We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time”
Review of Calypso

Calypso
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Calypso, the island's newest high-speed, triple-decker catamaran with plenty of comfortable seating for its passengers. Calypso was delivered to Maui in June 2017, and it's the only triple decker Catamaran on the island! Snorkel Molokini and Turtle Town on this state-of-the-art vessel. Features included 2 slides, 11 dive steps, 3 bathrooms, glass bottom viewing area and more. Gear, breakfast, lunch and drinks included. 11 dive steps make entry to and exit from the water simple. Snorkeling Molokini is a must do for Maui! Visit Maui's #1 snorkeling and diving destinations named Molokini. Molokini is an extinct volcanic cone that offers 180 feet of snorkeling visibility. If you need additional entertainment, take advantage of our water slide or leap off the second deck. It is easy to use and kids can have a blast. If you don't want to snorkel, take a peek at the reef through our dedicated glass bottom viewing room. We have a crew in the water at all times to keep an eye on our snorkelers and swimmers. After leaving Molokini, our second snorkeling spot is Turtle Town. This location offers a unique experience to swim with the Hawaiian Green Sea Turtles. Calm blue water, beautiful coral and turtles make for a really fun and exciting time. After Turtle Town, you will enjoy our lunch buffet. Barbecued pulled pork and chicken sandwiches, pasta salad, and water front dining highlight this experience. For desert enjoy delicious chocolate chip cookies. There is also a vegetarian option.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Reviewed 25 June 2018

Great Boat ride, included breakfast, lunch and snorkelling. The crew was top notch, very friendly and knowledgable. Lunch was a bit disappointing, pulled pork and chicken teriyaki were told there would be a vegetarian option, but never given one. Snorkelling was a bit crowded, but was still good as we were first time snorkelers and still felt very safe. Would definitely recommend this boat ride although it is quite expensive, unless you get a deal via timeshare, etc..which we did.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BossFrogAccount, General Manager at Calypso, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Glad you had a great time aboard the Calypso and took advantage of the vacation membership tour option to get a great deal. NOW you can come back EVERY year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"turtle town"
in 28 reviews
"molokini crater"
in 16 reviews
"hot breakfast"
in 3 reviews
"middle level"
in 2 reviews
"customer service oriented"
in 2 reviews
"fish"
in 33 reviews
"fun filled"
in 2 reviews
"trip highlight"
in 2 reviews
"scrambled eggs"
in 2 reviews
"makena landing"
in 2 reviews
"great captain"
in 2 reviews
"bigger boat"
in 2 reviews
"included breakfast"
in 2 reviews
"underwater photographer"
in 2 reviews
"snorkeling excursion"
in 3 reviews
"the water was crystal clear"
in 2 reviews
"great excursion"
in 3 reviews
Filter

45 - 49 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2018

We knew we wanted to do a snorkelling tour and had a lot to choose from. The Calypso was suggested by the concierge desk in our condo. The staff was amazing, the food was great, and the snorkelling was all I ever imagined for our first time. When we return to Maui, this will be on the top of our list.
We purchased the entire reel of photos and it was delivered via email 2-days later. We have over 700 photos to choose from to make our album about our trip.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank C5696BBjenniferb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BossFrogAccount, General Manager at Calypso, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Wow thanks for the epic review! We are so glad you had a great time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

We enjoyed our trip on the Calypso very much. We were first to Molokini and got the best spot to snorkel in. The guide was very helpful in the water identifying fish and plants in the ocean. The food was also very good. Because of the weather, we weren't able to find any turtles at the second stop so that was a fail but I can't fault this crew for that.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank cassiebruns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BossFrogAccount, General Manager at Calypso, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Glad you had a delightful day on Calypso, thanks for coming aboard!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

The boat was well equipped with all you might need. The staff were very knowledgeable, helpful and fun! I unfortunately suffered sea-sickness and the staff looked after me so well. I would happily recommend to anyone.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank samph0enix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

You are able to go to Molokini Crater and Turtle Town. We had a group of 4. They recommend you have a diving buddy when you are out there. The lifeguards sit at the end of the usual areas you can swim. We were able to see plenty of unique fish, sea turtles, an eel, and an octopus. The crew was really friendly and comforted one of us who became seasick.

Thank BlueChipChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Calypso also viewed

 

Been to Calypso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing