We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A look back at early Maui”

Hale Ho'ike'ike at the Bailey House
Book In Advance
More Info
US$148.96*
and up
Maui Value Pass
Ranked #15 of 47 things to do in Wailuku
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Hale Hoʻikeʻike is a history museum which showcases the largest collection of Hawaiian Antiquities on Maui. Located on the site of Kahekili's Royal Residence, Hale Hoʻikeʻike houses artifacts from Hawaii's pre-western contact era, missionary era, Monarchy era, and plantation era. Situated just on the way to Iao Valley State Park it is a stop you will not want to miss.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Lenoir City, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A look back at early Maui”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Not only is the structure from a bygone era, there are displays throughout the rooms of furniture, apparel, utensils, pictures, and you can "see" what Maui was built on years ago. It is a peaceful setting, too.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    57
    22
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pahoa, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“a quaint little museum”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

if you would like to visit a very nice little museum go to the Bailey House , the displays are educational and interesting and the landscaping is beautiful.....a very peaceful location

the special events are always well done and entertaining

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank norman m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
No. California
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
116 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Beautiful Art”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We enjoyed the architecture, exhibits, history, photos and original art by Mr. Bailey. The Bailey House is surrounded by lovely landscaped grounds. The trees afford lovely cooling shade to park under. There are locally made crafts in the gift shop.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2onvacaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jumpin' all over the world
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Pretty interesting”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We really enjoyed our visit to the Bailey House Museum because we went there on a day when they were having a fundraising event with traditional music and chanting and dancing. There was also a special history exhibit. We enjoyed the regular museum exhibits, but it was really the event and special exhibit that made us really enjoy our visit. I would still recommend a short visit to see the regular museum, but if you can go when they're having an event it'll be even better. The gift shop has some very nice local, handmade items.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank RachelinKabul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kihei, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“History well displayed”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Loved all the detail about the people who settled in Hawaii. Loved learning about the history, methods of fishing, history of wars, family life.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank julie1707asdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hale Ho'ike'ike at the Bailey House also viewed

 

Been to Hale Ho'ike'ike at the Bailey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing