We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mesmerizing Ma'alaea Bay view...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wailuku
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maalaea Yacht Marina
Santa Cruz, California
2 reviews
“Mesmerizing Ma'alaea Bay view...”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

A friend and I recently stayed in unit # 202 Ma'alaea Yacht Marina. You open the front door into an airy and spacious condo with a mesmerizing and expansive view of the Ma'alaea Bay.
The furnishings are "top of the line" with all the amenities you can possibly need. The pictures of the condo were exactly as depicted on the VRBO site we rented from.

I've been island hopping since '69 and wanted to try a new area. I must say that this is one of the nicest condos I've stayed in. We were here for a wedding in Lahaina and it was always a pleasure to return to the quiet of Ma'alaea. This location is central to everything.

Some "cons" during our visit that may or may not affect other visitors who stay here :

It was extremely windy our visit (July) but we still spent alot of time on the lanai sipping "tall cool ones" ..but had to hold down anything that could fly away !

There was alot of drilling going on next door that started early. For a late sleeper it might be annoying...but to be fair...full-time occupants do live here that may need to do property repairs.


The condo was wonderful...but Ma'alaea is really not for me. I usually stay near Napili Bay or Wailea where the landscape is more lush with lifesize ferns..palms..vibrant flowers and birds.
Ma'alaea harbor was fun with plenty of beaches nearby. The surrounding area was miles of swaying cane fields..minimal foliage...dry hillside. For some..perfect...but I missed that jungle feel surrounding me..and especially missed the scent of plumeria wafting through the breeze.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tikilei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Although a little dated, this 2/2 was easy to access even arriving at night. Completely
Furnished with a sofabed in living room unit was comfortable for 5 adults. Best feature for us was lanai overlooking the Harbor where we spent lots of time. Coffee was also provided for us with coffee maker. Could have used more bathing soap for 5 adults as only 2 tiny bars provided. Good location between Kahului and Lahaina.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Hula22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburg, Kansas
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We loved the central location of Maalaea and felt right at home in this condo. Relaxing on the spacious lanai, we saw lots of sea turtles and paddlers throughout the day that made us feel we were in paradise. We especially loved the evening with the gorgeous sunset skies and the lights of Kihei across the bay. The condo was very comfortable and well equipped (including beach chairs & coolers to take down to the beach) and we couldn't have asked for more! Loved it!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank LovelyTan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, B.C. Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed for 5 Days at the Aurora Sands #107 On Dec 29th to Jan 3,2014. The condo itself was beautifully decorated and there was plenty of room for my husband, myself and our 14 year old daughter. We absolutely loved sitting on the lanai in the morning and evening and watching the whales breaching. You could see turtles in the bay in the morning time. The trade winds would blow through and kept the condo cool and listening to the waves crash and the palms blow at night meant for a very restful sleep. It was a little out of the way of the hustle and bustle of Kihei, but we find that we would drive to a new beach everyday anyway, the ocean front was worth all that. The general store and the mall was close by and we'd get coffee or go to happy hour at Beach Bums.
I would totally recommend this condo, for couples or families and we look forward to returning in the future!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank ctchill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Shores, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We recently stayed at Maalaea Yacht Marina #104 for the second time. We visit Maui often and have stayed at various nice condos. This property and this condo in particular has become our home away from home. The owners Caroline and Allan have a very nice remodeled unit, with everything you could want or need for a vacation on Maui , fittings and furnishings are attractive and comfortable, the view of Maalaea Bay from inside and outside on the lanai is incredible, we are going back in March to see the whales...can hardly wait. Maalaea Yacht Marina is very well maintained, the people who live and work there and the owners of the vacation units really care about their homes.
For years we avoided Maalaea because of the wind, not any more , all of the condos have lovely lawns you can walk on, shops, restaurants and the Aquarium you can walk too...it gets just as windy in South Kihei.
You can fine this lovely vacation home at VRBO #376783 , Caroline and Allan are wonderful to deal with, they really want you to have a great vacation when you stay with them.
Aloha

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RuthBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigander
Level Contributor
101 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Wonderful week at #302 condo and booked through YRBO and owner Amy was always helpful and prompt during entire process of searching, contracting, arrival details, during stay, and check-out. Having stayed at over 20 rental condo's over the year's this one had everything you need and more. Especially appreciated the welcome 'goodies', coolers, beach towels and chairs, snorkel equipment, wireless internet, and some 'staples' in kitchen, i.e. salt/pepper, cooking oil, paper towels.

The pictures online are accurate. The condo is very nicely updated and the pools and grounds well maintained. Only wish was for a TV in bedroom.

This is a great area for exploring Maui as it is centrally located to the other areas. Nice to have Maalaea Harbor and watch the boats come and go. Saw whales from lanai most mornings. Small grocery stores and Buzz's Wharf great for dinner and Beach Bumm's for breakfast, happy hour, and dinner easily walkable. You do have to go to Haycraft Park to access Sugar Beach but only a short walk down Hauoli Street.

I would definately stay here again and would recommend this condo to anyone looking for a nice, fairly priced 1 bedroom condo on Maui.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GGGKalamazoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012 via mobile

We stayed in unit 401 that was booked through VRBO, and it was fantastic!! The last unit on the top floor meant that it was super quiet and private, it overlooked the pool and sea...with only a very slightly obstructed view, and I mean only very slightly.

The owners were extremely lovely and available by mobile if we needed them (on the mainland) but there is a manager on site all the time, and the handyman guy too if you ever need them.

Very well appointed or a couple for anything that you will need during our stay.

Swimming in the pool below, or out in the ocean ( although a little rocky ) there is a little beach in the bay. Beach towels provided in the condo along with body boards etc.

Super comfortable bed... I think a king size. No air con,but with the trade winds, open lanai and ceiling fan you don't need it.

Small shops for essentials and a couple of nice restaurants just down the road if you don't feel like cooking (Wednesday night get the beach bums ribs combo plate, you can share one plate between two easily)

We cannot recommend this condo enough.

We really did just love our stay at this complex and condo 401 so much!

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BinkyandSteven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailuku
6.3 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,114 reviews
11.8 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
15.2 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#8 of 62 in Kihei
598 reviews
0.3 mi away
Island Sands Resort
Island Sands Resort
#3 of 8 in Maalaea
77 reviews
7.4 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maalaea Yacht Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maalaea Yacht Marina

Property: Maalaea Yacht Marina
Address: 30 Hauoli St, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793-9507
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailuku
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Wailuku
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Maalaea Yacht Marina Hotel Wailuku
Maalaea Yacht Marina Maui/Wailuku, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing