We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed due to a natural disaster.

“Could Be Much More” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Iao Valley State Monument

Iao Valley State Monument
Book In Advance
More Info
US$179.00*
and up
Mauka to Makai Eco Adventure Tour In Maui
Ranked #3 of 46 things to do in Wailuku
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Iao Valley State Monument, Maui, will remain closed indefinitely due to extensive damage from heavy rain and flooding the night of September 13 and early morning on September 14, 2016.
North Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Could Be Much More”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Iao state park is a nice destination if you are in need of a short walk on paved path ways. It is pretty to stroll thru but does not offer much in terms of spectacular views. However, it could be so much more without upsetting its role as a nature conservancy. There are many unofficial trails that lead off the main paths that take you on some serious hiking. Technically off-limits but, from the number of hikers this is not enforced. Good, solid walking shoes are required as the trails can be steep with an elevation gain of about 400 meters (1350 feet). The further you go the better the views and, it is great exercise! This park could easily be developed into a hiking destination.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,542 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    696
    584
    220
    29
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaumont, Alberta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Short drive from town. $5 to park and a short hike around to see everything. The needle is a beautiful site, surrounded by soaring mountains! Went for a short wade in the stream by the lowest section of the trails. Watched some of the locals swimming below the walking bridge.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fireweedheavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parksville, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Worth the easy drive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Spectacular scenery, easy paved pathways. We enjoyed our morning visit, only takes about an hour to walk all the paths. Take your camera.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Rogerw303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

My husband and I went there after our flight from Oahu to Maui. It was a rainy afternoon, but we still enjoyed the view even though we didn't hike to the top. We walked up the stairs and wondered around. The "needle" looks breathtaking. The fee you pay is $5 to park the car. There were a few people swimming in a pool.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Megi68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
211 reviews
164 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Really cool and no hiking required for the great photo ops”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Well worth thew $5 parking fee. Especially when you give the parking attendant a $100 bill and receive back 1-$50 bill, 2-$20 bills, 1-$5 bill, and 5-$1 bills.

Great view of the needle and an interesting spot to see Polynesian history. There are plenty of guava trees that were dropping tons of ripe guavas when we were there. Very delicious surprise. There is also a creek not too far of a hike away.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank theschuay86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Iao Valley State Monument also viewed

Haleakala National Park, Maui
Haleakala National Park, Maui
 

Been to Iao Valley State Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing