We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank God for Banana Bungalow!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thank God for Banana Bungalow!!”
Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

We have been traveling the island for couple weeks.Having stayed at a few of the other Hostels on the island we expected the same when we arrived at Banana Bungalow. What a refreshing surprise. Our room was clean,organized and had everything we needed. It didnt have that in your face management we found at the other Hostels , but when we needed litterally anything they were immediately accommodating.. Most important thing to us was to have peace,quite and a good nights sleep. I wanted to take my bed home with me. it was awesome. We stayed for 6 nights and not one time was our sleep disturbed by neighbors or outside noise. We look forward to coming back here. It was definitely a home away from home.The best thing of all was the price. Unbelievably cheap. I dont know how they do it . we will be back!!!!! Mauii Rocks!!!! Gretchen

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gbrunzelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    126
    53
    43
    50
See reviews for
8
80
231
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant Grove, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

I decided to stay at the Banana Bungalow because of the inexpensive price, free pancake breakfast each morning, and free tours. I stayed longer because of the great staff and new friends I made. This place really treats you like you are family, and it is easy to adjust to. Whether you are new to hostels or a veteran, I recommend checking these guys out. They know the culture and the history of the islands. The tour guides are awesome and fun to chat with. They provide killer tips beyond what you do with the hostel as well. I did not love the bathrooms but other than that absolutely no complaints!

Room Tip: I would recommend getting a room with 4 beds and not 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuckySpin7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

I stayed here my last week in Maui and had an amazing time. The staff were all super awesome and the tours were well worth the $10-$20 tip you give your driver at the end of the day. It was clean enough and the beds weren't the most comfortable but that is the trade off of being at a hostel. Overall I loved it and met a ton of people who I will not soon forget!

Room Tip: I would honestly just go with a dorm room as you are so busy during the day that you literally go to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaylin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We had an awesome time at Banana Bungalow hostel. The rooms are clean, the bathrooms and showers are shared but there are a few private ones if you would prefer that. The staff is superfriendly and professional. The hostel offers free tours everyday! Don't miss the sunday tour to little beach if you are planning to stay at this hostel. The kitchen is clean and easy to use. The loungearea with pooltable and TV is nice, and the seating area outside is a really sweet place to hang out in the evenings. We met so many amazing people and had a fantastic time at this hostel, thanks for having us guys and we look forward to come back in the close future!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Its a hostel, noisy and full of people trying to out travel each other, but you should know that already. Very clean, secure rooms. Lots of staff, all seemed very helpful. The best part was they have different tours set up each day that all you have to pay is a tip for the driver/guide. A lot of these tours would cost you $100+ to do on your own. Sign early the day before as space is limited on them. if you miss out and have a car you can follow the tour, just remember you should tip the driver/ guide as well.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandyclipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2013

The hostel is full of diversity. Everyday there is free tour. In the evening you can enjoy your time with all the traveller and planify some new adventure for the next day. One of the best experience of my life was to swam with dolphins at 6 o'clock in the morning a pure delight!! every moment was perfect!! :D I recommand it !!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GabrielleSykuico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We spent our second week in Hawaii, on the island of Maui where we booked a Bungalow Private Twins (2 single beds)... Thanks God!
To start with, every spots were clean; bathroom, bedroom, kitchen, lounge. I think the reason is quite simple. People that work there are also people that live there so they don't want to live in a dirty hostel since they stay for at least a month. Second, these employees are so friendly and comprehensive.
They offer free tours as you might have read in every single post... Worth it definitely. If you don't wanna give a 10-20$ tip for something that would be worth normally between 50$ and 150$, rent a car and try to do it yourself :).
I can say I made over 10 friends by staying there for a week. Don't be shy and share laughs with people in the lounge at night time!
We made BBQ, group dinners a couple time; you have everything you need in the Kitchen to cook.
Only negative point is the location of the hostel... No interesting supermarket within 30 minutes walk. THOUGH... As I say, have fun, make friends and you will realize that some of your friends have a car... Split the fuel and everything is all set!
Loved it.

Room Tip: Try to have a room with a window that is not right across N Market St, it will be more quieter that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailuku
2.2 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
1,058 reviews
2.0 mi away
Maui Beach Hotel
Maui Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kahului
533 reviews
3.5 mi away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,126 reviews
11.3 mi away
The Tiki Beach Hostel
The Tiki Beach Hostel
#33 of 41 in Lahaina
62 reviews
13.5 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel

Property: Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel
Address: 310 N Market St, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793-1159
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailuku
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Wailuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel caters to backpackers, travelers and surfers wanting to get the best out of Maui,and the best value for their money. Your stay comes with a friendly atmosphere, camaraderie, and friendships that last a lifetime. We offer more free amenities than any other hostel in Hawaii, probably the world. We offer FREE TOURS of MAUI EVERY DAY!: 12-Mile Haleakala Volcano Hike, The Road to Hana, Iao Valley Rainforest Hike, Whale Watching (seasonal), Snorkel with Turtles, Historic Lahaina and Paia Towns, Beaches, Beaches, Beaches!Large Tropical Garden with 7-Person Jacuzzi, Large Shared Kitchen, Free Wi-Fi, Free Internet Computer, Free pancake breakfast, Free keg parties every Friday night! "BACKPACKERS SHOULD HEAD TO BANANA BUNGALOW" - Frommer's 2011, "LIVELY AND COSMOPOLITAN HOSTEL" - Fodor's 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bungalow Maui Hotel Wailuku
Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel Wailuku, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing