blue moon outing. Perhaps the emphasis on faux meat and soy based products was off-putting. Since wonderful fresh vegetables abound in Maui, I would have thought there would be more emphasis on that.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M-Evan-Chen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing