We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hostel for Maui” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Northshore Hostel Maui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Northshore Hostel Maui
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Hostel for Maui”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

This is an excellent hostel to stay for $29 a night. Clean and upbeat environment. Quiet hours are between 10pm and 7am so there is time to sleep. The only reason I am not giving it 5 stars is because it is still a hostel and not a 5 star hotel.
I enjoyed the low key location which had a nearby coffee shop, yoga center, and Thai Food restaurant. It is also up by Iao Valley which is beautiful and cooler than Kihei or Lahaina.

Room Tip: Ask for a non air conditioned room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanH76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us Susan. We know there are many choices about a hotel and we're happy you chose ours! Aloha...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    132
    25
    15
    7
See reviews for
18
88
190
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Hello,

we really liked this plce so we cam spontaneously back. At both visits we had different private rooms. Both were really clean, also each of the 4 bathrooms. Staff is really helpful and relaxed....2 thumbs up!

Had a great time there and no need to complain. Of course it's a hostel and not a hotel. Keep that in mind in what you expect! I have seen a lot of hostels and this is definitely one of the better ones.

Also we felt good in Kailuku where the hostel is located in.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christoph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Mahalo Christoph for your visits and the kind words, we're happy you enjoyed your stay....aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainz
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

The northshore hostel is nice. Everything is clean. You can choose between 4 bathrooms. The hostel is not to big and the stuff is really nice. But the location is not good. You need a car. The beach is far away. There is nothing to do around the hostel. And if you decide to rent a car, book it at the internet, never try to get a good offer at the airport.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank b14048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Mainz, we're happy that you liked our hostel, thank you for your visit. We do our best to help our guests enjoy Maui. We offer a free beach shuttle every day. Also, the bus system is quite good as well. Aloha....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

This place is awesome. Their staff is super friendly and go out of their way to make sure you are having a great stay. Full of useful information about not only the area, but all of Maui. Excellent security (while not being over-bearing), comfortable and relativity spacious dorm rooms. Four private washrooms, you can use the printer for free, and best of all there are free pancakes. Oh yes, you can grill it all up yourself. This place is very clean and comfortable and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Madelaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Mahalo Madelaine for your very kind words, we're really happy that you enjoyed your visit and appreciated our hard work...we hope to see you again someday.... a hui hoa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. It's cheap, staff are friendly, kitchen was clean and with a lot of utensils. It is not a party hostel like banana bungalow, coming from there it was nice and quiet with a good atmosphere and nice people!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stinehoffmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We're happy that you appreciate our hostel....mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

This hostel is a choice I do not regret. Located in Wailuku, it is a central area to all other cities you want to explore. It's a 10-15 minutes car ride from the airport, and 30-40 minutes to Lahaina or Kihei. The room and dorm prices are very reasonable letting you place money elsewhere (like a car rental to explore the island). The closest thing to do is Iao Valley, 10-15 minutes away in car. I will highly recommend this place for those who plans on using a car, because of the central location.

The parking is located in front of the building, on the other side of the street and afterhours, you won't have any issues parking. However, during business hours it might be more challenging so plan ahead and spot the other street parking available in the area if you have to come back during the day. Once you go through a narrow passage, you get to the locked door of the hotel and enter the code (that they will send you via email). You then have to go through stairs going up to the lobby/common room. There is a large television and two couches, computer and large kitchen. After you check-in you'll be shown a binder that resume all the amenities of the hotel, city, tours around, frequently asked questions and answers, etc. I was provided with 2 towels and when I used the internet, the connection was fast and satisfying. In regards to laundry, it can become quite expensive and has to be all paid with quarters. The staff will exchange your money for quarters should you need it.

I had a private room with a desk, mini-fridge, air conditioner (a blessing) and large bed. The room was very nice, comfortable and had lots of natural light. My window was directly giving to the balcony so the 10pm/22h curfew was a very good idea, preventing people to make noises directly under my window.

There is four washrooms, all containing shower, toilet and sink. Some of them lacked lighting when doing the beauty routine. It was also a shame not to have a mirror in the room so that you don't need to monopolize the washroom just to use the mirror. I only saw once a big cockroach in one of the washroom, but every other time there were no bugs to be seen in the whole facility. One of the washroom, the one that opens directly to the kitchen, seemed to lack hot water... The two times I used the shower in that precise washroom, the water never got warm. It was similar temperature to the ocean. The other washroom normally took 1-2 minutes before the water got warm and comfortable, but this one for some reason didn't work. When I figured it out, I just started using the other washroom for showers instead of that one.

I would also advise that should your stay at this place be significant enough, you will, at some point, end up waiting to use the washroom, most likely in the early morning (6h-8h30). I believe a long term investment would be to add one or two toilet rooms (without showers) just to cover the emergency needs in the morning. Everyone during my stay was considerate enough : when 3 persons were already taking showers, everyone refrained from using the last washroom to shower until one of the 3 other would be done. The waiting was never too long, the worst wait took 10 minutes, but when you really need to go, it seems like forever.

Their website said ''free breakfast'' and I was expecting a breakfast ready meal, but they don't exactly do that. They actually give you a recipe and ingredients so you can do your own pancakes (takes approximately 15 minutes to do). There is also cereals that can be used, but make sure no names is written on it - if there is, then it belongs to a resident and is not for you to use. The breakfast to do was a bit of a disappointment for me. Not being a morning person, the last thing I want to do in the morning is cook, even for just 15 minutes. Thankfully, there is other breakfast options literally 5-10 minutes away and you can also buy food in grocery stores and bring it to the hostel - just write your name on your stuff!

The owners are a charming couple. They were helpful and funny, and adorable Elvis would make a good mascot. The other residents were very friendly and came from various place around the world, making a wonderful atmosphere in the common area. I would not only recommend to others, but should I go to Maui again, I would book my whole stay at this place once again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arxxra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Arxxra
Thank you very much for staying with us, we're very happy you enjoyed our hostel and that you would choose to stay with us again. We work hard to provide our guests the best service at great prices (the lowest on Maui). Mahalo nui loa ... a hui hoa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights and it was perfect for our needs. We had a basic private room with air con, a little small but it appeared you could get a bigger room for more $. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The free pancakes idea was great. There was a cosy common room with TV on from 2pm and small kitchen. We only cooked once but had no problems. There were 4 bathrooms, but never had to wait so worked well for us. Quiet at 10pm was great as we had plenty of early mornings with mountain sunrise, road to hana and airport. You also had to be up early for snorkelling due to afternoon winds, so happy with this. The hostel was very clean with nice people staying there. You do need a car to see the island, but the hostel was centrally located so good spring board to see everything. We rented snorkels here for a low cost, but they did let some water in, so just bear that in mind. There was also DIY laundry available downstairs - very handy. Overall we had a great time and would highly recommend this hostel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ejtravell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you very much....mahalo nui loa...for your kind words. We're happy that you enjoyed your visit and hope to welcome you again someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailuku
2.2 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
2.0 mi away
Maui Beach Hotel
Maui Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kahului
3.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
3.5 mi away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,067 reviews
34.6 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
11.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
#10 of 31 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northshore Hostel Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northshore Hostel Maui

Property: Northshore Hostel Maui
Address: 2080 W Vineyard St, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793-5614
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailuku
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Wailuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha and E Komo Mai! The Northshore Hostel Maui is an ideal location to explore our tropical paradise. Spend your entire holiday with us or just one night! Our rates are the lowest on Maui and we strive to offer impeccable customer service to guests of all ages. We are located in downtown Wailuku, in the foothills of the West Maui Mountains, only 5 miles (10K) from the airport. We offer free airport transfers for our guests. Our facility is clean, safe, secure and friendly. A hostel is a great way to meet new people and save your hard earned money! You will find it easy to relax and feel comfortable and enjoy your stay with us. We hope to see you soon. A hui hoa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Northshore Hostel Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northshore Maui Hotel Wailuku
Northshore Hostel Maui Wailuku, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing