We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Northshore Hostel Maui
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We stayed here a week & were very happy. As usual met some very interesting people . The hostel was cleaned properly everyday and the rules were sensible so that the quiet time was observed and everyone got chance to sleep in readiness for the day ahead. The staff were all hardworking and helpful . There were many extras ...free tea and coffee , free pancakes and free wi fi . Also a computer and printer to print your boarding passes free .For us we enjoyed sitting on the balcony at night the best . Thank you Northshore.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Thank you very much for your kind words. Yes we do work hard to help our guests enjoy themselves and get the most from their visit to Maui. We hope to see you again someday....
Aloha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (440)
There are newer reviews for Northshore Hostel Maui
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 440 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

It was my first time staying in a hostel. I had a good experience though. Just not located anywhere near beaches so you must have transportation.
It was a quick weekend visit, so my time was spent out and about seeing as much of the island as I could.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martini30BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Mahalo Martini for staying with us, we hope to see you again...a hui hoa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

When I first arrived, I thougt after hearing all the rules: "oh my God, I hope I'can drink a beer at night...", since I'm on vacation. I stayed for almost a week in a 8-bed dormitory and I even slept once until 9.30 am. Staff and the house are just wonderful and I'm sure to keep their Hostel a quiet place is part of their succes! I loved it, since I was leaving for my trips at 6 am or earlier. The Hostel is in a good place to explore the whole Island of Maui. I definitliy would come back here. Just make sure you have a rental car (they even help you with that) to check out Maui, otherwise you will miss a lot of beautiful places. Thanks dear Team of Northshore Hostel! You do a great job!

Room Tip: Dormitorys are fine. I had a good sleep!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Romy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thanks Romy, we're happy you enjoyed your visit and that you 'get it' about our rules, which are meant to ensure all guests have the best experience possible...we really enjoy helping people! Happy trails and aloha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I'm a backcountry traveler. But sometimes I need a hot shower, wash my clothes and get connected to the world. This place is 1st class!!!
The best hostel I've ever been. Amazing staff, picked me up at the airport, nice dorm, clean bathroom with HOT shower, flexible with all my needs. I could leave my bags behind - what I didn't need on that 3 days in Hana or Haleakala. Public computer with printer!!! I just love them. So I decided pretty fast to spend all my out of backcountry days in this hostel and that was the best decision. You could do it too. :-)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Banditina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Wow, thanks Banditina! We really appreciate our wonderful guests and you are a star! Thanks for your kind words...we hope to see you again someday....happy trails and aloha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Friendly environment, friendly guests, friendly staff, free pancakes, awesome island - who wants more?
Anyways, I made very good friends here, the whole atmosphere is awesome, you are in Hawaii, you are there for having fun and everything in this hotel is there to make sure you are!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paczy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Paczy
Thank you for staying with us....we're glad you enjoyed your visit to Maui and our hostel. Please visit us again...
Aloha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I enjoyed the quiet and a good sleep in the hostel. I also met a lot of nice people there...I would stay in this hostel again! The bus connection to the beaches and all over the island is good. I felt very secure in this hostel!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katjuscha83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Katjuscha, thanks for your kind words...we're happy that you enjoyed our hostel and hope to see you again someday....aloha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here 3 separate times as we explored the Hawaiian islands. The bathrooms and kitchen were always clean and the private rooms were a great deal. Their free airport shuttle service was fantastic, and saved us a lot of money because you can't take big backpacks on the bus. Staff was amazing - incredibly kind and always willing to help with island information. Super clean, safe and comfortable. Close to bus stops and we were able to bus to all over Maui. Highly recommend this hostel to other travellers!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 369Travelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful (accurate) review! We really enjoyed you as guests and hope you visit us again. We appreciate your comments
Aloha nui loa & A hui hoa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailuku
2.2 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
1,069 reviews
2.0 mi away
Maui Beach Hotel
Maui Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kahului
545 reviews
3.5 mi away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,148 reviews
11.3 mi away
The Tiki Beach Hostel
The Tiki Beach Hostel
#34 of 43 in Lahaina
63 reviews
12.6 mi away
Aston at the Maui Banyan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northshore Hostel Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northshore Hostel Maui

Address: 2080 W Vineyard St, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793-5614
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailuku
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Wailuku
Price Range: £35 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha and E Komo Mai! The Northshore Hostel Maui is an ideal location to explore our tropical paradise. Spend your entire holiday with us or just one night! Our rates are the lowest on Maui and we strive to offer impeccable customer service to guests of all ages. We are located in downtown Wailuku, in the foothills of the West Maui Mountains, only 5 miles (10K) from the airport. We offer free airport transfers for our guests. Our facility is clean, safe, secure and friendly. A hostel is a great way to meet new people and save your hard earned money! You will find it easy to relax and feel comfortable and enjoy your stay with us. We hope to see you soon. A hui hoa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Northshore Hostel Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northshore Maui Hotel Wailuku
Northshore Hostel Maui Wailuku, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing