We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There is no "north shore" to this hostel!!!!!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Northshore Hostel Maui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Northshore Hostel Maui
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“There is no "north shore" to this hostel!!!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Beware, if you are looking for a hostel that is near any beach then this is not the hostel for you! It is great for a night before the Road to Hana or Iao Valley/Needle but not for sand and sun. Try Tiki Hale or Lahaina's Last Resort hostels in Lahaina for beach time and town access! Maholo

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saspegasus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Sir, I am sorry you didn't enjoy your experience at our hostel and felt that our service and facility wasn't up to your expectations. The staff work very hard to help our guests enjoy their Maui experience and regret that you felt otherwise.
Further, we do not attempt to misrepresent the location of our facility. As stated on our web page:
' We are centrally located, making it easy for you to explore the entire island, with many popular destinations easily accessible from our historic building in downtown Wailuku'. There are also Map links of the hostel on our web page.
Thank you for your criticism and taking the time to write. We'll continue our effort to maintain our reputation as Maui's highest rated hostel....Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    132
    25
    15
    7
See reviews for
18
88
190
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hronovce, Slovakia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Excellent hostel, free pancakes, helpful staff, great place to meet new friends. Free parking outside, Stayed there for 4 nights, beds a little bit uncomfortable, but still would highly recommend this place! Make sure to make your reservation in advance, as it is a busy hostel.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zsolti M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Aloha Zsolti and mahalo for staying with us and for your kind words....we appreciate our guests and work hard to provide a clean, comfortable and affordable place to stay in Maui...A Hui Hoa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

I stayed alone 3 nights in the deluxe room (having air conditioning) in this hostel. Compared with single rooms in 2 other hostels in Waikiki on oahu, 1 other in Wailuku on Maui, 1 other in Hilo on Big Island, I enjoyed this the most.
The room is located to the balcony and street. The rules for quiet time in the hostel and on the balcony are strict. The street is quiet during night. Cooling down the room ones before sleeping, keeps the room cool until morning.
The shared bathrooms (4) are big and comfortable. no queueing experienced.
The heart of the hostel is the open couch and kitchen area. You can get your sandwich from the fridge during night to go for your early hike on the vulcanoe to see sunrise. Or having good talks through the day. free pancakes.
The office is facing the couch area. staff is working in shifts, which means that you always have a contact for your needs. A tour at checkin will be given to everyone, which is useful and funny.
The staff is living in the hostel, which means that they are keeping an eye on things, that everything is running well. One of the staff is german, which gives an extra homefeeling point to german natives.
Other visitors I've met were coming from US and Germany.
Parking your rental car is no problem.
People, who are looking for a base for their trips on Maui with the extra clean and comfortable homefeeling are perfectly located in this place.

Room Tip: The deluxe room is located to the balcony and street. The rules for quiet time in the hostel and on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Jan, thank you very much for your kind words about our hostel and hard working staff. We are happy that you enjoyed your visit and hope you choose to stay with us again should you ever again come to Maui. Mahalo nui loa and Aloha....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

I've never stayed at a hostel-traveled alone. Friendly staff-met so many great people. The place is so clean it was cleaner then the hotel I was at before I moved to the hostel. It's relaxed and comfortable and I'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julainna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Mahalo Julainna for your very kind words and for appreciating our great little hostel....a hui hoa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Overall immaculately done and mantained in a nice old building at the genuine small town surroundings area of Wailuku! It is still easy to access from the main roads with free parking at comfortable distance.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Inger A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Inger. Thank you for staying with us and for recognizing the unique character and quality of our hostel....we're happy you enjoyed your visit with us and to Maui....aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Very good custom service. Clean and very helpful staff. There is a homely feeling to the place and a good place to get new traveller friends. They have quiet hours at night, free wifi and printer. This is my second time to Northshore. I can Highly recommend the place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanDupont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Mahalo Jan for your second visit and your nice words. We really enjoy having repeat customers and hope to host you again soon...aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

I spent a week in a private room, it was very clean, it's located in a very convenient place, easy to park, they provide a shuttle to and from the airport ( I did not use). They have quiet hours at night, good kitchen, fridge, computer, free wi fi very friendly staff. This is my second time to the North Shore, I recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wwkaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Mahalo nui loa for your visit and your glowing review, we're very happy you chose to stay with us again and look forward to your next visit!....Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailuku
2.2 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
2.0 mi away
Maui Beach Hotel
Maui Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kahului
3.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
3.5 mi away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,067 reviews
34.6 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
11.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
#11 of 31 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northshore Hostel Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northshore Hostel Maui

Property: Northshore Hostel Maui
Address: 2080 W Vineyard St, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793-5614
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailuku
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Wailuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha and E Komo Mai! The Northshore Hostel Maui is an ideal location to explore our tropical paradise. Spend your entire holiday with us or just one night! Our rates are the lowest on Maui and we strive to offer impeccable customer service to guests of all ages. We are located in downtown Wailuku, in the foothills of the West Maui Mountains, only 5 miles (10K) from the airport. We offer free airport transfers for our guests. Our facility is clean, safe, secure and friendly. A hostel is a great way to meet new people and save your hard earned money! You will find it easy to relax and feel comfortable and enjoy your stay with us. We hope to see you soon. A hui hoa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Northshore Hostel Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northshore Maui Hotel Wailuku
Northshore Hostel Maui Wailuku, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing