We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit”

Hale Ho'ike'ike at the Bailey House
Book In Advance
More Info
US$148.96*
and up
Maui Value Pass
Ranked #15 of 47 things to do in Wailuku
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Hale Hoʻikeʻike is a history museum which showcases the largest collection of Hawaiian Antiquities on Maui. Located on the site of Kahekili's Royal Residence, Hale Hoʻikeʻike houses artifacts from Hawaii's pre-western contact era, missionary era, Monarchy era, and plantation era. Situated just on the way to Iao Valley State Park it is a stop you will not want to miss.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We would like to share with you that a visit to the Bailey House Museum was one of the highlights of our trip to Maui. We liked it because it was "off the bus tour track" and therefore quiet, secluded and had all we love to do i.e. picnic in the grounds, learn a lot about the Hawaiian culture and purchase super disks of local music in the gift shop. Later in our stay we attended an outdoor fundraising concert which was such a terrific end to our holiday. We got to meet and share time with the famous musician Geoge Kahumoku Jr. who plays the slack, 12 string guitar so expertly. The concert was casual - we brought our picnic supper along and ate while we listened. Thank goodness the wonderful museum curator, Travis, had taken the trouble to erect awnings as it poured. The weather enhanced the experience.
Local artists had tables where art and crafts were sold.
Thanks to Travis for his efforts to make the Bailey House Museum a success.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    53
    22
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Peaceful view of history”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Lots of interesting artifacts in the home of a missionary with diverse interests. Ask questions of the staff, and learn more about how Hawaii was when it took months to get there.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidney, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“January 25, 2013 Moonlight Concert”
Reviewed 31 January 2013

The moonlight concert was a real Hawaiian treat. Excellent music outside in perfect weather. A few patrons were distracting (not an event you want to bring a hyperactive child to), but on the whole a great experience.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
247 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Display interesting blend of native and missionary cultures”
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Certainly the natives were not appreciative of the English missionaries who came to "save" them, but the Bailey family contributed in more ways than just religious conversion. This informative museum on beautifull-kept grounds is a great learning experience for young and not-so-young. It is not a large establishment, and a couple of hours is more than sufficient.
Well worth the small admission fee!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank JARPHX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“diane E”
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Visiting the Bailey Museum was a really enjoyable addition to our trip. The home and the history was wonderful. The Bailey home is on a beautiful site. The kind of home you can imagine living in, in years past.
Jake, the docent has a wonderful way of sharing the history of the this place and of ancient history on the island of Maui.
Next,
continue up the hill to Ioa Valley. Its is quite amazing! A wonderful hike into the green, lush forests. Very safe, can take your children.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Diane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hale Ho'ike'ike at the Bailey House also viewed

 

Been to Hale Ho'ike'ike at the Bailey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing