We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always solid!”
Review of Flatbread Company

Flatbread Company
Ranked #3 of 41 Restaurants in Paia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Always solid!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We come to Maui every couple of months and get to Flatbread at least once per visit. We usually split a flatbread and each get a house salad(add delicious local avocado) omg the dressing! It's mouthwatering! Oh, and we usually go after beach time so we get the special cocktail whatever it it that day, yum! It's especially refreshing if it has local lilikoi as an ingredient! Then nap time!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lulu_specialist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,943 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,328
    471
    107
    33
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maui, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best Pizza?”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I have heard this was the best pizza on the island. So while in Paia, we stopped by for lunch. Its called Flatbreads for a reason. Your crust is flatbread. Duh. It has a menu for those who like non meat or gluten which is ok and perfect for this town of misfits. It had good flavor and I did like the pizza. This is not pizza. It is Flatbread cooked in an open brick oven with pizza toppings. The place is nicely decorated in wood and very warm. No a/c unless you go upstairs. Service was good as expected. All in all it was just ok. Parking and traffic is terrible in Paia and it does not have any ocean or shoreline ambiance. I will say it is the best Flatbread pizza on the island, so far. I got a look at salads and they did look really good. Bathrooms were so small and smelly, just though i would add that.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mark w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great service”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Our last lunch in Hawaii was here. We were just going to have flatbread but the waiter said they are best known for their salad. It was the best thing on the menu for sure, very light, all ingredients locally grown. We also ordered 3flatbreads. Pepperoni and mushroom, it said nitrate free, which I think it meant flavor free. My son said next time we need to ask for extra nitrate.lol the flatbread itself was very good but definitely a healthy version. The taco FB was not good at all. Great service.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cindy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
1,663 reviews
836 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,234 helpful votes
“One of the best Pizzas we have ever had”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I was really looking forward to trying this restaurant. It looked fun, the menu looked good and it was always busy when we went past.
We finally visited on the last day of our holiday.....i so wish we had been before, as I definitely would have gone back !
It serves organic local produce and it is yummy. The pizza toppings are unique and wonderful and there are plenty to choose from, including a make your own option.
We had 2, 12 inch pizzas, so we could take some home with us. One carne and one vegetarian. They were both cooked to perfection in the large stone oven. The topping were plentiful, tasty, fresh, delicious, I could go on forever!
Without doubt I would recommend this to anyone who likes local fresh tasty food and anyone who likes a good pizza!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellover6128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, BC
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Amazing Pizza”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This was another place recommended to us. We stopped at Flatbread Pizza after walking around Paia. Nice way to end a half day of walking/shopping. We watched our pizzas being cooked in the brick oven. Very cool. There was 5 of us. We had several different pizzas, with one vegetarian in the group. If you order a 16" pizza you can get 1/2 and 1/2...try that option. Yummy. Wife and I were worried that a 16" would be too much for the two of us. Boy, were we wrong. We gobbled up the whole thing!! This pizza is to die for. The crust is thin, so you're not filling up on bread. Incredible food.

On a not so good note, the servers lacked personality. Not sure if that's the vibe they are trying for or if they were just tired. They seemed to be happy to see their fellow servers when they arrived to work. But given Paia is a major tourist stop, you would think they would be friendlier. Maybe they are just tired of tourists???

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Islandguy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flatbread Company also viewed

 

Been to Flatbread Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing